We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (753)
Filter reviews
753 results
Traveler rating
502
145
59
25
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
502
145
59
25
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom cottagethe cottagesprivate islandbreakfast basketminute ferry ridethree bedroomevery morningtennis courtszero entryfull bathroomsconcierge staffevery half houralways on timeyour luggagebeach servicepartial ocean viewocean front
Filter
Updating list...
504 - 509 of 753 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2012

You get the best of both worlds with this beautiful property. Secluded, private, quiet, secure accommodations in an absolutely gorgeous setting just a 10 minute boat ride from the fun and quirkiness of Key West.

The 2, 3, and 4 bedroom cottages are lovely and very comfortable, offering a perfect setting for families, groups of friends or a romantic get-a-way. The grounds are beautifully manicured and maintained and the food on property is excellent. Sun worshipers can choose between the pool setting or white sandy beaches.

Single room in the cottages can be “locked out” and are available.

A breakfast of muffins, breads and fruit was delivered t our cottage very morning and water and orange juice very evening. Complimentary coffee and tea is also provided. Cottages have a full kitchen and mini bar offerings.

Room Tip: Cottages on the beach are more expensive (some have their own pool) but you can't go wrong with any location - you are just steps away fro the beach.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grandfatherbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thank you - please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We have visited Sunset Key several times. It is a special place, old-time Key West, quiet and sophistocated, a short hop from the mania at Mallory Square. The property is very beautiful, understated, and unpretentious. The cottages combine elegance and convenience, while remaining quaint and informal. Most all of the staff is very accommodating and dedicated to service excellence. The main restaurant, Latitudes, is very nice and has an incredible view. The breakfast and lunch options are terrific, and the service is great. However, the dinner menu is overpriced, and the quality on our recent trips has been substandard. As a consequence, we have learned to grab a drink at sunset, and then hop the ferry to old town for dinner. Overall, a really fine resort.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oceantics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thank you for your review and for being a repeat guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were upgraded to a 3 bedroom, 3 bath cottage on arrival. Private island accessible only by boat. The staff was great and quick to respond to any requests. The rooms and amenities were luxurious, with heavenly beds in each of the rooms. There is a private beach on the island, wonderful and nice restaurant with a great view of the sunset. Wished we could have stayed a day or two longer.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SpfldCardsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Thank you - please come back for a longer visit sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Staff was wonderful. Loved my facial from Maggie, best ever! Also Roldolfo, Phillip and bar tender Paul all were so nice and took good care of me and my sister, Yvonne. Loved out breakfast treats. Latitudes was fun and great food. Living on this beautiful island for three days was a dream come true.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garden4811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I was playing around reading different reviews and came across one that was full of blatant lies, this site is to be a useful/helpful tool, and this is the first time I have come across a review that was 100% wrong and full of lies.

Let me start with, we went sans dogs, late January 2011 and only stayed 5 nights. if you look at the photo on here already we had the corner suite at the direct corner left of the island. It was a three bedroom suite, full kitchen and two balcony or rather decks, ground floor. I have been to Key West a few times, in my youngster days about 21ish and a big fan of the grain mostly vodka with cranberry and orange juice, it has a name but Im too old to remember now...

I digress, we found ourselves feeling house bound during the winter and wanted a quick easy escape with a beach and a quiet clientele, Im a huge fan of SPG so I looked on line and found this 5 star luxury private island resort and thats exactly what we arrived to! We flew in via private jet and taxied to the ferry, well at first we went to the land based Westin and they graciously lead us to the ferry shuttle location. We waited maybe 7 min and up came this lovely shuttle boat with a extremely friendly captan with a bright smile. We still had no idea of what this quick vacation would entail. And from the moment we docked to the private island slip, we were greeted and whisked to our more than expected gorgeous, well appointed Key West Home!

The sheets, towels, tv's, bath amenities, coffee maker, coffee, furniture oh and the two desks were perfect, perfect, perfect!!!

The semi outdoor restaurant was our place of choice and the hot tub next to the pool, not the romantic hidden one but the out in the sun one, was our go to place most of the time. We met a couple that owns a home on the island and they were a hoot, he was very clam and she was outrages and fun. We bonded right away and had at least one dinner together and cocktails off the island at this cute piano bar on the main strip, wish I new the name...

The property had a small amount of construction happening but nothing that disturbed or stay, I like enhancements and upgrading. The weather was lousy, cold rain most of our stay, and of course our last day the sun broke and it was at least 75 so we got to hit the beautiful meticulously maintained beach right outside our door.

So, this review I read trashed this resort, staff and accommodations and what this reviewer wrote was false and untrue. If you are looking for luxury with a quiet environment that is easily accessible to the wild side in town, this is the perfect place for you! We partied one night like spring beakers gone wild but the boat ride late at night made us feel like the old timers we are and happy to be going back to reality and a yummy bed and a very pleasant slumber!

If you have read any of my reviews you know what I love most, luxury travel, and this place fits the bill 100%.

Travel smart/safe and enjoy. B

Room Tip: Depends on what you want to pay, smaller accommodations come less expensive and larger are, yes you guessed it, more costly.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HBAcres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

What a great review - thank you! Sounds like you took advantage of all that Sunset Key and Key West have to offer. Please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews