We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (752)
Filter reviews
752 results
Traveler rating
501
145
59
25
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
501
145
59
25
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom cottagethe cottagesprivate islandbreakfast basketminute ferry ridethree bedroomevery morningtennis courtszero entryfull bathroomsconcierge staffevery half houralways on timeyour luggagebeach servicepartial ocean viewocean front
Filter
Updating list...
512 - 517 of 752 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The concierge staff, the GENEROUS early am basket of fresh bread and fruit delivered to our doorstep, the warm waters of the gulf in the swimming area and ice cold drinks served to yor our private shaded palm hut make Westin sunset key a repeat family vacation. charters can pick you up and take you to sea for dinner, deep sea fishing or snorkeling. The concierge staff made our wishes reality. They knew each of us well by departure. If flights leave late ask abou a private area to lock valuables shower and dress. No sand ....lockers large enough for baggage. All bags are wrapped in waterproof material as they shuttle over though there's little possibility of a drop of water touching them! The shuttle to and fom key west took ten minutes and gave us options. It's air conditioned and punctual! Latitudes restaurant ifish tacos are amazing! The pool could be cooler and it's shallow but still lovely. Stay oceanside if possible! Only negatives: The door latches are odd , tough to get closed but nothing was disturbed. The room had a full kitchen. We were short a plate and place setting and had to ask a few times to get it....We finally got paper! Our landline room telephones were interrupted almost the entire stay. They told us its a problem so we used our cells to call in requests. The cottage had been freshly painted and was clean though expect an occasional lizard to appear inside! Wear floatable flip flops to the beach then stuff them in your complimentary float headrest or keep them on! The beach sand is full of coral near the waters edge only and a bit tough on the feet but once in the water it's divine!! Beach shoes are a must entering and exiting the water ! Thank you concierge staff for making our family trip great! We loved our trip! Yall have great resources for deep sea fishing snorkeling and kayaking! We made the error of not using Westin shuttle service to the hotel and used local taxi ... The local taxi drivers dog drooled on my leg ( he was hot and panting.... yuk) and smelled be sure to let your concierge send a taxi to get you! ..... Call Once you've arrived and get a Westin endorsed taxi.

Room Tip: Rooms on ocean view are beautiful in the morning. Kitchens are upstairs in three bedroom cottages oceanside with the master bedroom. Consider if taking guests who can't climb stairs. Breezes help cool you off Oceanside. making a deck pleasant.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you for your review. We're glad you had a nice vacation. Please note that neither Westin property has a dedicated shuttle service to/from the airport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This place is not safe for children
I wont say anything else. Lots of rodents and filthy garbage everywhere.
When the smell wakes you up in the morning you know its time to leave.
The staff parties all night long and when complaints were made no one seems to care
The tennis courts haven't been groomed in at least a year. Bed bugs need I say more.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank tsluc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Since a nearly identical review, with the same subject, was posted to our sister resort's TripAdvisor page on the same day, we believe this review to be phony. We have contacted the reviewer to get more information, such as their confirmation number, and they have not provided this information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

WOOOOOOOW!! What an amazing place! A private island.
We had our wedding at the Westin on the pier 6/9/12. The Westin gave us a free night stay on 6/10/12 and what an amazing gift it was! Thank you! We had a 2 bedroom cottage and it was amazing. We even have champagne, chocolate covered strawberries, and a congratulations card from the director of banquets waiting for us. What a nice touch. Talk about service.
We invited some friends over to share in our gift. Later that evening, we found a hammock near the water and we watched the stars. SO NICE.
The only downside was that I booked our honeymoon flight for 6am 6/11. :( So we only had a few hours to enjoy the room. We had to leave our room at 3:30am to get to the airport on time. That's not the Westins fault at all. We're just sad we had to leave such a nice place. We will stay there for sure in the near future.
We've been to Latitudes three times but this was our first time staying. We can't wait to get back to Sunset Keys!
Thank you Westin for a wonderful, amazing start to our honeymoon!!

Room Tip: You're on a private island...all the rooms are good!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarlConnolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Congratulations and thank you so much! How about an anniversary trip?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This hotel is one of my favorite places to vacation. The entire setting of this private island is amazing and will stay in your mind forever.
I have stayed here 5 times over the last few years. It is pretty expensive, but as the title says, you get what you pay for!

Pros:
Beautiful Scenery
Boat Ride to and from the island
Great Food at the restaurant and the pool. (Try the Grouper Sandwich)
First Class Service
Rooms are great. Bed is comfortable, Showers are very clean with good water pressure.
Very quiet and relaxing.
Duval Street is just a short boat ride away. (The shuttle boat runs all night)

Cons:
Very Expensive (And they charge you extra to park your car)
Depending on the room, could be a bit of a walk to your villa.
The couches in the living rooms are not comfortable at all.
Beach is not that great

Room Tip: Get a room close to the dock
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank riverplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thank you for your review and for being a loyal repeat guest over the years!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Impeccable cottages with beautifully landscaped grounds and pool area. Great lunch menu, my favorite being the Lobster Roll. Lovely restaurant overlooking the water with a spectacular sunset. Great customer service. Secluded island that can only be reached by ferry for maximum privacy. The ultimate getaway with a tropical feel....

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loveitalianstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thanks for this great review - the lobster roll is one of our most popular lunch items!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews