We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly bed &breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very friendly bed &breakfast”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We chose this B&B because it was very reasonable priced,the staff where very friendly and helpful,very clean and a nice little courtyard with a small pool,the room was very small with no hanging space one night was enough,bathroom was tiny but free tea and coffee breakfast was very simple but ok,parking was free around the corner,would I stay there again yes but pay extra for a bigger room

Room Tip: Chose the cabin which was a lot bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachbabe60plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    239
    37
    12
    6
See reviews for
171
666
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Myself and 3 friends had 2 nights in Key West in September and chose the Avalon Guest House.
We thought it was good value for money and the rooms looked spacious for 4 friends sharing a room.
When we arrived the staff were so friendly (the receptionist is originally from the UK and was so helpful!). We unloaded our luggage and then the guesthouse has complimentary parking just 5 minutes round the corner.
The room was huge and fantastic for 4 girls trying to get ready at the same time!
Avalon is located at the quieter end of Duval Street just across the road from the Southernmost Point. I'd say it's about a 25 minute walk down to the other end but it's a lovely walk and a nice opportunity to look at everything.
Breakfast was included here and is actually very good with lots of options!
We would definitely recommend the Avalon to anyone and I would not hesitate to stay here again if I went back to Key West.
The staff are also fantastic at recommending places to go so don't be afraid to ask them for suggestions!

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor which was huge but I think all the rooms are pretty good in size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avalonbnb, Manager at Avalon Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
We really appreciate your comments. Thank you.

You ladies looked to be having such a great time while you were here, and I am so glad our recommendations of places to go worked out well for you.

Hope to see you next time and thanks again for choosing Avalon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
407 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 458 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at the Avalon B&B for one night in August 2013. It was not our first time in Key West, but our first time at the Avalon. The B&B was located at the end of Duval Street, very closed to the Southernmost Point and walking distance to the Hemingway House and Key West Lighthouse. The place was nice, clean and absolutely quiet. The room was very comfortable and the canopy queen bed so lovely even if the bathroom was a bit small. The staff was extremely friendly. They also offer tea, coffee and freshly biscuits (absolutely delicious) in the afternoon. The only complain we have it is the breakfast. It was just ok. I think I would come here again. Highly recommended! Sorry if my English is not perfect but I am not English mother tongue.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FedericaRoma_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Level Contributor
237 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We spent 2 nights here in room 24, a superior queen room. The room was very comfortable, but a bit small. The entire building was extremely clean. The staff was really friendly and helpful in suggesting attractions and restaurants. Breakfasts were also very nice. The rooms were soundproofed very well. Location was on the quiet end of Duval Street.

Room Tip: Ours was on the second floor in the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perlagold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We recently had the opportunity to stay at the Avalon B&B in Key West, and it was an excellent choice! Located at the "quiet" end of Duval St., this property is comfortable and peaceful. The staff there is gracious and caring, and the morning breakfast on the front porch was a treat. The accommodations are first class without being ostentatious. Each room has its own air conditioner, so temperature control was easy. The property is located within walking distance of many of Key West's prime attractions, such as the Hemingway House and the Key West Butterfly Garden (which is directly across the street). The exterior courtyard is private and serene, and the small swimming pool was perfect for an evening stretch after a long day of sightseeing and enjoying many of the area's attractions. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: If street noise (of which there wasn't a great deal by late evening) bothers you, ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami, fl
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed here only one night at the end of the summer. The inn is lovely and the room was very attractive. The queen bed was comfortable and the bathroom was adequate. It is located at the end of Duval street near the Southernmost point which is the complete other end from Mallory Square. That is one of its advantages. It's quiet and away from the crowd. It also has its own parking lot about a block away. They have coffee and tea available at all times as well as hot and cold water in a cooler. We had a good stay. The only complaint we had is that the room is very deodorized with air freshner because of the humidity and we had to hide that due to allergies. The room air conditioner was not adequate to control the humidity unless it was super cold. This may not have been in issue in other rooms. One other thing was that we found the room rather expensive but found out that everything right now in Key West is overpriced because many of the chain hotels are torn down for remodeling so there is a room shortage.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beisenbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maybole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel suited us down to the ground, all staff were friendly towards us and the hotel was lovely and to cap it all off the breakfast was fantastic, hope to be back in 2015 for 3 nights and we intend to bring along our Aunty Anne so she can enjoy Key West along with us :-))

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,633 reviews
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.1 mi away
The Southernmost House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Bed and Breakfast

Property: Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1317 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-3131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Historic Duval St. the Avalon is a c1885 historic 19 room Bed and Breakfast style Key West Hotel.With romantic canopy net beds in all rooms, private bathrooms, mini refrigerators, flat screen TV's, heated pool and free Wi-Fi, the rooms are updated to provide modern amenities, while still maintaining its colonial charm & ambience.The plentiful continental breakfast buffet served café style on the front porch each morning is the perfect start to your day before exploring Key West. Located on Duval Street the Avalon Bed and Breakfast Hotel is within walking distance to the many attractions Key West has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Avalon Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Key West
Avalon b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing