We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our New Favorite Destination - 5+”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunset Key Cottages
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our New Favorite Destination - 5+”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Recently my wife and I had the pleasure of staying at Sunset Key in Key West Florida. This was truly a 5+ star experience.

A short boat ride from the mainland brought us to our destination and ran every half hour. The resort was immaculate, the staff professional and extremely friendly and helpful, as were the guests and owners on the property.

Our room was wonderful with a beautifully decorated living room, fully applianced kitchen and spacious bedroom. The room was stocked with my favorite wines and many beverage options.

The pool and pool bar were respectfully quiet. We enjoyed the two hot tubs and had the pleasure to meet and enjoy the company of many guests. The main restaurant Latitudes offered many dining options and we had the pleasure to enjoy our dinner beach side surrounded by torch lighting.

But the true highlight of our experience was the muffin man who delivered a beautiful basket of assorted muffins and fresh fruits to our doorstep each morning.

This was one of our favorite destinations and we will return often.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    131
    55
    24
    22
See reviews for
276
212
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This was our 2nd trip in 2 years - just a long weekend. Such a peaceful and secluded ambiance.. if you are looking for wild & crazy.. it's over in Key West - this place is for peace, quiet & seclusion. Our cottage was a 2BR/3Bath - small full kitchen w/dining area and front room with pull out couch. We had 5 people... one slept on the pull out. Cottage was clean without any problems. They bring you a basket of bread & fruit in the morning - orange juice & water @ night. Enjoyed Latitudes only for Breakfast - food was excellent and order was accurate. Dan (aka Johnny B Good) has a great sense of humor (thank you!). There are only a couple things that keep me from giving it the 5 stars it SHOULD have - especially for what you should expect. 1 - used the gym (nice equipment) NO antiseptic wipes anywhere! - had to use a paper towel and cool water to wipe down equipment (yuck) - very unexpected from a place of this caliber.. 2 - the bedrooms have small shutters - they light up as soon as the sun is up and stay lit up at night by the street lamps.. would like to see something more light blocking - especially @ night. We will return & hopefully 1 and 2 will be gone!!

Room Tip: I don't think you can get a bad cottage here - the locations are all full or partial ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Krazybcuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your vacation on Sunset Key and the amenities we offer. We do have antiseptic wipes in the fitness center. It is mounted to the wall and looks like a paper dispenser next to the water cooler toward the back right side of the center. Thanks again for taking the time to write this review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the two bedroom Bimini cottage directly on the beach. We enjoyed sitting on the front porch eating dinner and listening to the ocean. We also loved that breakfast is delivered in a picnic basket to your cottage every morning.
The beach is very private and has hammocks and beach huts for your enjoyment.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chad-Camilla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this positive review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I was soooo excited when my husband finally agreed to go to Lattitudes for lunch after 6 years for my birthday on Saturday, November 16. We came at 2:15pm and after being given nasty glares from the resort guests (ritzy) on the boat ride over I was certain my experienxe would change for the better. Boy was I wrong! My expectations were well within reason. All I had hoped for was a spectacular view, 5* service and an enjoyable lunch with my husband. To start, the boat captain was stale. No persoanble hi welcome or whatnot. Then the dock was being fixed so we were welcomed to sawing and hammering. We had to ask where to be sat. Again, fail! The host was kind nut once we were sat we were forgotten. Of several tables available we were planted next to a loud group of men. We sat unattended for 15 minutes before a rude waiter walked over and unapologetically said he was busy so sorry he was late. He then abruptly barked for us to give our order. He xame back with our drinks and thought it was funny when he couldnt remember who got what to drink. Our food xame out fine and tasted okay. Expected it to be better considering our bill was nearly $75 for lunch and non alcoholic beverages. I was completely disappointed with my entire experience minus the company of my husband. Needless to say I will not return, and as an individual who works in the tourist industry in key west (local) I will not refer anyone to this establishment. I much prefer the professional, high quality experience at little palm island. Tip: get a staff renovation for your restaurant. Anyone who works in the industry knows its a team effort. The fact that no one met our basic needs means everyone failed.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank linze1116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We have never been to the Key West area before so when some friends from Florida suggested we go there, but stay on the private island of Sunset Key, it was perfect. Key West can be chaotic, noisy and crowded so when we were ready to "escape", we got on the shuttle boat and returned to the quiet of the island. The complimentary morning breakfast breads and juice were adequate but if you wanted more, you could go to the 5 star restaurant, Latitudes. After a busy day in town, the pool cafe and bar was fun and relaxing. We also had a wonderful dinner at Latitudes (with sunset) and it was one of the best we had. There were 3 couples in our group and we had a 3 bedroom cottage with full kitchen and living room. You could cook but we didn't because of all of the outstanding restaurants in Key West. Bedrooms were very comfortable and all had a private bathroom. I highly recommend this place and will go back.

Room Tip: All cottages are great. The ones with the garden view instead of the beach view are just as good and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mamasans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

A few years ago my wife and I came to Key West for our first trip and really enjoyed the environment. We have been back to Key West 5 or 6 six times and have stayed at the Sunset Key Cottages several times. Sunset Key is one of our favorite hotels in the US. The cottages are excellent. You can relax on the porch eating your complimentary breakfast breads and listen to the Gulf or relax inside with all the amenities (and more) of home.The cottages are well decorated and the beds are extremely comfortable. Even the "garden view" cottages are a 1-2 minute walk to your private beach. Latitudes is a five-star restaurant on the island with unbelievable food. MY wife has to go to the spa every trip.The Room service food is also outstanding. Key West is a great place but can get a little chaotic. Sunset Key is the perfect place to stay because it allows you to get away from the chaos and enjoy complete peace and relaxation. We are going back to Sunset in two weeks and can't wait!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

A beautiful property. This is an ideal place for someone who wants privacy and a beach, which are often hard to come by on the main island of key west. The property itself is that of a 4-5 star resort, however the service is lacking in every facet. Gardeners do not smile when you walk by. On multiple occasions our towel was taken off our beach chair when we got off for only a few moments, followed by a scow when we asked to leave it. The bathrooms in our room were not as clean as one would like. The beach does not appear to ever be cleaned, multiple cigarette buts and straws on the ground. There was no assistance taking our bags from the cottage to the transfer boat when we left, which is annoying when your wife is also pregnant. I would return if I wanted some peace and quiet for a day in key west and would not pay more than 250 night, otherwise I would spend my cash at another island oasis.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank erik o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. All reviews are passed along to staff for training and improvement purposes.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.5 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
2.5 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#14 of 51 in Key West
2,588 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Key Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Key Cottages

Property: Sunset Key Cottages
Address: 245 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#6 Spa Hotel in Key West
#8 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Key Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Key Cottages is a secluded tropical island sanctuary located just 500 yards off the coast of Key West, featuring private cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunset Key Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Key Guest Cottages, a Westin Hotel Key West
Westin Key West
Key West Westin
Sunset Key Cottages Guest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing