We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (757)
Filter reviews
757 results
Traveler rating
505
147
59
24
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
505
147
59
24
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bedroom cottage the cottages private island breakfast basket minute ferry ride three bedroom every morning tennis courts zero entry full bathrooms concierge staff every half hour always on time your luggage beach service partial ocean view ocean front
Filter
Updating list...
495 - 500 of 757 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The accommodations are wonderful. A perfect match for the laid back Key West style. Excellent staff who see to your every need. Traveling with two kids and three adults was no problem with a two bedroom cottage. The beach area was meticulous and relaxing. A water shuttle provides transport to Key West proper and runs every 30 minutes. The island is situated far enough off shore that the revelry of Duvall St doesn't detract from the serenity of the waves splashing against the beach.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Macgregor64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thanks - we aim for perfection! Please come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We just stayed with our 5 year old son. The food and service on the island was outstanding. The island itself is beautiful and serene. The pool is a large size for the relatively small resort with plenty of lower depths for new swimmers or loungers. The two hot tubs are great. The cottage we had was well laid out. It was nicely appointed but a little bit tired. Getting back and forth to Key West is easy. I was worried we would be trapped on the island, but it was as convenient on Sunset Key as any of the nice hotels in Key West. The biggest complaint I have is that each room had a loud in-wall air conditioning unit that turned on and off all night long. They woke us all up on several occasions. I also wished that they would have had a place to get coffee in the morning before sitting at the restaurant. That being said, it is a special place...almost perfect.

Room Tip: Hard to go wrong.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We pass along all reviews to all staff for training and improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

First time at Sunset Key in December. It is a gorgeous little island just a short 10-minute ferry ride from the heart of Key West (scheduled ferry leaves every 30 minutes from the island and from Key West until pretty late at night and then smaller boat takes you after hours). Stayed in a two-bedroom cottage with 3 full bathrooms (so your visitors don't have to go into your room) and a small but full kitchen. Full-size fridge you can stock yourself if you want to haul things from the mainland. Daily AM free delivery of various breads, muffins, apples and oranges. Starbucks coffee provided that you can make for free. Great private porch where you can start your morning. We stayed right next to the pool, which is lovely and also has 2 hot tubs (didn't see a posted close time, which might be nice addition at least for the hot-tub which one night had some late-night partiers just outside our bedroom windows...). Registered Sunset Key guests can bring others over to the island on the ferry, but the whole experience is very private and super classy.

The restaurant on the island is absolutely fabulous. Great wine list and each course was better than the next and perfectly prepared! Nothing is easy on the wallet, but for a treat the restaurant and the views from it are just fabulous.

Another great unadvertised amenity is the island lockers with two full bathrooms. We had a morning checkout but an evening flight. The wonderful staff let us put our bags in the lockers right by the main house and the ferry launch and gave us key card access. After a day at the Sunset Key beach and pool, we could take a relaxing shower and get cleaned up for our departure. That made our last day really great!

Key West has a ton of cruise ship traffic that blocks a large part of your view if in Key West during the day. Being on the island across the way, with its private beach, was completely removed from the cruise ship world and the thousands of tourists on 'em.

As advertised, sunsets in Key West are just beautiful and are worth scheduling your day around. Would recommend a stay at the Sunset Key Cottages. A first-rate experience!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank capitolSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you so much - sounds like you enjoyed yourself thoroughly. We hope you join us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We are long time fans of Sunset Key! We used to visit the island on a regular basis when our kids were little. We have many happy memories of family vacations on this beautiful and unique island. But came back recently and brought our best friends. Just a couple's trip and it was amazing. The island was decorated for the holidays and the service and was supreme. After an error with our booking from the Westin Rep on the 1-800-number, the concierge Jenny had it straightened out quickly and went out of her way to take care of us. She had a bottle of chapagne and a cheese tray waiting for us in our cottage. I would highly recommend calling the concierge (Jenny) directly when booking your reservation. The island has a new, larger restaurant with beautiful views and the new spa and workout room are also wonderful. The service was as good as it always was and our waiter on the beach was great! We are already planning our trip for next year! FIVE STARS!

Room Tip: I would call the concierge and have her advise on you on which cottage would be best for you. Do you want more privacy? An ocean view? Or closer to the pool for kids? As I said, the concierge was very helpful!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daytoncouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you for your review, for being repeat guests and for mentioning staff by name. Glad you had a great time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

As a SPG Lifetime Platinum member, I usually receive an upgraded room when I stay at a Starwoods property. This stay was especially appreciated since I treated family members who stayed as my gift at the Sunset Key West resort, associated with the Westin Key West.

I paid for their stay and the hotel delivered. No hassles. The general manager, Diane S., responded immediately to my request for these two deserving guests. Thank you, Diane, at the Westin Key West, for making this a perfect present for me. My family truly loved their stay-- the cottage, the room, food and the ambiance. I am grateful that they received the same great service that I always do.

Room Tip: Trust the reservations desk staff to help you choose the perfect room choice based on your price range and needs.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thinkalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Thank you for your review and for mentioning staff by name. We are thrilled that you enjoyed all aspects of your experience and hope to see you and your family again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews