We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location and perfect for our stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smallest Bar Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Smallest Bar Inn
Ranked #74 of 86 Key West B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
“Great location and perfect for our stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary because it was recommended to me by the father who had just stayed there. We were so incredibly happy with the superior location and our room was super spacious. The room is very clean and we even made a new "cat friend". My husband loved it so much that he booked right then for his birthday weekend which he just came back from. This room was even bigger and nicer. He traveled with all the guys for this one and they loved it too. I think they will be getting some new customers coming back!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keywestgirl321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    37
    14
    10
    31
See reviews for
14
52
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Palm Bay, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

I have vacationed in Key West every 3 months for the past 10 years, this wasn't my first time staying at Old Customs House Inn it is the only place I stay....It is awesome. Best spot of the Keys, especially if you enjoy shopping, site seeing and the night life! My suite was extreamly nice and cozy, hard wood floors, two comfy double beds with an extra pull-out mattress to sleep six comfortably even though I only need one bed. Very spacious and very clean. There is a bar called World's Smallest Bar and it is awesome, I can get trashed and crawl to my room if I wanted to. No need for a taxi everything you need is within walking distance, it is in the heart of Key West!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

I surprised my husband with a trip to Key West for his 50th birthday. Unfortumately it was a holiday weekend and everything was booked. I reluctantly took the Old Customs House. I should have known if it was the only place available in Key West. All my fears were confirmed. First of all we almost never found who ran the place to let us in. When we finally did and he managed to find the key, we were met with the worst place I have ever stayed and I travelled around the world. Where to start.....the bathroom door would not close. There was a screen latch that held it sort of closed with about a 3" gap. There were ants all over the sink and the shower nozzle was about to pull out of the wall. The one bed was so creaky (and uncomfortable) that is would awaken the dead. But that's not the worst part. We had travelled a long way and wanted a relaxing weekend but that was not to be in this location. Being 30' from the Hog's Breath saloon we soon realized that yes, the sound does travel and the live music went on until 1:30 am. At that point they turned music on at the bar beneath us and it literally made the walls rattle until 3:00 am. Of course, we immediately begin to look for another place for the next night and were lucky enough to find rooms for one night. I had paid for 3 nights and of course there was no refund even though I am pretty sure he managed to rent it out to someone as the town was full and there were people looking for rooms. So, if you just want a place on Duval Street to pass out at 3:00 am and don't care about the surroundings then you may be OK with this place. But if you want to be rested enough to enjoy the rest of Key West then this is definitely not the place. Also, I dealt with Inn Touch, a rental agency and she said nothing about how noisy and awful this place was going to be so I would not recommend them either. She knew we had never been to Key West before and she should have warned us.

Room Tip: Stay away from Duval Street. Key West is a beautiful city full of gorgeous inns where you can sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jane073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcy, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Was our first time to Key West and, it being Presidents Week, it was hard to find a place at a reasonable price. The Old Customs House Inn had a great location with a good rate.

Room was clean and fairly well appointed. It was advertised for six, but slept four comfortably with the extra bed being a Trundle on the floor. A wall separates the beds.

Our room was in the front of the building and tended to be loud at night especially with bands playing at the nearby Hogsbreath Saloon. This is stated in the hotels write-up. There is a kitchen area and a separate bath that is quite large although the shower is small.

Several minor things need fixing, most notably the smoke alarms and emergency lighting.

Check in is done at Key West Smallest Bar, a little odd but doable.

James and Mike are great but Josh needs to work on his people skills.

The restaurant on site, although not run by the hotel, is excellent. Called the Jungle Hideaway it really is hidden to the rear of the hotel and serves up great food at a reasonable price. Van is a true lady and a southern bell. Martin is a very good waiter. Great experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpyderP45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

This coment is for the owner of this hotel. The person in charge of the reservations or the person answering calls was very RUDE . By mistake I called twice and that guy almost BITE me. Is disgusting when you has this experience. I don't recommend this place to no one.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Susylez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomall, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

We stayed second week of jan 2012 am currently making plans to go back in may ! The place is right in the middle of everything did not drive a car or go in a cab once in the week, other then the five min cab ride to and from the airport . James and the staff made sure we had what we needed ! This was our first trip to key west there will be many more and will stay here every time. If you want a fancy hotel go to a fancy hotel

Room Tip: Eat at the jungle hide away downstairs in the back food was great and the people working there were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimW2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Spent new years here! I love this secluded hotel right next to sloppy joes where we watched conch drop couldn't be a better location to stay made for a perfect evening when I proposed to my girlfriend/fiancé I will never stay anywhere else!!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Slaphappyfishguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa 325
Casa 325
#29 of 86 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 660 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Town Manor
Old Town Manor
#9 of 86 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 661 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Habitation
L'Habitation
#53 of 86 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Key West Sailing Adventure
Key West Sailing Adventure
#68 of 86 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marrero's Guest Mansion
Marrero's Guest Mansion
#15 of 86 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Weatherstation Inn
The Weatherstation Inn
#44 of 86 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smallest Bar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smallest Bar Inn

Property: Smallest Bar Inn
Address: 124 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-6506 (Formerly Old Customs House Inn)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Smallest Bar Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HRS and Hotwire so you can book your Smallest Bar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Customs House Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing