We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Service When It Counts---They Delivered!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
West Kingston, RI
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Service When It Counts---They Delivered!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

As a SPG Lifetime Platinum member, I usually receive an upgraded room when I stay at a Starwoods property. This stay was especially appreciated since I treated family members who stayed as my gift at the Sunset Key West resort, associated with the Westin Key West.

I paid for their stay and the hotel delivered. No hassles. The general manager, Diane S., responded immediately to my request for these two deserving guests. Thank you, Diane, at the Westin Key West, for making this a perfect present for me. My family truly loved their stay-- the cottage, the room, food and the ambiance. I am grateful that they received the same great service that I always do.

Room Tip: Trust the reservations desk staff to help you choose the perfect room choice based on your price ran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thinkalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your review and for mentioning staff by name. We are thrilled that you enjoyed all aspects of your experience and hope to see you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    122
    50
    24
    20
See reviews for
230
191
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Very lovely cabins on a private island. Short ferry ride from Key West and very close to the action.
Great location if you want privacy and quite but a short ride to the hustle and bustle of Duval street.
Beach front location. Could use a BBQ for cooking meals. Beds and bedding were fantastic, kitchen could be better equipped. Definitely stay again for the right price. Winds could be higher here than on the east side of KeyWest.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We're so glad you had a nice time. Unfortunately, we are prohibited from providing grills/barbeques due to fire code restrictions. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

We usually go to Turks and Cacios for Thanksgiving....however, we decided to try something new. It was nice being in the US and not having to worry about passports for everyone....However, the flying time was no different than going to Turks....
We arrived into Key West and had a very short boat ride to Sunset Key.....Our villa was very nice...right on the ocean which mind you can be a bit breezy...We had a group of 12 so we had 2 villa's..They both had kitchens and beileve it or not I was disapointed because we didn't have a full cooking kitchen...We had a microwave and a cooktop and full fridge...however, no stove, limited cookware and serve ware...we couldn't really cook a full meal if we wanted to but could make Mac and Cheese for kids etc..... traveling with 5 kids this is pretty important to me...also is a washer and dryer and there were neither in our unit....most didn't have them...
We enjoyed the sunsets, spa, fitness facilities, pool and Latitudes.....all very good....I didn't enjoy having to take the boat over to Key West....we did on a limited basis however, I found Key West to be not very kid friendly.....tooo many bad t-shirt's, bar's and drunks.....However, if you plan on staying on Sunset Key with kids it is very nice!!! In the end it isn't Turks and Cacios and we had a new experience....all in all ...I can't give Key West a full thumbs up in the kids department.......

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Packergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your review. We hope you come stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
110 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

I recently stayed here for a week as a second honeymoon for my 25th. Anniversary and a present for my wife who just got done a year long battle with breast cancer. This was her dream trip. This island is amazing. The pool was great and everything satisfied. She is spoiled now. Although there were some minor details in the room cleaning process that needed fixing, they made everything right with one call. Great job!

Room Tip: Every Cottage has its advantages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Got upgraded with wife and three kids from the hotel . The cottage we had overlooked the pool and had three bedrooms - sea mist it was called .
Beautiful linen and very tasteful rooms made it a superb cottage to stay in . The pool area was great as well as the beach area .

Would love to go back there again .

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Duncan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. How lucky! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We made this reservation last minute due to travel plans interrupted by Hurricane Sandy. We arrived, and were eager to get to the Key as we were unaware that is was Fantasy Fest Weekend. Once we shuttled across, a 5 minute boat ride and it was like not being in Key West at all. The service was good, the staff was friendly and accommodating, and our bungalow was cozy and inviting.
I am looking forward to bringing our kids back, for a family weekend in the near future!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kikoandken01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We're so happy you enjoyed your stay and will be coming for a family vacation in the future. At Sunset Key we cater to all types of travelers - families, weddings/honeymoons/romance, girlfriend getaways... we do it all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We were able to make last minute reservations at the Westin and upgraded to the cottages on Sunset Key since our original plans had to change due to hurricane Sandy (we were booked to stay on Paradise Island, Bahamas). When we tried booking sunset key cottages by phone the night before they said they were sold out but when we drove down from Ft. Lauderdale they had some cottages available. We chose to pay for the upgrade anyway, which was exorbitant (because this is the weekend of Fantasy Fest) but the cottage was very private and had a direct view of the ocean. The restaurant on the island 'Latitudes' was very good and service was good overall. If you want a quiet, private and highly exclusive place to stay then Sunset Key is for you. Each day we took the ferry boat over to the mainland we saw dolphins in the harbor and the ferry is operated by the Westin and professionally operated. We had a really nice weekend getaway without the kids.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kikoandken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. While we're sorry your original plans were changed, we're glad that it gave you a chance to experience Sunset Key. We hope you will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.5 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
2.5 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#9 of 49 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,380 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#14 of 49 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West

Property: Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West
Address: 245 Front St, Key West, FL 33040-8313 (Formerly Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#7 Spa Hotel in Key West
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#8 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, is a secluded tropical island sanctuary located just 500 yards off the coast of Key West, featuring private cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Starwood and Jetsetter so you can book your Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Key Guest Cottages, a Westin Hotel Key West
Westin Key West
Key West Westin
Sunset Key Cottages Guest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing