We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“MY FAVORITE BED & BREAKFAST!”
Review of Garden House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Garden House
Ranked #64 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“MY FAVORITE BED & BREAKFAST!”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This is absolutely, hands down, my favorite bed & breakfast. Very cozy, comfy, and inviting. My husband and I stay here every year for our anniversary and we wouldn't go anywhere else. The have a cute porch to chill at, very inexpensive bike rentals, inexpensive prices, clean rooms, welcoming staff, a relaxing lagoon in the back, happy hour every day, free breakfast, and best of all, it's walking distance to Duval Street!!! It cant get any better!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danita V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    90
    48
    37
    34
See reviews for
21
194
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We were with a private group that rents the house each year. This was our first time staying at the Garden House. We enjoyed it very much. Our room was small, but we weren't in it very often. They have a nice patio garden with a very small pool. Our friends used the pool, we did not. They offer a continental breakfast each morning, if you need full breakfasts there are restaurants nearby. We were only about two blocks from Duval St., and perhaps four blocks or so from the waterfront.

The staff was very helpful and pleasant. Overall, a very nice place in Key West.

Room Tip: Some rooms are on the second floor, only accessible by stairs. Request a first floor room if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrPDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We love key west! We always stay at the Garden House. We were there 3 times this year.My birthday was Sept. 25th. My wish was to spend my birthday in key west at the Garden House. We have a few favorite rooms, the rooms are very comfortable and every one has a private bath ..we enjoy the cool lagoon pool!! It has bubbles at one end with seats, It's nice to cool off after a hot day in town. Everything? Is so close, we walk back and forth all day. John is there early to put the coffee out along with bagels, english muffins, homebaked sweet breads, yogurt, fresh fruit juice and more. Breakfast on the patio next to the gardens and lagoon type pool! So relaxing. There is also happy hour later in the day. To us this is Key West style. A small layed back vacation. It's got the best location for all the places you would want to go! And walk. You park your car next door in the church parking lot for a donation, and we don't use it again untill we go home. We have already decided our visits for next year! Hope to see you there.!!

Room Tip: There are 2 king rooms, and queen, a double bed room, and a 2 room 1 bath in one unit. We like the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frogFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineral Bluff, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We can't say enough about our stay at the Garden House. We had originally booked a room with a nearby B&B but when we got there they completely forgot about us and we had no way of getting to our room. We started a frantic search to find a place to stay and found the Garden House. John was very gracious in providing us a room at the rate quoted to us by the original B&B. The location here is perfect for walking to the Wharf and Duval Street. The continental breakfast consisted of pastries, bagels, fruit, yogurt and great coffee. In the afternoon there was also a serving of wine and beer. We stay in the same room as a previous review with the plantation shutters which we found charming and in keeping with Key West. Our room was clean and perfect for our needs. Ideal stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lester A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Booking online is always a bit of a crapshoot, so I keep an open mind about what I'll find when I reach my destination. In this particular case, the Garden House Bed and Breakfast on Elizabeth St., Key West completely exceeded my expectations!

The room was super clean with two queen beds..perfect for our 3 day mother/daughter getaway. Location? Fantastic! One block from the action of Duvall St, and one block (in the opposite direction) to a convenience store whose hours were 7am to 1am. There was also a VERY cute coffeehouse across the street from the convenience store, perfect for post-sightseeing pick-me-ups before returning to the b&b.

Our room at the Garden House was on the second floor of a seperate structure behind the main house. We overlooked the pool and had a sundeck immediately opposite the room. I was surprised our room included a good sized "dorm" refrigerator with freezer section but there was also a full sized refrigerator (in the pool area) for guests who needed to store large food items.

Breakfast and happy hour were served poolside: the former included a good assortment of danish/fruit/juice/coffee served from 8-1030am; the latter included free wine/beer from 5-6pm.

The staff was extremely pleasant and knowledgeable. They allowed us a late-check out at 2pm with no additional charge. Parking was also free.

My daughter and I both LOVED this place and will rebook the next time we go to Key West!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenmulhern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed a week at the Garden House. We have been there before and loved the charm. All of the charm is gone. It has gone down hill, the owner takes no "ownership". He said things to me like, "the pool company will be here in the morning", "you can call me at 4:00 in the morning to let me know people are partying in the pool" (both Friday and Saturday we had to work security at the place). Another line "the bikes aren't mine". All in all we had a great time at Key West but I will never stay at the Garden House again. The keys are for us- the Garden House is not.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Wesley2125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Key West hotels

Naples, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We did not stay at the facility, but had problems with the reservation. We sent the payment for the two night stay and looked forward to our stay. Due to circumstances beyond our control had to cancel. We cancelled five weeks in advance and were informed that it would cost us $25.00. We had no choice. I called the GARDEN HOUSE and spoke to a person, I believe the owner, and he insisted that not only was it fair but he would not hear of a return of the $25.00, which they had done nothing but stoke a key board.

Perhaps it was an omen of what was to come and maybe it was an inexpensive lesson.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paslim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Seaport Inn
Seaport Inn
#65 of 77 in Key West
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.1 mi away
Artist House
Artist House
#11 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Curry House Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Smallest Bar Inn
Smallest Bar Inn
#70 of 77 in Key West
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westwinds Inn
Westwinds Inn
#43 of 77 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden House

Property: Garden House
Address: 329 Elizabeth St, Key West, FL 33040-6804
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden House Inn is Key West's most fun inn! Garden House Bed and Breakfast is very centrally located, only a block or two from Duval Street, the Historic Seaport, Mallory Square and Caroline Street, to name a few. We are a fun and relaxed B&B, with 10 rooms, all with private shower/bath. You'll most likely hear laughter spilling around the building from the other guests enjoying the free happy hour. Come over to join in the fun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Garden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden House Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing