We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing at Best”
Review of Garden House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden House
Ranked #62 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
Cleveland, OH
18
Reviewed March 27, 2006

Really nothing at this B&B is as it is advertised online. Pictures of the rooms and the pool make everything look deceivingly large. I can dealwith cozy rooms, but these were also not sufficiently clean, and the beds were wildly uncomfortable. We were pestered by the staff each morning at breakfast until we authorized them to go ahead and make up our rooms.

Breakfast and Happy Hour were cheaply done and insufficient. The innkeepers seemed to be put out with us from the moment we arrived until the moment we left.

The property descriptions seem to encourage drinking and fun, but there's little tolerance for even a mild poolside get-together. The neighbors and the innkeepers were both cranky about any noise at all as early as 11pm on a Friday night!

Worst of all, several members of our group got out of bed with bug bites each morning!

I agree with another reviewer...this place was barely worth $59/night. Go elsewhere even if it costs more. You won't be happy with this property.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 329 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Pittsbrugh, PA
112
Reviewed February 7, 2006

We recently stayed at the Garden House while in Key West for a wedding. Having never stayed at a B&B in that town didnt really know what to expect. The pictures looked nice, but we all know pictures can be deceiving. Here are the Pros and Cons:

Pros: Good location. Like the ad states, easy stumble from Duval Street.

Pros: Nice oversized hot tub and small garden area to chat with other travelers. Good place to sit and relax and enjoy a few beverages (unless your room happens to be right there).

Thats about it for the Pros.

Cons: Not the friendliest staff. We arrived after a 4 hour drive from Ft. Lauderdale and the first thing out of the owners mouth was "check out is 11am". Nice to see you too. It almost seemed like we were bothering her by checking in.

Cons: Old place and old rooms. Quaint maybe, but not comfortable. We stayed in the Writers King. Mattress was Motel 6 quality and terrible. Amenities were also Motel 6 quality. Floor and bathroom were disgusting. Water pressure was nil. Walls are paper thin. We kept hearing doors slam shut all night long and the neighbor in the other room cough. Room was also painted bright yellow and had white blinds that did not really cover the windows. If you like getting up at dawn then this should not be a problem. If you would like a little more rest on your vacation, then this is a problem.

Cons: Breakfast was a joke. A bagel from an 0.89 cent pack of 10 and tiny packets of butter and jam. We ate that one day and went out the other two mornings.

All in all I would never stay here again. I visited some of the other B&Bs where the wedding party was staying and for $10-$20 more per night was kicking myself (Mermaid and Alligator - Fantastic, just to name one). We paid $199 per night and had a 3 night minimum. The minimum is because they knew we would leave after one night. Place wasn't worth $59 per night. Hope this helps.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New Mexico
11
Reviewed December 15, 2005

I appreciate that Garden House B&B posted their children and pet policy on their webiste. It saved us quite a bother. Should Garden House B&B, which is listed on bedandbreakfast.com as a family B&B, be listed as such if children under 13 are not welcome?

Stayed: December 2005
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2005

OK, it's not a Hyatt, not a Ritz Carlton. If that is your idea of sleeping accomdations, better not go to Key West. But what the Garden House is - is something wonderful ... it was our first time to stay here, and a couple of the reviews here had us somewhat concerned. But suffice it to say that it was absolutely perfect. Lazy mornings by the little pool eating a continental breakfast - perfect. The 'happy hour' sipping wine - perfect. Late-night dips in the warm water - perfect. Karen or Patty as hosts - perfect. And - all for a VERY reasonable price.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gwhite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2005

We stayed days after Hurricane Dennis passed by Key West, and except for piles of brush debris, it was business as usual. As I am usually hesitant to stay in a B&B, The Garden House pleasantly surprised me. Our room was large with a comfortably sized bathroom and we especially liked having the front porch right outside of our door. Kudos to Karen who checked us in, took care of our bike rentals, and other various reservations!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msdicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2005

Recently we stayed at the Garden House B&B in Key West Florida. With our previous experiences at other B&B you had breakfast around the dining room table with other folks or by yourself. At this B&B we never entered the main house, only our room which we entered from a side door. Continental breakfast consisted of a covered dish with 3 bagles, 3 english muffins, 3 thin slices of fruit bread, OJ and coffee very sparce (which was just put out and left on a counter outside in the back of the house.

We found this experience very lacking. There was NO personal attention. I never saw the owner (only a worker who registered us)

Needless to say, it was not inexpensive. I think we would have done better staying at a large hotel. I could not recommend this B&B, it was VERY disappointing.

5  Thank mommet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
USA
14
Reviewed June 26, 2005

Reasons this property is not recommended:

Poor quality bed and bed sheets
Dirty vents
Dirty refrigerator
Toilet did not work well
Very old, smalll shower
Breakfast was terrible and very cheap
Walls are paper thin and you can hear adjacent room noise

For the money $129+ this is not a value at all, when you can spend a little more money and stay at the Gardens Hotel, a much, much nicer property:
------------

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.3 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#9 of 51 in Key West
1,796 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Duval Inn
The Duval Inn
#52 of 77 in Key West
763 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seascape Tropical Inn
Seascape Tropical Inn
#61 of 77 in Key West
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
New Orleans House
New Orleans House
#54 of 77 in Key West
241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Curry House Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Island City House Hotel
Island City House Hotel
#16 of 77 in Key West
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden House

Address: 329 Elizabeth St, Key West, FL 33040-6804
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $129 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden House Inn is Key West's most fun inn! Garden House Bed and Breakfast is very centrally located, only a block or two from Duval Street, the Historic Seaport, Mallory Square and Caroline Street, to name a few. We are a fun and relaxed B&B, with 10 rooms, all with private shower/bath. You'll most likely hear laughter spilling around the building from the other guests enjoying the free happy hour. Come over to join in the fun! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Garden House Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing