We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the best bed and breakfast to stay at!!”
Review of Garden House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Garden House
Ranked #64 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the best bed and breakfast to stay at!!”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

me and my friend sharon stayed at the gardenhouse. it was awsome and our next trip to keywest we will stay there again!! everyone was so freindly and you felt at home. nancey the manager was the best!!! we had fun just talking to her. john the owner was very nice and keeps his hotel very clean. i recommend you to stay at the garden house. walking distance to duval.street where the fun begins!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ironman227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    90
    48
    37
    34
See reviews for
21
194
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
KENT
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Run down room. A/C unit sounded like a train. Gardens unkept and overgrown. Bed loose and squeeked. Toilet rocked. No latch on bathroom door. No place indoors to eat if raining. Breakfast was a joke (bagel and coffee cake) that you got yourself. Nancy the manager is more worried about drinking with the guests than giving any sort of hospitality. Only a few places to sit and two chairs were taken up by Nancy and her friend. Not worth the money. NO ONSITE PARKING.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clyde1442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Key West hotels

Collingswood
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Key West is meant to be fun, and the Garden House with owner John and manager Nancy just make the party that much more enjoyable. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff go out of their way to be accomodating. The location is fabulous with only a very short walk to the Wharf area, the famous spots on Duval street, Mallory Square and great dining and night life. The pricing is very competitive in the area but it's hard to put a price on the terrific attitude presented there along with the way you're encouraged to enjoy the whole Key West experience. We've tried other places on past stays in Key West but the last two and more to come will be at the "Garden House"

Wayne and Lori Trautz
New Jersey

Room Tip: We liked the "Hybiscus" room because of it's proximity to the front gate and easy acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

This place is the best if you like to party. It is walking distance to everything in old Key West. (Crawling distance back from Duval Street). Our room was clean and just the right size for two. Nancy, the manager, treats everyone like old friends and has a million Key West stories, coupons, and suggestions to make sure you enjoy your stay. Coffee, bagels, and cake in the morning-Beer and wine in the evening-are visiting times with your fellow house guests-very enjoyable. This vacation was the most fun we've had in a long time, thanks to the Garden House and our new friend Nancy.

Room Tip: Room #1 has a private patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandPG650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Showing it's age and not receiving the love and care these old buildings deserve. Great location just far enough off duval street even during spring break.
Continental breakfast is not much more than coffee and a bagel.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bfeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

This is a great little place we went for a weekend with friends, first time KW trip for all of us. We got rooms on the side of the house right next door to each other, very quiet and private. The rooms weren't real big but they weren't too small, nice cozy rooms. Exactly what you expect at an older KW B&B. Nicely decorated, comfortable furnishings, beautiful surroundings and a great location. Nancy the manager is a gem! Lots of fun and full of laughs. If you never venture away from the Garden House Nancy will keep you well entertained during you entire stay! The breakfast is tasty and the company enjoyable. Very relaxed friendly atmosphere, it felt like we were visiting old friends. Since our stay we've been back to KW, we didn't stay at Garden House this time but we stopped by to see our "old friend" Nancy and share a few more laughs for a while. I would stay again there's just so many great B&B's in KW I want to try them all! I would definitely recommend Garden House as a great place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bougainvillea room and our friends stayed in the adjacent room the Hibiscus. Both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TareeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

don't go to this B&B unless you enjoy rotted baseboards, a HORRIBLE mattress, teeny-tiny shower (ladies, you won't be able to shave your legs!), wallboard that is swollen and split, a wicker chair that has been used as a scratching post by the resident cat, broken dresser drawer, broken blinds, broken bi-fold closet door, dingy curtains, dead frog floating in the 'pool' (oversized bathtub) -- well, you get the picture.
at happy hr i was handed a glass of wine in a dirty glass - even had old lipstick on it!!! that was my last attendance at happy hr. the grounds could also use some attention.
we weren't expecting the Ritz but we were hoping for at least a decent place.
this B&B does have a very good location and is a cute old structure -- but it needs serious work. the photos are deceptive - they must have been taken quite some time ago.
DO NOT CONFUSE THIS PLACE WITH THE GARDENS - a very upscale, well-maintained inn. spend a little more money and stay away from the Garden House! there are plenty of other good choices in key west.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank obx64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Seaport Inn
Seaport Inn
#65 of 77 in Key West
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.1 mi away
Artist House
Artist House
#12 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Curry House Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Smallest Bar Inn
Smallest Bar Inn
#69 of 77 in Key West
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westwinds Inn
Westwinds Inn
#44 of 77 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden House

Property: Garden House
Address: 329 Elizabeth St, Key West, FL 33040-6804
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden House Inn is Key West's most fun inn! Garden House Bed and Breakfast is very centrally located, only a block or two from Duval Street, the Historic Seaport, Mallory Square and Caroline Street, to name a few. We are a fun and relaxed B&B, with 10 rooms, all with private shower/bath. You'll most likely hear laughter spilling around the building from the other guests enjoying the free happy hour. Come over to join in the fun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Garden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden House Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing