We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Upgraded first night, great!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West
Ranked #24 of 48 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Upgraded first night, great!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Upgraded first night when they were overbooked for suites at hotel. Was great! Only issue was waiting for ferry at end of night when you are tired and just want to go bed.....was a great place, Westin owns 1/3 of island, private owners have the balance. Again, absolutey fantastic, especially for a family or older people who want to avoid to hustle of Key West. Sunset Key is wonderful! Would recommend to anyone!!

Room Tip: Any cottage is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharron24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for the positive review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    119
    50
    23
    20
See reviews for
221
185
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I recently went Lattitudes for my 40th Birthday dinner. Everything was amazing, the food, the service, the view... I even loved the fact we had to take a boat ride to get to the island. This place is first class. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aval3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Just a short boat ride off the end of Key West to forget it all.

Relaxation is what it's all about. The zero entry pool and pool bar are great for just hanging out.

The restaurant Latitudes is first class. Food exquisite though pricey. Ride over to KW for some play time then return for some sanity.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FLfoodguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return visit!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We came here for our 20th anniversary (without the kids) and I think we could not have made a better choice. It's easy to recommend this place. If possible, choose a cabin by the beach. If you like an island charm, but yet don't want to be far away form the fun and hype of the Key West night life, this is your choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndHubner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for the positive review. It's always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Very pretty and luxurious but bad customer service. Worth the price with a beautiful beach and free calapas. Great room service food. The workers cause many problems and are careless- wiping sweat all over your personal belongings and soiling them. Also, many staff are extremely creepy.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbbondanzaIsFowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for reviewing our resort. All reviews are passed along to staff for training and improvement purposes.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had originally booked a 2 bedroom suite at the Westin Resort, right on the Marina. Upon check in, we spoke with "Bryan" at the Front Desk. Picking up on his lovely Irish accent, I commented that I knew he wasn't from around here. As we struck up a wonderful conversation, he asked if we had been in Key West before. I explained we visited the island last year but had a horrible experience at the Casa Marina but were looking forward to staying at their hotel. We conversed some more, he stepped away and returned with a backpack for our son. How sweet! We were admiring the Sunset Key poster in the lobby when Bryan returned and flagged me over, he said "how would you like to stay there, same price?". I was shocked, it took a while to sink in but we were upgraded to SunSet Key in a great 2 bedroom cottage for the same price as the 2 bedroom suite in the hotel (of course we checked, prices were not the same between the two). I told Byran things like this NEVER happen to us. We couldn't have Thanked him enough. Later that evening, after a walk around the island, we returned to our cottage to find a bottle of Champage and a plate of chocolate covered strawberries, with a note that read "Good things happen to good people". I made it a point to head back to the front desk the next day and express our appreciation to Bryan in person. Service was fabulous, you get waters and orange juices delivered each evening and a wonderful basket of fresh fruit, muffins and breads each morning! Housekeeping rocked, rooms were super clean. We ended up staying 2 extra days, we just didnt want to leave! The beach is great, private, quiet with drink/food service and it was super. Concierge supplies you with fishing gear and bait if you want to fish off the docks, no charge. Walking around the island is awesome, no cars, all the streets are in pavers and the private homes beautiful. Lattitudes, the only 5 star restaurant on the island was super. I simply cannot say enough great things about this place, our experience, everything. Money WELL spent! Bryan is a super-star, we've told everyone we know about what an awesome experience this was. I'll return again and again.....and again!!!!

Room Tip: The cottages are great size, the bedrooms are huge with their own private bathrooms. you wont be dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for the positive review! It is always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

5 mins by the hotel boat across to the island, which is a manicured tropical island. Beaches a bit limited, but then the keys isn't great for beaches - must be the currents. Restaurant good, although massive portions. Good burgers for lunch, plus other good things. Dinner menu a bit too fussy. Beach house great, like a luxury Westin resort should be with nice furnishings. Communal pool good for families with sloping shallow end for kids. Good for families.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marksteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for the positive review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.5 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.0 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#2 of 48 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#12 of 48 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 2,068 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West

Property: Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West
Address: 245 Front St, Key West, FL 33040-8313 (Formerly Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#7 Spa Hotel in Key West
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#10 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, is a secluded tropical island sanctuary located just 500 yards off the coast of Key West, featuring private cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Jetsetter and Hotwire so you can book your Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Key Guest Cottages, a Westin Hotel Key West
Westin Key West
Key West Westin
Sunset Key Cottages Guest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing