We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Awesome weekend!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smallest Bar Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Smallest Bar Inn
Ranked #72 of 78 Key West B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome weekend!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

I love Key west and I love this hotel as long as there is a room available I love to stay here because it is in the epicenter of everything day life, night life, shopping whatever can't wait for my next visit!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Slaphappyfishguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    38
    14
    11
    31
See reviews for
14
53
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

I surprised my wife for our one year anniversary. We were married I the Keys and just love Key West. I called a ton of hotels and B&B's. Well after speaking with them. I felt this would be a great place. Specially because the location. Well it was awesome. It was right next to one of our favorite places Hogs Breath. It was tucked behind the Worlds Smallest Bar. Which again is one of our favorite spots. I mean you get to know so many people from so many places in a rea no bigger then a bathroom. And it's so fun. Now the room was dry surprisingly large and very clean and cozy. We had a young man house keeping and he was very nice. There's only four rooms in the back so like stated. Seized with not alot of other vacationers staying around you. And it being so tucked away. It felt like we were one of the locals. You could venture out steps from your room to everything. And then of course stumble back or just leiserly come back for a nice glass of wine on the porch. So close to everything. They should be opening a little cafe or something back there as well soon if not already. Again, highly recommend unless your not one for fun. But then again. Why would you have come to the always entertaining Key West!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DerekWald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Each time I stay at the Old Customs House I am delighted to turn of the cell, forget about my e-mails, and enjoy the laid back life style of Key West. I love the fact that you get to check in at The Smallest Bar. I get my key and a drink....perfect. Each time I have stayed there I am greeted with a smile and the location is perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Disgustingly dirty!!!!! Room not at all as shown on website, or described on phone. This place prays on out of towners , its a take the money and run operation. Good luck checking in, or getting a key, and if you complain they'll ask you to leave and threaten to call the police, cause they've already billed your credit card. The owners name is Josh, he has a tattoo of a Lizard on his neck. He also owns Smallest Bar. The only thing he's capable of is lying and charging your credit card, he's rude, incompetent, discriminatory, and a pathetic excuse for a business owner. The hotel itself is just as pathetic as its owner, roaches, bugs, broken furniture, dirt everywhere, hasn't been cleaned in months, much less remodeled or updated. There is no front desk or staff or housekeepers, only him and a bartender who have mastered the pass the buck, not my job, too bad buddy, game. Because they already got your credit card info. Don't be fooled by the positive reviews, take the time to read a few, and you'll see commonality, and if you're still truly interested in booking, GOOD LUCK, YOU'LL NEED IT!!!!!!!! Learn from my and the many others mistakes this place in a NIGHTMARE!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Pick another hotel!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
customshouse, Owner at Smallest Bar Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Persona Non Gratis
Dear Sir
Your short stay at our facility failed to include the following :
You and other guests checked into the facility for a Bachelor party stay.
AS always , Upon checking in , guests keys are obtained in the Smallest Bar, located at the front of the property.
At aprox 2a.m. you again arrived at the bar demanding that you be let into your room ROOM. because you had separated (another story) from your group. You Then went to every room in the facility and began banging on other guests doors. Following that you returned to the bar and were extremely disrespectful to the bartender on duty and other patrons in the bar. You were then asked to leave the bar.
The following morning the groom and best man contacted the manager "Josh" and asked that he have you check out of the facility because of the disturbance and that you had altercations with them in the room and that you had broken and destroyed some hotel in the room
At aprox 10:30a.m. the manager "josh " arrived to your room and explained to you that due to the circumstances that had occurred you would need to check out of the facility. Two hours later the manager was again called and informed that you had not checked out. When the manager returned to your room you threatened him and at that point he told you that you should leave the premises immediately or the police would become involved. At this point he left your room, you departed from the facility. The other guests in your party stayed and enjoyed themselves as they had in many previous occasions.

We understand your embarrassment and unhappiness however, in all fairness we find this indent unfortunate for not only yourself but for the manager, bartender and guests. We also find your synopsis of your stay, the rooms and staff and our operating procedures inaccurate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Key West hotels

Lake Placid, Florida, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

We had a great time here. We had a group of 6 people, and staying here was the best value. For the price per person we could have only stayed on the other side of the island. The management were friendly and personable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

My husband and I were celebrating our recent retirement and booked this inn because of its proximity to Key West activities. We were VERY rudely "greeted" by the manager who yelled at us from behind closed doors (and never apologized!) at the Smallest Bar next door...that's the place you go to "check in." Very odd arrangement and very confusing. The room not only lacked the barest of essentials (such as no kleenex, only 1 bar of soap, and 2 little hangers) but also the air conditioner did not work and was stuffed with rags, plus the mattress on the bed was almost non-existent. The nice older gentlemen who worked there did try to make amends for the poor behavior of the manager. This COULD be a wonderful, quaint place to stay...under a new manager!

Room Tip: Find another place to stay even though it may cost you more
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank KarlFrincke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandal, norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in february and we had a very pleasant stay. A really charming place in the middle of the old town. It reminds me about French Quarter in New Orleans.

Harald Rydberg Eriksen

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haraleri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa 325
Casa 325
#30 of 78 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.2 mi away
Artist House
Artist House
#9 of 78 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.3 mi away
Key West Sailing Adventure
Key West Sailing Adventure
#67 of 78 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Old Town Manor
Old Town Manor
#7 of 78 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.3 mi away
Garden House
Garden House
#65 of 78 in Key West
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Weatherstation Inn
The Weatherstation Inn
#47 of 78 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smallest Bar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smallest Bar Inn

Property: Smallest Bar Inn
Address: 124 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-6506 (Formerly Old Customs House Inn)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Smallest Bar Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Smallest Bar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Customs House Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing