We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B with Wonderful Location”
Review of Garden House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden House
Ranked #59 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We just returned from a 5-day trip to KW where we stayed at The Garden House on Elizabeth Dr. We had a wonderful experience and would definitely book there again. You just can't beat their rates in conjunction with the location and amenities. The bathrooms were a little small but that would be our only complaint. We were really NEVER in the room (who would be in KW) so it didn't bother us a bit. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Caribbean Dream room and enjoyed it. It is adjacent to where the staff fixes break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felicity M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 327 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

We booked this B&B based on its proximity to Duval Street, the lovely pictures, and on favorable reviews. Well, it was too much money for too much average. Room was lovely enough and looked just like it was pictured. It was clean and tidy, but right above the breakfast patio, so the manager's gravelly voice and smoke wafted up into our bedroom space surprisingly early at 7:00 A.M. Not a pleasant morning welcome for $200/night! The spa was littered with leaves and wasn't warm and the jets mulched up the leaves that I later discovered in my bikini bottoms. We couldn't access WiFi and the manager was not helpful. The breakfast items were all store bought and the bare minimum of choices. Store bought rotting cupcakes with melted icing were left over from the night before until the next day at 3:00 P.M. when I threw them away. It was very disgusting to look at. The cigarette smoke was very irritating. This place is too much money for less than average breakfast, noisy manager, and a spa that should have been warmer and cleaned more often. The bed mattress was very firm with very little softness to it so I don't recommend this bed to those who prefer memory foam toppers.

Room Tip: Tropical Room was clean but noisy since it sits above breakfast patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Aside from an excellent location, the Garden House has no redeeming features. From the difficult street parking to the incredibly small rooms, this B & B was a humongous disappointment. The room was so small, that my husband and I could not walk around at the same time, one of us had to be sitting on the bed while the other moved around. If you were over 5'6", you could not sit on the toilet without your knees hitting the door, if you so chose to close the door. The shower stall was also very tiny. Breakfast consisted of prepackaged muffins or croissants and coffee on a self serve counter. The pool was the size of a large hot tub and did not appear to be very clean. Happy hour consisted of beer, red or white wine without snacks.
In the 15 years that we have been staying at B & B's around the United States, this was by far the most expensive and disappointing establishment we have ever stayed in. I would highly recommend that if you are looking at Key West, you avoid the Garden House B & B at all costs!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We only booked this place 24 hours before we arrived, and sadly they could only let us stay the one night. But from the moment we drove up and were welcomed by host John to their freebie happy hour, we felt at home. Quaint rooms, nice continental breakfast, similarly minded fellow guests, super location a few minutes walk from the harbour and Duval Street, and most important.....great value at $160.

Room Tip: Freebie happy hour with wine / beer / nibbles around the 'pool' from 5 to 6pm. We only said...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at the Garden house 1/24-1/27 and found it to be a comfortable and friendly B & B. We stayed in the Royal Poinciana, room #1. I found the bed to be comfortable, good size room and very clean. The patio was nice. It is shaded so you won't have the sun shining on you, but that's what I prefer. The only issue we had with the room was the bathroom had quite a bit of water damage in and around the shower. The shower was very small, but the water pressure was great. We enjoyed the happy hour. I enjoyed the Yellowtail Shiraz and my husband had a local beer that was offered. The location was fantastic, just a few blocks off of Duval and very close to the Harbor Walk. Even with the location it was very quiet, we didn't hear anything in our room. I was concerned after reading other reviews but I'm glad I gave them a shot. We found the entire experience to be very relaxing and would definitely book again.

Room Tip: Royal Poinciana, room #1. It has a small patio that is realy nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The website looked inviting, but we too should have read the reviews before booking. The location was fantastic. Upon arrival and checking into our room my husband gave me that deer in the headlight look, and I said, at least it’s clean. We then proceeded to bring our bags in. As we rolled them across the mounds of fallen banyan leaves, I had the sudden urge to get the rake out! The rest of our party arrived a bit later and oddly enough they had the same looks and the same comments. We don’t spend much time in the rooms and we assumed we could make do.
Well, that was as clean as the rooms got for the duration of our stay. Some beds got made and some towels got changed. I finally pulled the sheets off the bed one morning and piled the dirty towels. We did get clean ones then.
No one on the staff was ever seen doing any clean up except for the two housekeepers and they had no idea what the term clean a room means. They did not sweep the floors, clean the showers, sinks or toilets the whole time…beds, towels and garbage, that’s it. I had a half empty coffee cup sit on the dresser for 2 days, come on.
The place is run down. A coat of paint and some elbow grease would go a long way. It does have has huge potential to be a quaint, cozy place to stay, but no one there is interested in putting in a days work, to clean it up. There are fallen leaves and branches in all the gardens, on all the rooftops, all of the bird poop covered decking and in the pool. My husband emptied the pool filters daily.
There is a “Happy Hour” from 5-6 but it was hit and miss, once they heard we did not like their choice in wine. We bought our own beverages and made our own happy time along with other guests. When the owner was working during happy hour he did announce it was over and offered everyone a top up before shutting it down. The next day, the manager walked through the courtyard and grabbed the bottle of wine that had maybe 2 inches left in the bottle at exactly 6 on the dot and when she heard the gasps, her response was, “Happy Hour is from 5-6, see the sign, can you read?” There was an elderly lady staying at the inn, and she was enjoying her glass of Chardonnay. A quick refill would have been courteous, instead of the rude remark to our reactions.
I am very tolerant and everyday there was something else to shake our heads about.
For the money it was a complete disappointment. Had it been have the price we probably would not feel so ripped off. We have stayed at many Inn’s in Key West and I have never seen such unprofessional and inappropriate behavior from staff.
Oh, b y the way, thanks for asking us how our stay was when we checked out. Maybe they would like to sell!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank KWGURL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We should have read reviews before we booked. We had the room with a little patio. Bed was soft and really squeaky. The room size was fine. The bathroom was horrid, tiny skinny shower unit with moldy walls. The walls in the bathroom had holes in them and the floor was dirty. The outside patio was small and dark, not very private either. The pool was fine for a toddler, very small and it really was more of a tiny hot tub. Breakfast was tasty tea breads, yogert, fruit, juice and coffee. It was a quick walk to the shops. No on street parking was to be had, a local church lots was found for ten bucks a night! I do. To recommend this tired and dated place, we saw many nice looking spots in our walks.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
7  Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Artist House
Artist House
#10 of 77 in Key West
932 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heron House Court
Heron House Court
#33 of 77 in Key West
474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa 325
Casa 325
#28 of 77 in Key West
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Curry House Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Marrero's Guest Mansion
Marrero's Guest Mansion
#17 of 77 in Key West
691 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Habitation
L'Habitation
#47 of 77 in Key West
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden House

Address: 329 Elizabeth St, Key West, FL 33040-6804
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $166 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden House Inn is Key West's most fun inn! Garden House Bed and Breakfast is very centrally located, only a block or two from Duval Street, the Historic Seaport, Mallory Square and Caroline Street, to name a few. We are a fun and relaxed B&B, with 10 rooms, all with private shower/bath. You'll most likely hear laughter spilling around the building from the other guests enjoying the free happy hour. Come over to join in the fun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Garden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden House Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing