We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a charmer!”
Review of Garden House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden House
Ranked #62 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 7, 2008

We had a great stay at the Garden House. We were greeted on the front porch by both the owner and the cat, Gilbert, and the owner walked us to our Tropical Breeze room and opened it for us. It felt so much like home, as we have the same furniture and bedspread at home! The pool was a nice way to cool off after walking around town, and the other guests were very willing to mingle. Breakfast was simple, but good, and there was a free beer and wine hour daily by the pool. When we arrived back after dinner the first night, Gilbert greeted us at the gate, and I invited her to come to our room. Well, she ran ahead of us and up the stairs and stopped at our door. I don't know how she knew which was our room, but she got it right. In she went, and she slept on our bed all three nights. The location was so perfect for walking to town or to the marina. The owner told us that we could park at the church next door for $10/day, which we paid to the Garden House to give to the church. This was so convenient, because even off season parking is scarce in Key West. The only downside was that we are used to quiet central air and had trouble sleeping with the noise of the wall unit A/C. In the cooler months, you could just run the ceiling fan at night and allow the cross breeze to come in.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ftlaud9lives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 329 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2008

We had the pleasure of staying here for Hemmingway Day's in July 2008. Upon check in, we were immediately aware of what a gem we had found! The staff went out of their way to make us feel at home and accomodated all our needs. A special thanks to Nancy for her hospitality. The room that we stayed in was called Carribean Dreams. The room was cool, (important in mid July), tastefully decorated and very comfortable. Initially, we thought the pool was too small but we found that it was adequate for a refreshing swim before bed. The jet spas were another welcome amenity. Happy hour and the continental breakfast were a nice touch although we were eager to get out and sample the local sights (bars) and fare. Theres no better place to people watch and take in a sunset like Mallory Square. The walk from our room to Duval Street was about 5 minutes. Overall, the Garden House was a wonderful experience and we recommend it to all.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ship-n-chell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2008

first impression: on a side road but easy to find, parking places available for clients (free of charge). Reception with a glass of champagne. Reception lady nice but a bit stressed
Room: really nice style, quiet, could not do really better. There are some works/renovations going in the property next door, so ask for having a room not giving on this side. I would recommend a room with view on the pool.
Pool: a bit small, but hotel was not overcrowded so no problem to find a nice spot. Nice bar serving good cocktails for a "normal" price ($8-10). Free tea during the day. The whole place is really nice thanks to a huge garden with palm trees and lots of arts, statues etc. Really relaxing place (with the exception of planes landing, but that's the usual problem at key west).
Food: breakfast buffet is nice...if one likes buffet. For such a small place I would have appreciated a more personalized service.
Price (not cheap)/quality was really great. We were relaxed when leaving and would come again

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swissguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2008

The Garden House is a small property located in a residential block of Elizabeth St. The location is excellent for easy access to the Harbor Walk as well as Duval, since it's located almost on the corner of Elizabeth and Eaton.

We stayed in the Royal Poinciana Room, room 1. As you enter the property, room 11 is on the side of the main house. Room 1 is the first room, lower left corner, of the separate outbuilding with guest rooms. It was a nice room, clean and comfortable, but a room every single guest had to pass to get to their rooms. And the stairs to the second floor were right across the sidewalk from the door, so it always sounded like someone was walking on your head. I would not choose this room again.

Rooms 2, 3, and 4 are also on the ground floor of this building while 5 - 8 are on the second floor. Heading up to this second floor is a nice sun deck since the pool area is almost completely shaded by palms and other vegetation.

Rooms 9 and 10 are at the back of the main house and share a semi private deck. I think room 9 is probably the best choice out of any room on this property since it's away from the pool. Room 10 is next to the pool area, and the speaker for the music is right outside the window, and the huge pump for the sauna jets is right outside the door.

The free breakfast is nice if you're not thinking you are staying at the Ritz. There was always plenty between the sweet breads, bagels, and english muffins. They also had coffee, OJ, and some fruit. The evening happy hour was a great gathering and we met a lot of really nice people who were staying at the hotel.

I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again, with one minor reservation. Pool maintenance is apparently not a major concern to the property owners. While they did add water to keep the level up, my husband skimmed the pool daily. There are a lot of trees dropping debris into the pool and it needs to be better maintained.

Stayed: May 2008
Thank Gypsy3n8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2008

This was our first stay in the Keys, and we should have picked a better B&B to get the true experience. We often use B&Bs in New England and love their country breakfasts. Breakfast here is a joke. The cake they rave about is average and the rest of the continental breakfast is poor. The rooms are just average, and the window AC strains to keep you cool. Parking is a problem - don't move your car or you won't get a spot when you come back.
Overall the management was distant at best. On the plus side - the location is excellent for Duvall street, Mallorty Square, etc.

Stayed: May 2006
3  Thank Raudeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2008

This isn't a bad place. I travelled alone to Key West and found the place comforting. The parking was difficult, don't park at the church you won't get out on Sunday until church is over. You'll find a place on the street if you're very lucky. The location is good near Old Town and walkable to Duval. I would stay again for the price. I liked Gilbert the cat of the house.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Misshelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2007

This was my second time staying at the Garden House. This trip I brought 4 girlfriends along and I thought this would be the ideal place. I consider this place a gem in Key West. The rates are lower than others, location is key for me and the owners are so friendly. I enjoyed most of all the convenience of the place and for traveling to the keys on somewhat of a budget this is the best bargin, especially at Christmas time. If money is no object then you will not be satisfied with the Garden House-so stay in a more luxurious b/b. It is my home away from home when I visit Key West. I've been coming here since the early 80s, so am very familiar with the island. Give it a try.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank habh14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.3 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#9 of 51 in Key West
1,796 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Duval Inn
The Duval Inn
#52 of 77 in Key West
763 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seascape Tropical Inn
Seascape Tropical Inn
#61 of 77 in Key West
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
New Orleans House
New Orleans House
#54 of 77 in Key West
241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Curry House Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Island City House Hotel
Island City House Hotel
#16 of 77 in Key West
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden House

Address: 329 Elizabeth St, Key West, FL 33040-6804
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $129 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden House Inn is Key West's most fun inn! Garden House Bed and Breakfast is very centrally located, only a block or two from Duval Street, the Historic Seaport, Mallory Square and Caroline Street, to name a few. We are a fun and relaxed B&B, with 10 rooms, all with private shower/bath. You'll most likely hear laughter spilling around the building from the other guests enjoying the free happy hour. Come over to join in the fun! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Garden House Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing