We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in Key West”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Prescott, Arkansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay in Key West”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We chose this place because of the great reviews. Very friendly staff, location is great on Duval Street, close to the beach, restaurants, shops, attractions, and one block from the Southernmost point. This B&B is very clean and has a pool, outdoor sitting areas, and a very good breakfast. We will stay there again if we get back to Key West. We will also recommend to our friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1547Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    239
    37
    12
    6
See reviews for
171
666
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Last minute planning and we managed to find a highly priced room. It was NYE after all so not complaining. Room was small but clean and cute. The pool was a bit small but the charm in the decor really makes up for it. Step outside and u will find all the tourists snapping pictures. It is by far the best decorated place on Duval. Staff was quick and friendly. Parking was free and in a safe lot. The New Years paraphernalia for the guests was a nice touch. Maybe next time I will have more to add. But after this quick drive through experience I can tell why they are rated highly.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales, uk
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed here recently at Christmas and was very impressed. Yvonne was extremely welcoming and very helpful. Drinks and cookies were provided every morning and were great. Breakfast far exceeded anything we were hoping for.
Only reason I don't give it five is that the room on the ground floor really was very small and had no wi fi. Some parts of building do.
Be aware it is at the quiet end of Duval but that was what we wanted. Blue Heaven is close by and really is a must for brunch.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobThom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avalonbnb, Manager at Avalon Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your recent stay and your comments. I am sorry you were having trouble with the Wi-Fi and am happy you brought it to our attention. We have just contracted to have new routers installed which hopefully will be in place within the next two weeks and should ensure all our rooms get a good signal in addition to our pool deck which is not covered at present.

We hope to see you again next time you're in the neighborhood. If you opt for one of our King rooms in the main part of the house they are quite a bit larger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
222 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed at this lovely B and B for a few days over Christmas. Immediately, we were welcomed by Yvonne. The inside is charming, with daily drinks and baked goods for the guests on the main table. It was raining for a couple days, and free ponchos were provided. The Christmas morning breakfast included the christmas crackers, and chocolates on the tables, amazing little touches that clearly demonstrate that Yvonne really does care for her guests.
The bathroom in the queen room is small, with very little to no counter space. The water pressure in the shower is low, and warm water took awhile to appear at times. Coffee, tea and water are available at all times, the B and B feels like a small family house instead of a huge hotel , which is charming.

A lovely stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christinern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed December 24, 2013

This is a wonderful bed and breakfast. Everything is clean and modern and located in a perfect spot on Duval. Everyone was so friendly and made sure that we had everything that we needed. The breakfast was delicious and served on the front porch every morning. We will stay here again when we go to Key West.

Room Tip: Our room was at the top of the stairs and overlooked the sunbathing area and spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacation1lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in December. Loved Key West and Avalon and will happily return. Friendly and helpful staff. Cozy and querky rooms with floors going up and down. Nice furniture and decorations. Only downside is not so good water pressure in the shower. Took forever to rinse out the shampoo from my medium long hair. Would I go back? Yes yes yes!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank FruFeyling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

It was our second trip in Key west, but our first time at the Avalon. First time we stayed at the mermaid and the alligator and really enjoyed it! Our daughter found this place for for the four of us:, we were NOT disappointed at all, in fact we really enjoyed it. Though it is located on Duval Street, it should NOT deter people from staying there: it is indeed very quiet and FAR from the bars, so you can sleep at night ( but not that far if you feel like walking down to the bars!). We booked two rooms with king beds and were very pleased with our rooms. Breakfast was good and served on the porch early enough in the morning. We would recommend this bed and breakfast with no hesitation!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claudine88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,634 reviews
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.1 mi away
The Southernmost House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Bed and Breakfast

Property: Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1317 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-3131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Historic Duval St. the Avalon is a c1885 historic 19 room Bed and Breakfast style Key West Hotel.With romantic canopy net beds in all rooms, private bathrooms, mini refrigerators, flat screen TV's, heated pool and free Wi-Fi, the rooms are updated to provide modern amenities, while still maintaining its colonial charm & ambience.The plentiful continental breakfast buffet served café style on the front porch each morning is the perfect start to your day before exploring Key West. Located on Duval Street the Avalon Bed and Breakfast Hotel is within walking distance to the many attractions Key West has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Avalon Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Key West
Avalon b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing