We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Wow, what a fantastic Bed and Breakfast. After staying for a few nights at the Atlantis House and being totally blown away, we didn't know what to expect, but we found the Avalon to be a stunning, meticulously cared-for step back in Key West history with amazing amenities and incredible customer service. While a bit pricey, it was worth every penny, just from the perspective of being so close to everything and right on Duval Street. We loved ambiance and breakfasts served on the deck. House keeping was fantastic and the entire experience harkened back to a finer and refined era. We loved it and hope to stay here again. We throughly recommend the Avalon to anyone wanting a to immerse themselves in everything Key West has to offer. Thank you!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,097)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

432 - 438 of 1,097 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2014

this is a warm and welcoming spot at the quiet end of duval street. it is near the sourthernmost motel (which actually wraps around the b&b). it is a still a relative easy walk over to where all the restaurants and bars are, but allows for some escape from all the action for a good nights rest.

we stayed here to celebrate a wedding anniversary. the rooms we got was quite big (two double beds -the only room left when we booked- various rooms are different sizes and costs), and we were nicely surprised by the rose petals on the beds, plus the bottle of proseco that they gave us. as well, they were able to make reservations for us at some restaurants, and suggest some other spots. a continental breakfast is included,served on the large front porch which allows you to people watch as you enjoy breakfast. there is also a small pool on the premises (that we didn't get around to using). in the afternoon, there have cookies out plus a refreshing drink. all in all, it feels easy,comfortable, and laid back.

there is a limited amount of parking available. its close, but not adjacent to the b&b.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank howho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Hotel has a great location just steps from Southernmost point. You can feel superb atmosphere of Key West there. Hotel was wonderfully decorated for Christmas time! Night illumination attracted a lot of tourist to make a photo.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ivab7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We could only stay one night in Key West but by staying at the Avalon we had the nicest possible stay for such a short time and it was mainly due to the comfort and proximity of the B&B to the main attractions of Key West and to the friendliness of Yvonne and her suggestions of where to go.

We packed a lot in but at the same time had a great relaxing breakfast on the front porch and a coffee before we checked out. There was a very informal feel about the 'house' which was nice.

Car parking was easy, bike rental was just across the road and it was near enough to participate in the night life but far enough to have a quiet night's sleep in a canopied, comfy bed.
I loved Key West. It felt safe and despite the long drive, I would like to return.

Thank you, Yvonne for your hospitality and friendliness. We would recommend this B & B to anyone visiting Key West.

Room Tip: Our room was upstairs and round the back in a sort of annex. It was small but nice and very private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Willatphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avalonbnb, Manager at Avalon Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words. Key West offers so many choices of things to do, and I am glad we could enhance your stay by making suggestions. I look forward to seeing you next time.
Yvonne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

A strange blend of homeliness and self service... Avalon is a great building, an old colonial style mansion, in a brilliant area of town, near the sea, in lovely surroundings and away from the noise of the main strip but with easy access if you want it. The rooms were very nice, the bed was comfy however, our room had no view. The staff were friendly and went to the effort to make our room special on our anniversary night with a complementary bottle of wine. Having said that, we did have to let ourselves in when we arrived after 9pm and the other guests weren't very friendly. I wouldn't recommend this place as it felt too impersonal but my husband would so perhaps it divides opinion.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OliviaThrift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avalonbnb, Manager at Avalon Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

I am so sorry we were not there to welcome you, but we do close up well before 9pm, which is why we provide the late arrival instructions. I try to wait for as many of our guests to arrive as possible, but arriving at 7am most mornings, 9pm runs juts a little too late for me to stay (and my husband still remember who I am).

It's a fine line as innkeepers we straddle between providing attentive service and not overstepping and being too intrusive. I am sorry we missed the mark for you. I am happy however that you otherwise enjoyed your stay, the cleanliness of our rooms, and our excellent location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This was my first time staying at Avalon and my girlfriend and I loved it. Very nice staff, right on Duval Street, easy to walk everywhere - from the beach to the bars to the sightseeing spots, very easy to get around. The food was good, plentiful at the breakfast, coffee fresh and I know that we both said that we would stay here again.
Doug K.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DougK212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

This little hotel has everything to make us feel home: cozy rooms, delicious breakfast and a pleasant staff. And the guest can also enjoy little treats, like cookies and iced tea, coffee machine, hot or cold water to prepare drinks....for free. I bought a meal for my son and they let me use the kitchen to put it on a plate and use the microwave. I would definetely come back!!

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Rafaelabf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
0.4 mi away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#18 of 51 in Key West
1,367 reviews
0 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.4 mi away
Tropical Inn
Tropical Inn
#18 of 77 in Key West
872 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Southernmost Inn
The Southernmost Inn
#26 of 77 in Key West
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1317 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-3131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $185 - $478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Historic Duval St. the Avalon is a c1885 historic 19 room Bed and Breakfast style Key West Hotel. With romantic canopy net beds in all rooms, private bathrooms, mini refrigerators, flat screen TV's, heated pool and free Wi-Fi. Our rooms are updated to provide modern amenities, while still maintaining the homes colonial charm & ambiance. A plentiful continental breakfast buffet is served café style on the front porch each morning, and is the perfect way to start your day before exploring Key West. Located on Duval Street the Avalon Bed and Breakfast Hotel is within walking distance to all that Key West has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Avalon Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Key West
Avalon b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing