We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fabulous trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sunset Key Cottages
Ranked #22 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
avalon, n.j.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“fabulous trip”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I visited the resort with a group of girlfriends. We were celebrating a milestone birthday.
the 3 bedroom cottage was roomy and well appointed. The resort on the overall is a perfect place to get away from reality. Very peaceful with subtle luxury. Worth every penny.

Visit the spa and have a massage with Channel. She truly has a gift.

Room Tip: We had a cottage near the pool. It was in close proximity to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onetheroadagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    127
    54
    24
    21
See reviews for
253
202
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had booked our 5 night stay at the Sheraton, but after a rough night, we ended up transferring to Sunset Key. The gentleman at the reception desk was so helpful and soon we were on a boat over to Sunset Key. The boat runs very regularly, so you are never trapped on the island or stranded on Key West. The ride is an enjoyable 10 minutes of gorgeous views and fresh ocean air (or you can sit in the air-conditioned cabin).

We stayed in the most amazing little cottage (Sand Dollar), right on the beach. It was pretty big for just the two of us! Two full bathrooms, separate bedroom, living room, kitchen and patio with seating for 2. There were two entrances to the cottage: One in the back, which has a paved path that leads to the pool, reception and restaurant and one that opens onto the patio, which is right on the beach. There are lots of beach chairs and a dock to swim to.

Every morning, a basket of fresh baked goods and fruit is dropped off on every patio, before 9 AM and free of charge. Delicious muffins, banana bread...wonderful.

Such a great place to check in and chill out for a few days. We did go over to Duval Street a few times during our stay (which was chaos), but we found ourselves wanting to come back to the peacefulness of our little cottage.

I cannot stress how wonderful of a time we had here - we will return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelEatPrayLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thanks for the review! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,
.
Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Myers
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

When I found out we were staying here I was skeptical at first . This property is on an island just minutes away from Key West . I soon changed my mind . It was awesome . First class all the way . Great service . Relaxing atmosphere . We stayed in a two bedroom cottage .A continental breakfast was delivered to our door every morning . The boat ride was not a problem . . We seldom had to wait over five to ten minutes . Had lunch by the ocean . The food was very good . Just a perfect weekend .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for the positive review! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We traveled to Key West and decided to stay at the cottages on Sunset Key. This resort is probably the best experience we have ever had as regards accomodations, resturant and lounge. Every morning there was a basket at the front door or our cottage containing homemade Muffins & Biscuts second to none. The staff was outstanding and could not do enough for you. The pool was excellent and the beach was pristine. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Cottages surrounding the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest:

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Sunset Key and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We recently got married at Sunset Key. Staying at the cottages was a little out of our price range, so we stayed at the Resort & Marina and took the ferry over to the ceremony. The room there was fine, but having seen the beautiful cottages, I now long to stay on this cute little island.

First, let me say that Erin (the Director of Catering) rocks. She was super to work with -- despite the fact that we had a very small ceremony (immediate family only), she was on top of all the necessary details, including arranging special transport for my mother, who has some mobility issues. More importantly, I didn't feel for a second like a second-class citizen. Sunset Key, like many venues, charges based on the number of guests, so our ceremony was not a huge money maker for them. Given this, I really appreciated her attentiveness to our event and her numerous helpful suggestions. She was, in a word, lovely, throughout the entire process.

Second, the site itself is spectacular. Sailboats, a sunset, a beautiful dock -- what more could you want? Also, taking the ferry over also made the whole experience seem a little special/exclusive, without being too much of a strain on our parents. After the ceremony, we had numerous parts of the island available for photos, which was an extra bonus.

Third, Latitudes, where we had dinner, was amazing. Our table of 9 watched the sun slip into the ocean and then dined on fantastic food and wine. When the cake came out, it had sparklers on it, which was a great touch.

Simply put, I could not have asked for a better wedding. It was exactly what I had imagined/hoped for -- simple, elegant, and relaxing. Thanks to Erin and Latitudes for making our wedding perfect!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RLMDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for the great review and we will make sure to pass this along to Erin and the Latitudes team! Congratulations on your wedding and we hope you will come back and visit us again soon!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at Sunset Key Guest cottages with 2 other couples. We had a 3 bed/3.5 bath cottage. It was next to the beach and it was absolutely lovely. Muffins, water, and juice were brought to our cottage every morning. We had no problem getting the shuttle back and forth to Key West. Yes, it is upscale and you pay for it but it was well worth it. Great pool with a bar. Drink and food service on the beach. Really lovely!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKW-AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for the good review! It is always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverly, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very beautiful resort with gorgeous 3 bedroom villa. EXTREMELY expensive though! Went with my mother and sister and 3 girlfriends for a girls week and was very disappointed on the noise level during the day and in the middle of the night. For an island with "no cars", it sounded like the dump truck was pulling up right outside our villa every night around 1 am to collect bottles. During the day listening to the constant sounds of airplanes, cruise ship horns, and yelling kids (when trying to relax by the small pool), was very annoying. So annoying and frustrating in fact (given the thousands of dollars we spent to stay there), that we will NOT be returning.

The Lattitudes Restaurant was amazing, although pricey, it was worth it. Overall, the island is gorgeous, beautiful sunsets, etc. Just extremely noisy and not as relaxing as we had hoped.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amber K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed dinner at Latitudes and the beauty of Sunset Key. All comments are passed along to the staff for training and improvement purposes. Thanks again for taking the time to write this review.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.5 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.9 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
2.5 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#12 of 51 in Key West
2,479 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#19 of 51 in Key West
2,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Key Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Key Cottages

Property: Sunset Key Cottages
Address: 245 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#6 Spa Hotel in Key West
#8 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Key Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Key Cottages is a secluded tropical island sanctuary located just 500 yards off the coast of Key West, featuring private cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset Key Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Key Guest Cottages, a Westin Hotel Key West
Westin Key West
Key West Westin
Sunset Key Cottages Guest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing