We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay on Duval Street!”
Review of Smallest Bar Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Smallest Bar Inn
Ranked #69 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Treasure Coast FL
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay on Duval Street!”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Old Customs House Inn (Jan 3-5, 2013). Josh (the manager) was great to work with when we made our reservations, and promptly responded to our inquiries while we were staying there. The Old Customs House Inn is the perfect place to stay if you want to experience the heart of Key West, Duval Street! The suites have all of the modern conveniences (except a hair dryer - bring your own!), with a true Key West charm and atmosphere.
If you want to be immersed in the nightlife of Duval, this is a great place to stay! Our room overlooked the street, so we could hear the music from the surrounding bars, but we didn't mind! If you are independent traveler, you'll love this place! There is no front desk, you pick up and drop off your key at The Smallest Bar, it worked for us! Thanks Josh for everything!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FLTourGuideBecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
customshouse, Manager at Smallest Bar Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
thanks for your stay !!! please stay with us again !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    41
    14
    11
    33
See reviews for
15
59
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Palm City, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have stayed at Old Customs House Inn half a dozen times and each time have loved it! You can't beat the location right across from Sloppy Joe's. The owner and people working are great and are laid back Key West style. As for a pool, you can use the hotel that is steps away when dining at their poolside bar. This is the place you want to stay when you visit the ROCK!!! Would not stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen_Mike04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokomis Beach, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Spent 1st week of Dec. Rooms were large, very clean, and comfortable. Altho right in the heart of old town, the room was secluded above a lovely garden and restaurant. We could enjoy the folk music from Hogsbreath on our balcony. We will be back real soon!

Room Tip: Having stayed at many B&B's, hotels, motels, and guest houses in KW, this was truly the most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BudDoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben Wheeler, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I won't go into details, but other than location this place has nothing I would ever go back for.
the management is not on site. in checking with the Bar and restaurant that are on the property I was unable to get hold of the manager/owner of the place. Phone calls went unanswered. so I packed up and found another place to stay.

Room Tip: my only tip would be to find another place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chajek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Key West hotels

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This place was really cool, tropical rooms right on Duvall street by sloppy joes (great sandwiches) Key West is so charming with all the places to visit went outside of hotel and went to Ripleys museum and a few more steps away was Mallory square where everyone goes for sunsets (which are amazing) I had a great time hope to return to key west soon

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maritza W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I love Key west and I love this hotel as long as there is a room available I love to stay here because it is in the epicenter of everything day life, night life, shopping whatever can't wait for my next visit!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slaphappyfishguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

I surprised my wife for our one year anniversary. We were married I the Keys and just love Key West. I called a ton of hotels and B&B's. Well after speaking with them. I felt this would be a great place. Specially because the location. Well it was awesome. It was right next to one of our favorite places Hogs Breath. It was tucked behind the Worlds Smallest Bar. Which again is one of our favorite spots. I mean you get to know so many people from so many places in a rea no bigger then a bathroom. And it's so fun. Now the room was dry surprisingly large and very clean and cozy. We had a young man house keeping and he was very nice. There's only four rooms in the back so like stated. Seized with not alot of other vacationers staying around you. And it being so tucked away. It felt like we were one of the locals. You could venture out steps from your room to everything. And then of course stumble back or just leiserly come back for a nice glass of wine on the porch. So close to everything. They should be opening a little cafe or something back there as well soon if not already. Again, highly recommend unless your not one for fun. But then again. Why would you have come to the always entertaining Key West!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerekWald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
0.3 mi away
Key West Sailing Adventure
Key West Sailing Adventure
#67 of 77 in Key West
29 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Weatherstation Inn
The Weatherstation Inn
#52 of 77 in Key West
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa 325
Casa 325
#26 of 77 in Key West
699 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Habitation
L'Habitation
#48 of 77 in Key West
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Artist House
Artist House
#10 of 77 in Key West
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smallest Bar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smallest Bar Inn

Property: Smallest Bar Inn
Address: 124 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-6506 (Formerly Old Customs House Inn)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Smallest Bar Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Smallest Bar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Customs House Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing