We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a piece of Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunset Key Cottages
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Truly a piece of Paradise”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

There are not enough words I can use to describe Sunset Key! My husband and I stayed there this weekend as a mini getaway to celebrate our anniversary. Being locals of South Florida we have traveled many times to the keys and have gotten to know the best and the worse of the florida Keys!! This is really one of the Best of the Florida Keys!!!

The attention to detail and customer service at the Westin is unbelievable and that just multiples when staying at Sunset key. From the start Jennifer was incredible. Attentive and went out of her way to make sure we had an incredible stay.

We arrived a little after 1:00 am and we had a ferry ready to go within minutes and a bellman waiting for us at the Key to take us to our cottage. The cottage was beautiful. Typical keys casual look with all the comforts of home but yet you always feel that you are staying a a luxury hotel.

We stayed at the beach front cottage, Sand dollar; and to wake up in the morning with that view alone is priceless. Even though it is high season and they were fully booked you felt you were in a secluded island and did not see crowds or feel invaded of your privacy.

All throughout we were completely in aww and we plan to come many more times in the future including with our children in the summer!!!

Room Tip: Beach front cottages are the best views and most convenient for access to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claudiasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Thank you for your review and for mentioning staff by name! It sounds like your stay was just perfect, which is what we always strive for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    128
    54
    24
    21
See reviews for
260
210
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We were very concerned that this place would not be worth the very high cost. We were thrilled that it was all it was supposed to be! The cottage was beautiful and luxurious without being over the top. The setting was tropical and wonderful. The beach was great and the views were stunning. We had dinner at the restaurant, Latitudes, and watched the sunset. Really special. The service at the restaurant was outstanding and really made the dinner for us.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Thank you for your review. We're thrilled that all of your expectations were met and/or exceeded!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landenberg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in early January. We absolutely loved the place. The resort on it's own Island about a 1/2 mile off Key West was fantastic! The shuttle to key west leaves every 1/2 hour and we went back and forth every morning and evening for sightseeing and then after returning to relax on the amazing beach (so peacefully), we then go back to town for dinner and drinks. We loved our stay !

It's pricey,but considering what the operating costs are on a place like this, it's priced accordingly. We will stay no where else, when we return to Key west!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Romcollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Thank you for your review and for becoming loyal Sunset Key guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveland Twp., MI
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

These cottages are amazing! Key West is awesome but it's nice to stay somewhere that you can feel like you are a little away from the hustle and bustle. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1giginjamaica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Thank you for your review. Sunset Key is the best of both worlds!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Beautiful relaxing place. Loved everything about it. 5 Star Resort, outstanding cottages, excellent food, relaxing spa, attentive staff and private island!! Expensive but worth every dime.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms at this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elizabeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2012

If you get too close to the edge try a quality massage from Susan at the Westin Key West adjacent to Mallory Square. Otherwise Cottages are a serene location with quality food at Latitudes, an attentive staff that keeps the resort afloat and attends to every need. The spa and the gym are very well appointed for their size.

Room Tip: If I tell you which room the great one we had might not be available when we want it next...ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Thank you for your review - we hope you come back soon! It is the best of both worlds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Beautiful place but prices are through the roof. Good idea to go for vacation and share a cottage with friends. Great if you're spending most of your time on the resort. Wonderful sunset views. Loved everything about it except for the price....that's why 4 star rating.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dominique R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Marketing Manager at Sunset Key Cottages, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Thank you for your review. We feel our prices give a great value for a cottage on a private island off Key West. Additionally, prices are clearly communicated online, by reservations agents, reservation email confirmations and at check in, so there should have been no surprises in the price of the stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.5 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.9 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
2.5 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#13 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,502 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#18 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Key Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Key Cottages

Property: Sunset Key Cottages
Address: 245 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Sunset Key Guest Cottages, A Westin Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#6 Spa Hotel in Key West
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#8 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Key Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Key Cottages is a secluded tropical island sanctuary located just 500 yards off the coast of Key West, featuring private cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset Key Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Key Guest Cottages, a Westin Hotel Key West
Westin Key West
Key West Westin
Sunset Key Cottages Guest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing