We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only thing that is good about this place is the location” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pegasus International Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pegasus International Hotel
Ranked #49 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The only thing that is good about this place is the location”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

The receptionist was really unfriendly/ rude. we had one extra person so they charged us extra but wouldn't want to give us a mattress or blankets!!

Don't think of asking for a new towel because you will be yelled at and you will need to return your used one first.

The rooms are really ugly/ not clean.
the beds had literally wholes in in them which hurt my back.

and again the receptionist has no idea what customer service means.

AND I NEVER complain!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billabomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
It's disappointing that your recent stay did not leave you with a better impression. As you recall, your reservation accounted for 4 people rather than 5, and we were happy to adjust for this change for a $20 fee. I apologize if these policies were unclear, but we would have gladly discussed them with you if you had any questions. That said, we stand by our service.

Best,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    216
    103
    37
    45
See reviews for
83
325
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
131 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

The roof top was an excellent hang out spot. Most of the time I was the only person in the pool and no one was in the hot tub. I could hear the music from the adjacent bar from the comfort of a lounge chair and yet our rooms were still quiet enough to not be disturbed from the noise of Duvall St.

The location was prime, right in the middle of everything and within walking distance of everything of note. The breakfast was pretty spartan, but at least they had an assortment of cereals, some mini bagels, blueberry muffins, orange juice, and instant coffee. We took a short walk to Blue Heaven as we'd already had a week of continental breakfast. Well worth the walk. We would stay here again.

There was construction while we were there, but it was very unintrusive. It did not disturb us in the slightest.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gossamerfirefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We completely understand how disturbing the noise of construction can be, so it's good to hear that you were not disturbed during your stay. Our location really is perfect for exploring all the fun that Key West has to offer. Thank you for staying with us! We would love to have you back next year.

Warm regards,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We met up with a group of friends who were staying at the Pegasus this weekend. It was the creepiest, sketchiest hotel I've been in. Plastic lining the floors, small dark rooms, broken hallway lights, etc. No one stopped us as we just walked up and into the hotel to see who we were or where we were going. Our friends were a group of guys so it was tolerable (barely) as a base for them, but our group of girls would NEVER have slept the night there. Great location, everything else just awful.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JillEstes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Jill,

We are disheartened to learn of your discontent our accommodations as our guests' satisfaction and safety is our first priority. However, we are currently undertaking a series of repairs to improve for our guests, and we believe that the plastic lining and darkness you mentioned were direct results of the ongoing construction. We apologize for the inconvenience. Thank you for your candor.

Best,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Boutique Hotel in Key West, FL with an amazing location for family fun...OR FANTASY FEST FUN AND FROLIC!!! I am so excited to get back to the Halloween Florida experience because my accommodations at Pegasus Hotel and Inn (Key West Downtown) are simply perfect. Walking distance to all of the party war fare...lol...and of course, fresh clean towels, comfortable beds and pillows, and a friendly group of owners and employees who make you feel like you are truly welcome. Thanks Sandeep. Getting ready for another Breakthrough Holiday Stay this coming Fantasy Fest weekend! Woooo hoooo! (Note: I take my children and husband along on non girls weekends and we have amazing family fun at the family friendly and affordable key-west hotel! Simply the best!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
We're happy to welcome both families and large groups! It's so nice to hear how excited you are to return for our Halloween celebration, and we can't wait to see you! Thanks for the kind words, Ali. Let us know if there's anything we can do to make your stay even better!

Regards,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

I had a great stay at the Pegasus and was actually the best hotel I have ever stayed in while visiting Key West. It is a very quiet, clean and intimate hotel and I would recommend it to anyone else visiting. I will definitely stay here again next time I visit. Thank you Pegasus!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you, Jay! We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, and we're proud to be your new Key West headquarters! Thanks again for the kind words. We'll see you soon!

Regards,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indialantic, Florida
Level Contributor
140 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We found the hotel through trip advisor! We have been to Key West loads of time but, this was our first for the annual Miami to Key West Poker Run. The Pegasus Hotels website was very informative and easy to book through. The main attraction was the price for a high demand weekend and it is right in the thick of the Duval Street action. The hotel is an old building that is updated and current with quality beds & large flat screen TV's. The rooms are quiet unless you want to hear the street sounds, then open the windows or thick cutains. The roof top pool and patio is a great place to chill or watch the street. This place is great,the staff is freindly and accomadating. It will be our new Key West Head Quarters!!!

Room Tip: Room 310 was big & roomy with a large widow view of the Corner of Southard & Duval.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Firefozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thanks for staying with us! We're delighted to be your home-away-from-home here in Key West — especially after just one visit! You really can't beat our location if you're looking to crawl Duval. Thanks for the fantastic review. We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Warm regards,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Fla
Level Contributor
177 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Our second trip to this hotel. Look at my reviews. We can stay anywhere but we stay here. Great location with a great price. Its a strange layout but its clean,quiet and centrally located.
The staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sesingh, Pegasus Management at Pegasus International Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
We're delighted that you chose to stay with us again! Our location truly can't be beat, and we hope that our staff made you feel welcome as well. Thank you for taking the time to write yet another fantastic review. We hope to see you during your next visit to Key West!

Regards,
Pegasus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
La Concha Hotel & Spa
La Concha Hotel & Spa
#40 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Saint Hotel Key West, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Simonton Court Historic Inn and Cottages
0.4 mi away
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
0.3 mi away
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pegasus International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pegasus International Hotel

Property: Pegasus International Hotel
Address: 501 Southard St, Key West, FL 33040-6835
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pegasus International Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pegasus International Hotel is a charming Art Deco hotel located in the heart of Key West. Many activities, popular sites, restaurants, shopping, bars and clubs are within a short walking distance. Thirty newly renovated rooms offer modern comfort such as cable TV, phone with data port, free wireless internet, air conditioning, refrigerators, microwaves, and irons with ironing boards. Also, our rooftop sundeck with a heated outdoor pool and jacuzzi offers views of the bustling Southard and Duval Streets. Spice Lounge is the hotel’s onsite, poolside tapas bar featuring a unique Indian Tapas menu and excellent drink selection. Parking is available for all guests at a flat rate. Shuttles from the airport and ferry are also available upon request. Limited room service is also available from various local restaurants.Activities nearby include diving, snorkeling, fishing, city tours, golf, pirate tours and pub crawls, Dry Tortugas National Park, Fort Jefferson Ferry, The Key West Butterfly & Nature Conservatory, Key West Seaplane Adventures,Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville, Sloppy Joe’s Bar, Mallory Square, Fort Zachary Taylor Beach, The Hemingway House, bars, nightlife, clubs, shopping, restaurants and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Pegasus International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pegasus International Key West
Hotel Pegasus International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing