We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Week”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Key Cottages
Ranked #21 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Week”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at Sunset Key Guest cottages with 2 other couples. We had a 3 bed/3.5 bath cottage. It was next to the beach and it was absolutely lovely. Muffins, water, and juice were brought to our cottage every morning. We had no problem getting the shuttle back and forth to Key West. Yes, it is upscale and you pay for it but it was well worth it. Great pool with a bar. Drink and food service on the beach. Really lovely!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKW-AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for the good review! It is always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    129
    55
    24
    22
See reviews for
269
212
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waverly, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very beautiful resort with gorgeous 3 bedroom villa. EXTREMELY expensive though! Went with my mother and sister and 3 girlfriends for a girls week and was very disappointed on the noise level during the day and in the middle of the night. For an island with "no cars", it sounded like the dump truck was pulling up right outside our villa every night around 1 am to collect bottles. During the day listening to the constant sounds of airplanes, cruise ship horns, and yelling kids (when trying to relax by the small pool), was very annoying. So annoying and frustrating in fact (given the thousands of dollars we spent to stay there), that we will NOT be returning.

The Lattitudes Restaurant was amazing, although pricey, it was worth it. Overall, the island is gorgeous, beautiful sunsets, etc. Just extremely noisy and not as relaxing as we had hoped.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amber K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed dinner at Latitudes and the beauty of Sunset Key. All comments are passed along to the staff for training and improvement purposes. Thanks again for taking the time to write this review.

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIAMI BEACH
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I highly recommend getting one of their cottages directly on the beach. I think that made all the difference, being able to walk out and hit sand, and having the ocean 30 feet from our door. Spectacular views of Key West, as well as lots of beautiful boats anchored in the gulf, and of course an unobstructed view of the sunset. The boats to and from the island take less than 10 minutes and run perfectly on schedule. This was a great experience!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WillVenture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest:

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay on Sunset Key and look forward to your return visit!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Sunset Key Guest Cottages - located on a private island - Sunset Key. Key West is very fun and festive but can be a little too crowded, busy and loud .... so board the Sunset Key fairy and escape to paradise at the Sunset Key Cottages!! The property is a beautiful resort that is maintained immaculately and the staff is very attentive and helpful! The restaurant, Latitudes, is great food and right on the beach - so the view is fabulous! Request a cottage on the side of the docks - oceanfront - and you will see some of the most "stunning sunsets" in North America! Add a glass of wine - sit on your private porch or directly on the beach - watch the stunning sunsets and you have paradise!! My only reason I did not give Sunset Key Cottages 5 stars is because of their housekeeping staff ..... the cottages are very clean but their turndown and evening cleaning was not consistant or appropriately for such a fine property.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FF4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay on Sunset Key and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Fe, California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We just got back from staying 3 nights here & I can't wait to return! Having never been to the Keys I did not know what to expect & was a little disconcerted at trekking down a dock with my bags, then boarding a boat to Sunset Key.What a relaxing experience! The staff without exception was friendly & helpful. Our 2 bedroom, 3 bath cottage (Lazy Dreams) was perfectly outfitted & extremely comfortable. It had every amenity - nothing overlooked.The only thing I might add would be to change out the hall closet for a small washer - dryer unit. I noticed it already has plumbing. The grounds are beautiful, beach is very rocky. I will bring aqua shoes next trip as entering or leaving the beach is painful & I am now trying to dislodge a rock from my sole. The concierge staff could not have been more accommodating, getting us bait & fishing poles twice. Pool bar staff makes great drinks. One thing that pleasantly surprised me about this venue is that the costs were quite reasonable. A drink was about $10, half that in Miami. Food at Lattitudes & room service were also not crazy. Service was also prompt & delicious. Considering how very far down the Keys this resort is, I was not expecting such reasonable prices! I wish the store had sold magazines or books & also think they could have more pricy items available, as their guests are essentially captive (until the boat comes) & affluent. Thank you for a wonderful stay! See you next time!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HinRSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest:

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay on Sunset Key and look forward to your return visit!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Even before we arrived Justin Earl and his team made sure that our party of 5 had everything in line to have a wonderful vacation. First time I've worked with concierge that took their time and were genuinely sweet. After ten minutes in our newly remodeled 3 bedroom cottage, our group had already decided we are coming back next year. Complementary breakfast with breads, muffins, fruits, water and orange juice really starts the morning off on a good note. I do want to mention that if you have a picky eater like we do, order groceries ahead of time as the kids menu on the resort is pretty limited. As a family that sleeps in we were amazed that on Spring Break there were pool chairs at 9am. That's a first for any location I've been to. If you're looking for a fun family location this is it. The location is peaceful and relaxing but you have all the fun activities and shopping just a short ferry ride away. This was the best hotel experience I have ever had!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bmcgett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write this review! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return visit!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from our 2nd time staying at Sunset Key and it was just as excellent as previous stays. The staff is very helpful and accomodating. You can't ask for a better location, away from all the bars and crowds when it's time to rest. I would recommend Sunset Key to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikelht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonKeyWest, Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for posting such a positive review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return visit!

Warm regards,

Lourdes Torbisco
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.5 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
2.5 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#12 of 51 in Key West
2,558 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Key Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Key Cottages

Property: Sunset Key Cottages
Address: 245 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#6 Spa Hotel in Key West
#9 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Key Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Key Cottages is a secluded tropical island sanctuary located just 500 yards off the coast of Key West, featuring private cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunset Key Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Key Guest Cottages, a Westin Hotel Key West
Westin Key West
Key West Westin
Sunset Key Cottages Guest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing