We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, Quiet, Andrews Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Andrews Inn and Garden Cottages
Ranked #25 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful, Quiet, Andrews Inn”
Reviewed December 20, 2007

Andrews Inn, Mango suite is a perfect honeymoon spot. We had our own patio, hot tub, private entrance plus everything the Inn offered. The owner Tom was friendly and George was helpful with night spots to visit and excellent restaurants. If you like cats this is the place as Ernest Hemingways cats hang out at the pool side! Close walking distance to everything, we didnt use our car for 7 days!

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank klfkathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    73
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
25
329
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2007

Great location, walked everywhere, except when taking trolley bus tour. All staff at the Inn very pleasant and helpful. Would certainly consider staying again if in Key West.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — noisy cockerals
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k49p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando FLORIDA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2007

we decided 8 weeks before the wedding to go down to the keys for are honeymoon were wanting the smaller room which already booked so we deiced to take the larger one which was the eyebrow house for 210. a night the time with we went which was Sun-thru wonderful the staff was great George, and martin and tom are wonderful people let them help you play your time down there.. i missed and we have deiced to return there some day soon.

Oh we drove from Orlando fl down to the keys 8 hours

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — Nothing~!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank familylilienthal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento,ca
1 review
Reviewed December 14, 2007

My husband and I joined friends in Key West for a much needed vacation. Our friends chose the Andrews Inn. The staff from when we made the first phone call was most friendly and professional. We decided to stay there as well when we discovered that our room/cottage would be the one next to our friends' and the fence dividing our decks was removable and therfeore we would be sharing the deck with them.
This is a great place to stay if you're planning a trip with other couples or family. We stayed in the building that has the Eyebrow house, Treetop and Mango. There were three couples total and we occupied those three cottages. So we had the whole place to ourselves. It truely felt like we were at our home away from home.
The location was fantastic. We weren't even a block away from Duval St. We walked everywhere.
The staff was very friendly and eager to help when we ask for it.
We had a wonderful stay and if we ever find our way back to Key West we won't hesitate to stay at the Andrews Inn again.

  • Liked — location and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aandsmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2007

We had done some internet research and narrowed our #1 preference to Andrews Inn, but didn't make reservations, due to an indefinite itinerary. When we drove in to Key West - hot, tired, and no reservations, on Tues. Sept.4 - we were so relieved to find that they had a room available, for 3 nights, at a very reasonable offseason/midweek price too. Tom, the friendly owner/manager greeted us very warmly & professionally. We immediately felt taken care of, refreshed, and at home. Our room, the MADRID, was quite lovely (though they have even nicer, pricier ones too). Very comfortable queen-bed. Vaulted ceiling and french doors made it feel spacious too. Lots of drawer & shelf & closet space too. Roomy bathroom. No funky smells either! Ground level, right by the pool & courtyard, off-street private parking made everything especially convenient. Super-fragrant jasmine tree near our room was delightful.
---- All the staff we met - Tom, Blanche, Jorge - were very helpful and friendly. And keep the place spotless. Breakfast wasn't spectacular, but it was certainly delicious and more than adequate. We were on the go a lot, so didn't have time to linger over "happy hour" - but that was a nice bonus, having a table set out, late afternoon, with a variety of beverages (alcoholic & not).
--- In contrast to a previous guest's bad experience comments - We felt exceptionally SAFE. Good security, with room & gate key, night lighting, onsite daytime personnel. The neighborhood seemed quite nice, quiet even.
--- Only a few others were there, midweek, while we were. Both were repeat guests. (So that's a positive!)
--- Two great recommendations Tom gave us were Floridays for snorkeling, and he made the reservations for us. And Sandy's Cafe (for locals, not tourists) for a "cuban mix" sandwich.
--- The address, 0 Whalton Lane, is a little hard to find at first. It's accessed off the 900-block of Duval St., away from the noisy hubbub, but convenient walking distance to everything. It's right behind Hemingway's house (Whitehead St.)
--- We'd never been to Key West before. Overall, it was a very pleasant experience. So now we've been there, done that. But if we ever do go back, we would definitely try to stay at ANDREWS INN again!

  • Liked — Reasonable price. Clean, cheerful decor. Spacious. Well-staffed. Private parking. Beautiful landscaping. Convenient ice machine.
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything negative!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PopsandNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2007

We stayed in the Eyebrow House, very spacious, clean and comfy one bedroom cottage on the main level of the house. The house is located about a block away from the main inn. It is also off of Duval street, which made it a great location. Jorge was the host at the Inn and was a pleasure to deal with. He gave us a tour of the property and gave wonderful restaurant recommendations. The cottages are pet friendly which was great for our dog. Must go to Blue Heaven for dinner, it was awesome! This was a fabulous trip to Key West and cannot wait to go back.

  • Liked — Very comfortable
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank pinball59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2007

Did you know the Andrew's Inn is located just a few steps away from Crack House infested ghettos? Neither did we, until we arrived back to our "Sailor House" Cottage and found we had been robbed! The police officer explained we were not in the safest of neighborhoods and the keys to the cottages are easily duplicated, thus there's no sign of forced entry. We lost Credit cards, wallets, purses, cell phones, music players, car keys, ID's....on and on. Of course, the police don't give much hope of recovering anything and basically we were told there is not much that can be done.

Aside from being violated and robbed, we didn't really care for the accomodations at the Sailor House. When we first arrived there was a very strong smell of propane coming from the outside of the cottage near the gas tank as well as from inside the kitchen. We contacted Jorge (innkeeper) and though he insisted he could not smell anything in the kitchen, the propane company came out and did find two leaks. One in the kitchen and one outside by the gas tank.

The cottage was not very clean considering we were told it had just been renovated. I understand the homes are older, yet old is not an excuse for being dirty. There were dead bugs in the fridge and yellow ice coming out of the ice machine. The bathtub doesn't drain very well and if you're in there for over ten minutes you'll quickly find yourself in a pool of water.

We were only there one night since we were robbed but it was more than enough for us to know we don't care to ever return.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Athena6278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rascalkw, Owner / Innkeeper at Andrews Inn and Garden Cottages, responded to this review, September 11, 2007
A note from the Innkeeper…

This customer’s unfortunate experience with Key West is obviously not characteristic of Andrews Inn, as evidenced by the other 34 reviews on this site. Visitors to a tourist town like Key West on a holiday weekend are always encouraged to take ordinary common-sense precautions to safeguard their valuables. Although this break-in was unfortunate, it could have easily been avoided by using the unit’s deadbolts and in-room safe.

To represent the neighborhood as a “crack infested ghetto is extremely misleading. Andrews Inn and Cottages are located in a very charming residential neighborhood in the heart of Key West’s historic district, a short walk to Duval Street shops, restaurants, etc. Although an occasional break-in can occur, these are few and far between, and our local police actively patrols the area. People who are unhappy with this type of neighborhood will not be comfortable in most of Key West and should probably look for a gated resort or condominium-style accommodations further up the Keys.

The guest’s comment about the propane situation highlights the type of service you should expect at Andrews Inn. While we didn’t smell propane, we were able to get someone to promptly correct the situation even though it was the Saturday of Labor day weekend. Whenever we fail to meet our customer’s expectations our staff goes above and beyond to try to resolve the issue. While most customers are very satisfied with the cleanliness and comfort at our property, in this customer’s case, nothing we could do would have remedied their misfortune. In the end, we gave them a full refund for their stay as a good will gesture, which obviously wasn’t returned.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Tropical Inn
Tropical Inn
#10 of 77 in Key West
844 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casablanca at Bogart's
Casablanca at Bogart's
#46 of 77 in Key West
119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coco Plum Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Seascape Tropical Inn
Seascape Tropical Inn
#62 of 77 in Key West
550 reviews
0.1 mi away
Douglas House
Douglas House
#31 of 77 in Key West
735 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wicker Guesthouse
Wicker Guesthouse
#57 of 77 in Key West
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andrews Inn and Garden Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrews Inn and Garden Cottages

Property: Andrews Inn and Garden Cottages
Address: 223 Eanes Lane, 223 Eanes Lane, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located behind the Hemingway Estate and down a small lane off of Duval Street, Andrews Inn offers 10 rooms, suites and cottages. Enjoy our champagne continental breakfast and daily happy hour by the pool. The courtyard is lushly landscaped with palms, jasmine, and hibiscus. Suites and cottages include kitchens, private decks with jacuzzis, and are welcome to pets and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Andrews Inn and Garden Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrews Inn And Garden Cottages Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing