We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Wonderful B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was our second time staying at the Avalon. Our first trip we stayed in the private villa in the back which was spectacular. This trip we stayed in the main house - equally as great. The rooms are immaculate. The main house and all the grounds are maintained and clean. Staff courteous and polite. Parking is across street in a parking lot and while your car isn't in plain view, its safe back there.

We were staying for our 1 yr wedding anniversary and when we arrived in the room, there was a bottle of champagne with a card and the 4 post bed with sensual white lace netting was covered in rose petals. A+

Very classy.

My wife and I wholeheartedly recommend this wonderful place. We will return.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great; however, the detached private villa in the back is always our first choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank We3Monkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avalonbnb, General Manager at Avalon Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Happy Anniversary to you both again, and thanks for sharing your photo. We look forward to seeing you again next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,098)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

486 - 492 of 1,099 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Lovely room with canopy bed in charming old building. Small pool outside. Only one block from Souternmost point in US. Great service and touring tips. Liked outside breakfast and free parking close by

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Desigal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay in Avalon from begin to end.

We had a queensize room which was really small, but so cute and cozy. Everything was very clean and the bed was nice.

Breakfast was included and really good and we also loved the free parking and free wifi (which was very fast). The pool was a lovely refreshment from a long day in Key West.

My only con is that it's quite far from the "action". Sloppy Joe's for example is a good 20 minutes walk. It's not too far, but expect some walking.

Next time when we will be in Key West, which we definitely will because it's awesome, we'll probably book Avalon again since its price/quality is excellent.

Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bramvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Absolutely wonderful! I booked a room with 2 queen beds and it looked exactly as pictured on their website. Clean, comfortable and a great value for an overnight stay. I was able to leave my luggage after I checked out which was a great help as the ferry wasn't leaving until early evening. Nice breakfast on the from porch and tasty cookies and tea in the afternoon. It was on the quitter side of Duval street which I appreciated in the evening and closed to the southernmost point. I could walk everywhere which was a great perk.

I will recommend this lovely B&B to all my friends and would stay again on my next visit to Key West.

Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Compared to nearby hotels, like southernmost, this place is a great option and better value. The only thing they really lack is a pool. There is one, but it is really more the size of a hot tub. Breakfast is great and not included with your stay at southernmost. You get free parking. You're right by the beach. It's a great choice for your next trip!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kterry554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avalonbnb, Manager at Avalon Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for reviewing us online. We agree our location is excellent. As we like to say close enough to the action but not too close. You do want to be able to sleep after all.

We are so happy you enjoyed the breakfast! We are somewhat limited as we are not allowed to provide hot foods, but within the legal limitations of what we are able to provide we try to ensure we have a good and plentiful selection full of fresh fruits and some protein selections like hard boiled eggs, deli meats and cheese. A must for our many European visitors.

I agree our pool is small, limited by our property size, more of a plunge pool to cool down on a hot summer day than a swimming pool.

Thanks again and hope to see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed here for 3 days and would definitely return. Yvonne, the manager was so welcoming and the rooms are quaint and really nice. It has to be one of the best places to stay in Key West, a lovely historic old building on Duval Street but an easy stroll to the livelier end of town. Breakfast on the porch was really nice and free parking nearby also a bonus. I recommend Avalon to anyone visiting Key West.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnowMajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

WE booked 2 rooms here for 3 days and wished we could have stayed all season. the staff are great, location in superb and the rooms / beds are super comfortable. Brekky on the porch each morning was a pleasant start to each day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llourd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avalonbnb, Manager at Avalon Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I cannot tell you how much we appreciate it. We hope to see you again if you make it back this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
0.4 mi away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#18 of 51 in Key West
1,369 reviews
0 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.4 mi away
Tropical Inn
Tropical Inn
#18 of 77 in Key West
872 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Southernmost Inn
The Southernmost Inn
#26 of 77 in Key West
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1317 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-3131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $183 - $474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Historic Duval St. the Avalon is a c1885 historic 19 room Bed and Breakfast style Key West Hotel. With romantic canopy net beds in all rooms, private bathrooms, mini refrigerators, flat screen TV's, heated pool and free Wi-Fi. Our rooms are updated to provide modern amenities, while still maintaining the homes colonial charm & ambiance. A plentiful continental breakfast buffet is served café style on the front porch each morning, and is the perfect way to start your day before exploring Key West. Located on Duval Street the Avalon Bed and Breakfast Hotel is within walking distance to all that Key West has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Avalon Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Key West
Avalon b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing