We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West
Ranked #22 of 49 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Got upgraded with wife and three kids from the hotel . The cottage we had overlooked the pool and had three bedrooms - sea mist it was called .
Beautiful linen and very tasteful rooms made it a superb cottage to stay in . The pool area was great as well as the beach area .

Would love to go back there again .

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Duncan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. How lucky! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    121
    50
    24
    20
See reviews for
230
191
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We made this reservation last minute due to travel plans interrupted by Hurricane Sandy. We arrived, and were eager to get to the Key as we were unaware that is was Fantasy Fest Weekend. Once we shuttled across, a 5 minute boat ride and it was like not being in Key West at all. The service was good, the staff was friendly and accommodating, and our bungalow was cozy and inviting.
I am looking forward to bringing our kids back, for a family weekend in the near future!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kikoandken01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We're so happy you enjoyed your stay and will be coming for a family vacation in the future. At Sunset Key we cater to all types of travelers - families, weddings/honeymoons/romance, girlfriend getaways... we do it all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We were able to make last minute reservations at the Westin and upgraded to the cottages on Sunset Key since our original plans had to change due to hurricane Sandy (we were booked to stay on Paradise Island, Bahamas). When we tried booking sunset key cottages by phone the night before they said they were sold out but when we drove down from Ft. Lauderdale they had some cottages available. We chose to pay for the upgrade anyway, which was exorbitant (because this is the weekend of Fantasy Fest) but the cottage was very private and had a direct view of the ocean. The restaurant on the island 'Latitudes' was very good and service was good overall. If you want a quiet, private and highly exclusive place to stay then Sunset Key is for you. Each day we took the ferry boat over to the mainland we saw dolphins in the harbor and the ferry is operated by the Westin and professionally operated. We had a really nice weekend getaway without the kids.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kikoandken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. While we're sorry your original plans were changed, we're glad that it gave you a chance to experience Sunset Key. We hope you will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lufkin, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is our family's favorite "get-away" weekend! We travel to Sunset Key and every opportunity. We have gone as a couple, family and with friends. The resort never fails at providing us with the rest and relaxation we are looking for, and the ferry to the mainland always provides entertainment!

Room Tip: Beachfront is always best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BTHH13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for your review and for being a repeat guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I booked a three-bedroom cottage at the Sunset Key Guest Cottages for one of my best friend's bachelorette party. From the moment we arrived at the Westin for check-in before we boarded the ferry for Sunset Key, we were treated like royalty. The staff at the valet area made certain that our belongings arrived at our cottage safety and soundly. The boat ride to Sunset Key was very pleasant and when we arrived at our cottage we were very impressed by how clean, comfortable, cozy and spacious it was. The staff was constantly on hand to help in any way they could, and the breakfast basket delivered each morning was a welcome surprise. The full kitchen stocked with silverware, plates, napkins, coffee and anything else one could possibly need made our lives so much easier. The beds were unbelievably comfortable, and it was easy to feel right at home. The pool area is extremely pretty, clean and comfortable. I could have stayed at the pool all weekend. The beach area was also wonderful for laying out, but the beach itself is very rocky which made it difficult to enjoy fully. I was also startled when a big "fish" swam right by me that looked strikingly similar to a baby hammerhead shark.

I would without a doubt stay at Sunset Key again. I think it's a wonderful option for a family vacation, or a group of friends looking to enjoy Key West's charm.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StarBrigt7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

You get the best of both worlds with this beautiful property. Secluded, private, quiet, secure accommodations in an absolutely gorgeous setting just a 10 minute boat ride from the fun and quirkiness of Key West.

The 2, 3, and 4 bedroom cottages are lovely and very comfortable, offering a perfect setting for families, groups of friends or a romantic get-a-way. The grounds are beautifully manicured and maintained and the food on property is excellent. Sun worshipers can choose between the pool setting or white sandy beaches.

Single room in the cottages can be “locked out” and are available.

A breakfast of muffins, breads and fruit was delivered t our cottage very morning and water and orange juice very evening. Complimentary coffee and tea is also provided. Cottages have a full kitchen and mini bar offerings.

Room Tip: Cottages on the beach are more expensive (some have their own pool) but you can't go wrong with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grandfatherbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you - please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We have visited Sunset Key several times. It is a special place, old-time Key West, quiet and sophistocated, a short hop from the mania at Mallory Square. The property is very beautiful, understated, and unpretentious. The cottages combine elegance and convenience, while remaining quaint and informal. Most all of the staff is very accommodating and dedicated to service excellence. The main restaurant, Latitudes, is very nice and has an incredible view. The breakfast and lunch options are terrific, and the service is great. However, the dinner menu is overpriced, and the quality on our recent trips has been substandard. As a consequence, we have learned to grab a drink at sunset, and then hop the ferry to old town for dinner. Overall, a really fine resort.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oceantics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your review and for being a repeat guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.5 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
2.5 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#14 of 49 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West

Property: Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West
Address: 245 Front St, Key West, FL 33040-8313 (Formerly Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#7 Spa Hotel in Key West
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#8 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, is a secluded tropical island sanctuary located just 500 yards off the coast of Key West, featuring private cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Key Guest Cottages, a Westin Hotel Key West
Westin Key West
Key West Westin
Sunset Key Cottages Guest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing