We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunset Key Cottages
Ranked #24 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2009

Peace, Quiet, and Tranquil
A small slice of heaven... I miss my bed there!! Truly like
floating on a cloud..
A perfect oasis.. You can enjoy all that Key West and Duval
St. have to offer, then come back to the peace of it all at
your cottage. We stayed on the corner, Siesta cottage, what
a view from every angle..
I really can't say anything bad, it is paradise, 2 bed, 3 full bath,
clean, soooo comfortable are the beds, the staff is amazing,
It's hard to describe the peace and quietness there, and the
boat to the mainland is only a 5 minute ride, always on time,
efficient.
The breakfast muffins and fruit on your porch are a great
touch, too. Yes, it was expensive, but, we got what we paid
for!!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DelawareSparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2009

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort.

We look forward to your return!

Shannon Kennedy
Marketing Manager
The Westin Key West Resort & Marina
Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (703)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

589 - 595 of 703 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2009

Stayed at sunset key for my 40th Birthday with a few friends. rented at 2 bedroom partial ocean view. Stayed in "sea grapes" cottage. . Plenty of room for 2 couples in the 2 bedroom cottage, 3 bathrooms. They were running a special rate for 2nd night 50% off. The cottages are very cute and clean. Nicely decorated and a nice way to enjoy key west from the quiet of the remote island. It's only a 7 min boat ride from the Mallory square in key west. Staff was nice and friendly. Only down side was that the fitness center was at the westin off of the island at the dock in key west. Made it a bit painfull to schedule a trip to the gym. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2009

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort.

We're glad you had a great vacation and look forward to your return!

Shannon Kennedy
Marketing Manager
The Westin Key West Resort & Marina
Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2008

I had never been to Key West before this trip, but we definitely picked the best place to stay. My husband is more into the nightlife and I like the calm, so this place was perfect. We could jump on the launch and go to the hustle and bustle of Key West or stay and relax in the peace and quiet and beautiful surroundings of Sunset Key.
The staff was wonderful. The restaurant on site was very nice and the food was outstanding. The service was perfect.
I was actually like a little kid every morning when I went to pick up our breakfast basket from our front porch! What a nice touch! I have absolutely no complaints about Sunset Key! We will be back within the next year for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nattiepea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2008

What a great place!

It's the little treats which make this place special such as the private motor launch from Key West to Sunset Key, or the breakfast muffin breakfast left on your porch each morning.

While Key West itself suffers from the cruise ship hordes, Sunset Key offers a complete escape to your own tropical island hideaway.

True it's not exactly cheap and is a purpose built resort but if you're comfortable with this and looking for somewhere different to get some sun then Sunset Key is a good choice.

Having teenagers in tow the island location offers the freedom to explore (for them) and piece of mind (for us); and the two bedroom cottage means there's no worries about having adjacent rooms at hotel check in. At a difficult age for agreement on the location and content of family holidays, our trip to Sunset Key got top marks from everyone.

The island restaurant is top quality but should you want to step ashore the hotel launch runs all night so there's no need to worry about being cut off from the night life when you want it.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank h0d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2008

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort.

We know your review will help other families make more informed decisions about where to stay during their Key West vacation.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return to Key West and Sunset Key.

Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2008

We just got back from a four-night stay at Sunset Key. This hotel was truly amazing and it was by far the best thing about our five days in Key West. Our experience would not have been the same if we had stayed somewhere else (and we checked out the competition while we were there including the Westin, the Hyatt, the Casa Marina and Ocean Key) Our cottage (Tradewinds) had a full kitchen, large bedroom with king bed, two bathrooms- one with enormous walk-in shower- and living room with dining area. Every morning, the "breakfast fairy", as we called her, brought a yummy selection of breakfast breads to our porch. We sat in our bathrobes and enjoyed Starbucks coffee while sitting on our "veranda" in the sunshine. The pool and hot tubs were fabulous and we never had any trouble getting our own beach hut on the beach. (We have stayed at other hotels- including the Hyatt Aruba- where you had to wake at 6am and go down to the beach, wait on line to reserve a beach hut!)
Latitudes restaurant was wonderful and our waiter was suberb.
We never had any trouble catching the boat launch back and forth to Key West and we really enjoyed being away from the craziness of Duvall Street. Our only minor complaint was that we could not get our Ipod to play on the radio in the room.
Alltogether, Sunset Key is a heavenly spot. We are excited to return!!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emilyinparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2008

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return to Key West and Sunset Key.

Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2008

We could not fault the Guest Cottages or Service that we received on Sunset Key, everything was wonderful.

Our garden view cottage (Bahia) had 2 king bedrooms and 3 bathrooms, with a seperate living area/Kitchen. All rooms were well equipped and spotelessly clean with no signs of the "wear and tear"mentioned by previous posts. From the Veranda we had partial sea views in 3 directions which was a nice plus.

We liked being so close to Key West, and enjoyed our time during Fantasy Fest, however, it was nice to return to the tranquility of Sunst Key for a good nights sleep. We thought the launch service to and from the island was excellent.

The onsite Lattitudes restaurant was excellent and the chef went out of his way to accommodate our veggie daughter.

We will definitely return!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Triplalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2008

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return to Key West and Sunset Key.

Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2008

It was a very lovely property. Beautiful grounds and landscaping. The beach was as nice as it gets in Key West. A little rocky but not too bad. It was great to swim in the ocean, and have a gorgeous ocean view. Our first cottage was a two-bedroom; very nice and clean and a beautiful porch and view. A little raggedy; the upholstered furniture stained and aged. The kitchen appliances dated. Bed ultra-comfortable and bath big and clean with excellent bath products. It was hot as hades, but the ceiling fans on the porch made it very nice to sit outside and enjoy the view and ambience. Our second cottage (we had to move because of flight problems and a lack of vacancy in our first cottage) was a three bedroom that was spacious but dark and very very much in need of a makeover. Carpet stained, furniture stained and the overall impression was that a few years ago this place was nice, but now it is just plain tired. The biggest problem was the uneven service. At over a grand a night, off season, one would expect stellar service. Not to be; room service limited, and very slow, not to mention outrageousy expensive. The food was very good however. Housekeeping late in the day and not up to standards of other 4-5 star properties. The mini-bar guy was a joke. He literally was absent some days. You may think this unimportant but there is nothing to be had on that island after 11pm in terms of alcohol or snacks. They have 24 hour roomservice that the security guy is in charge of!!!!! and the times I tried to reach him, the Westin said that had to page him. But he cannot serve any alcohol and I never heard back. So, if you miss the minibar guy you are essentially without an evening cocktail or beer. We were there 10 days and 5 out of 10 we saw no minibar guy. Apparently he is from the Westin across the water and he is only available a couple of hours a day for Sunset Key. They will say it is because of a "privacy please" sign but that is a blatant lie. The beach guy was very rarely there and provided very little service. I had to go to the beach hut and get towels out of the linen bags that were in the back. Every day. The fact that they charge 25.00 per person for a resort fee should assure that there is good beach service. The pool scene however, was terrific. There was no pool service per se, as far as anyone laying out towels etc. but the pool bar /restaurant was run by two very hard-working nice guys. Jan and Marcus. Stellar service and friendly. Oh, and back to the service; we had lunch at Latitudes our first day there to the tune of almost $200 and our waiter wore a filthy shirt and was obviously bored. Almost like we were an imposition. All in all we had a wonderful time. We are not high maintenance people and love to have a good time. Check out my other reports. However, upon leaving I felt a bit ripped-off.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaryMarg917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.5 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.5 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#7 of 51 in Key West
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,200 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Key Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Key Cottages

Address: 245 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040-8313 (Formerly Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#7 Spa Hotel in Key West
#10 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: $855 - $1,714 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Key Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Key Cottages is a secluded tropical island sanctuary located just 500 yards off the coast of Key West, featuring private cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunset Key Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Key Guest Cottages, a Westin Hotel Key West
Westin Key West
Key West Westin
Sunset Key Cottages Guest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing