We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay anywhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunset Key Cottages
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Kissimmee, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay anywhere else”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Great place, great location. Love watching the tarpon at night by the dock. Staff very attentive. Would give it 5 stars but the restaurant brings the place down ( Been there a couple of times and its just ok. )

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovetheBeach36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. All reviews are passed along to staff for training and improvement purposes.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    131
    55
    24
    22
See reviews for
276
212
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We loved the location--a quick boat ride to the heart of Key West (I found keeping to the ferry schedule a bit stressful, but no one else in my family did so there you go) but a lovely place to relax. Our "cottage" was wonderful.
Certain amenities were delightful--especially the morning muffin basket, the afternoon bottled water and OJ delivery. My family also loved the pool and whirlpools.
Breakfast outside at Latitudes was a true luxury (so much so that dinner there was not as big a deal because we enjoyed it so often).The staff there was fabulous. My son caught a huge fish on a fishing trip and they very nicely prepared it for lunch and the waiter made a big deal. The bartenders at the Latitudes bar and the pool bar were also very pleasant.
If you are used to tropical vacations and perhaps also familiar with Key West, this is your place. We do not have that background. We felt a bit on our own when deciding on the best things to do and where to eat. The concierges had lots of brochures but did not provide much guidance. They were happy to make reservations for us for any activity or restaurant, but it felt as though they had been trained, not like they really knew.
Because it is a unique property in Key West, I wouldn't let this keep me from staying there, but I was glad we came armed with restaurant and activity recommendations from the friend of a friend.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Maybeinerror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. All reviews are passed along to the staff for training and improvement purposes. Thanks again for taking the time to write this review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Caveat: this is a review of Sunset Key during Christmas week, the busiest week of the year.

This is a gorgeous Westin property. The location is perfect: near enough to Key West to easily enjoy it but not in the hubbub. The ferry is terrific: always on time and a just long-enough ride to enjoy yourself but not regret that you're staying on Sunset Key. The cottages are great: airy and large and filled with conveniences. The grounds are beautiful. Latitudes Restaurant has delicious food at breakfast and dinner, and the bar has great "snacks." The breakfast baskets are filled with wonderful pastries. The newspaper is delivered to your door -- even the NYTimes if you want it. The Saturday morning yoga-on-the-beach is very well done. And the sunset views from the dock are magical.

So, what's the downside? The very inconsistent service. It all started when we arrived at the main Westin and the young man checking us in argued with my husband about his SPG status. Really? It took three go-rounds to get our bill right at checkout. Why? They kept charging us for valet parking even though we didn't have a car. One time our pre-ordered airport taxi was there; one time it wasn't. Most "interesting?" Our dinner reservation for December 25 was made at a restaurant that is closed on Christmas. Fortunately, when we called back to the concierge on duty he was able to get us a table at the last minute. Yes, they want you to have an excellent experience, but my sense is that some of the staff doesn't yet have the experience to handle the job. And in a small place -- 40 cottages -- there may not be backup staff to help out.

On the other hand, Dan L. -- at Latitudes -- is one of the best waiters we've ever had.

None of the problems we encountered -- and there are more -- are deal-breakers, but when a guest is paying the rates at Sunset Key, then the guest doesn't expect any hitches.

Bottom line: I look forward going back. Just not during the busiest week of the year.

Room Tip: Sand Key cottage is very well situated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CDinDC20009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, the grounds and the amenities we offer. All reviews are passed along to the staff for training and improvement purposes. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back to Sunset Key in the future!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Bungalows are nice for families & friends. The beach is 50m from the pool....view the sailboats or kids playing Marco Polo. The island is a 6 minute boat ride, close to Duvall Street, which is the main drag in Key West. Unique setting.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for the positive review. It is always nice to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

This is avery nice hotel with a sandy beaches and very spacious cottages. The swimming area is nice as well with a few jacuzzies. The restaurant provides very tasty dishes and people from the main island come for dinner. It has a very romantic bar where you can have a drink before or after dinner with the views of atlantic, palms , sand and all that.
You get a complimentary chocolate, water and orange juice each night for each person, so that was nice.
Included breakfast is kind of a joke, but funny joke, because you get each morning on the porch two pieces of sweet cake, two muffins, an apple and an orange in the basket:))) coffee is complimentary provided in the room, by the way the rooms are all with bedroom, living room, porch and kitchen and two bathrooms. And they have seaview and garden view cottages even for couples.
It is a boat ride but it goes every half an hour.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank L A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return visit!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

i stayed here over thanksgiving with a couple of friends. we reserved a two-bedroom partial oceanview cottage for four nights, and it was spectacular. this resort is expensive, but worth it in my opinion if you want a cottage for a few nights...

we flew into key west and took a taxi directly to the Westin Key West Resort where we checked-in (per the instructions given to us on the spg.com website). it only took a few minutes to check-in - we received our cottage assignment and we were directed to the boat launch and were advised that we would be met on sunset key and accompanied to our cottage by resort staff. the boat ride over really set the tone for a great island getaway right off key west.

upon docking, we were met by a resort staff member who accompanied us to our cottage, pointed out all of the features, and made sure we had everything we needed. the cottage was spectacular - we had great views and it felt quite private. the colors were very soothing and relaxing. the two bedroom cottage had a room with a king bed and a room with two queen beds - each had their own bathrooms. there was a pull-out sofa in the living room and another bathroom. the seating area in the living room was comfortable. there was also a clean kitchen and a dining area. my favorite feature, however, was the wrap around porch with plenty of rocking chairs to sit and enjoy the tropical air. it was great to have space and an actual cottage instead of being in a hotel room. and although we only used the kitchen for the coffee maker and the fridge, it was again a good option. although there were some minor upkeep issues that needed to be done in the cottage (a hole on the bathroom door backstop, a missing decorative piece of the shutters, and so forth), i found the cottage to generally be in good shape. i am sure the cottages get some real wear and tear by the guests. i slept very well every evening - a very comfortable bed. a big bonus is that each room has an individually controlled A/C unit, so i was able to get my room to be as cold as an ice box.

the island itself was very relaxing. we enjoyed time by both the pool and beach, and we were offered service immediately in both places. the hot tubs were great to soak in at the end of the day, and we enjoyed walking around the island for exercise. i highly recommend going to the very west end of the island to watch sunset - it was gorgeous.

latitudes, the restaurant on the island, served a great breakfast - i love dining al fresco - and i am sure had a great lunch and dinner although we opted to go into town for other meals. the launch was every 30 minutes and we enjoyed being whisked back and forth from sunset key.

we did not need much interaction with the staff and cannot comment other than to say everyone was accommodating upon any request. one day our room was not cleaned until late in the day, but it was not an issue - we were there to relax and enjoy ourselves. we appreciated that we felt we were in a private home and could do what we wanted when we wanted.

this definitely is not the place for everyone, but if your idea of a great vacation is just relaxing in a cottage with friends or family, i cannot recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for the positive review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 685 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Let me introduce myself as a seasoned traveler who has stayed in some of the most luxurious hotels of the world (Aman, Four Seasons, Banyan tree, Rosewood, Como, to name a few). When travelling, I like to pick my hotels by using websites such as Kiwicollection, Conde Nast magazine, Travel & Leisure (see my other reviews). So I only like the best of the best. This resort is not one of them (and should not be listed among the SPG category 7 hotels).

I expected my stay to be the grand finale of our Florida holiday (after stays at the W hotel south Beach and incredible St Regis Bal Harbor), but it was not. I cannot believe that SPG labels this as a category 7 hotel. Granted, the location on a private island is beautiful, and the on site restaurant is terrific (one of the best meals I ever enjoyed), but apart from that, we were confronted with an absolute lack of service:
- upon arrival at the island, nobody was there to greet us and we were completely confused as to where to check in.
- at the beach, service was non-existing for the 2 consecutive days that we were there. At a given point, we wanted to order some snacks, and finally after one hour a waiter appeared near our lounge chairs, but he told us that he had just finished his duty and could not take orders anymore. The staff absolutely needs more training.
- when we returned from the beach at 4 pm at our cottage, the room was not cleaned yet and the beds not made up. Totally not acceptable. We had to phone the operator to send someone over to clean the room. No apologies whatsoever.
- the sound of multiple lawnmowers immediately around the pool for more then 3 hours at midday during one of our 2 days on the island, was not acceptable. We came for rest, but we were totally irritated by this.
- wife was very variable (seems like a minor thing, but it is not when one is paying 100 USD resort fee per day).
- the pool decor is that of a mediocre 3 to 4 star hotel. Not 5 stars at all.
- to top things off, at check out, our bill included phone calls for more than 300 USD, while we had not made one single phone call while on the island. The staff at the front desk removed the charges (without apologies).

All by all, I think that this resort needs an urgent training of its staff and management. I also think that SPG should not longer include this in its list of SPG 7 category hotels (a category 5 hotel would be more appropriate). I spend more than 500 USD per night, and it certainly was not worth the experience at all (I even feel bad I spent that amount of money on this 3 to 4 star hotel).

If you do travel to the keys, and you want to stay on a luxurious island, your only choice is Little Palm Island. This will cost you a little more per night (100 to 200 USD) but the experience is so much more better, memorable and exclusive.

As an SPG platinum member, I can not recommend this hotel to my fellow travelers (except for its restaurant). I expect that the manager will comment on this review and stress the positive aspects of the hotel (restaurant) besides offering apologies for the bad experience, but it is such a pitty that nothing will be done to genuinly compensate for this bad experience, or to change the attitude of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
33 Thank LuxTravelExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.5 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
2.5 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#14 of 51 in Key West
2,590 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Key Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Key Cottages

Property: Sunset Key Cottages
Address: 245 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#6 Spa Hotel in Key West
#8 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Key Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Key Cottages is a secluded tropical island sanctuary located just 500 yards off the coast of Key West, featuring private cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset Key Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Key Guest Cottages, a Westin Hotel Key West
Westin Key West
Key West Westin
Sunset Key Cottages Guest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing