We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heron House Court--simply good.”
Review of Heron House Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heron House Court
Ranked #33 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, OH
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Heron House Court--simply good.”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Roman, of course, was wonderful just as the other reviewers described. Breakfast was an assortment of bagels, fruit, croissants, meat and cheese, cereal and granola. The room was beautiful overlooking the pool area and the back balcony (not accessible directly from room). We spent the mornings on the front balcony of the inn reading books in the lounge chairs watching the people pass by. Location was great! We walked everywhere (except a day we rented bikes to go to the southenmost point--Roman had the bikes delivered to us!). Granted it was January and the heat was not overbearing. Walk to Fort Zachary was a bit long but it gave us a chance for some much needed exercise from all the wonderful food in Key West!! The pool was a bit unclean, so we did not try it out. However I did see another couple who was enjoying it. Otherwise the inn was fantastic and I would most definitely stay there again! Roman made us feel very welcome and at home!

Room Tip: Suite 10 was beautiful. Large room with a sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kweaver78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    128
    26
    15
    16
See reviews for
14
332
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradfordwoods, PA
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We went down to Key West for our wedding. Staying at the Heron House Court was a wonderful experience with Roman being the key to that wonderful experience. He helped us with dinner reservations (Michael's - excellent place), finding the courthouse, and getting to the wedding. Anything we needed Roman found for us!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmore Quay
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2012

My husband and I spent 5 glorious days here in November to celebrate a very special event. Thanks to Roman, Heron House was home from home. The place has great characterwith plenty of quirks, the decor is comfortable and relaxed and we loved the whole layed back style and atmosphere. Highlights - chats with Roman, sharing breakfast with other guests, enjoying the peace and quite by the pool in the shade, and generally feeling part of the place. Roman was superb in tirelessly sharing his local knowledge for days out, special restaurants and went to great trouble to find a fantastic hairdresser for me with very short notice. Herron House is an excellent location as it is quite but only a short walk away from the waterfront or Duval Street. Roman's kindness made our trip to Key West a most mermorable one. We would recommend Herron House Court not for its luxury but for its Roman welcome.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I was quite pleased with our stay at the Heron House Court, particularly with our kind and wonderful host, Roman. He was very knowledgable about the island and very helpful when we needed it. The location was nice and central and close enough to walk everywhere we wanted to go. The hotel was quiet and very, very clean, and getting a junior suite is the way to go! I loved our room and the fact that it was two stories with a front and back entrance. My only complaint was the place needs some cosmetic maintenance and some money reinvested into the place to justify the rate they charge. The paint was bubbling in the living room with a big crack running down the wall. The fan blades looked rusty and either needed replacing or a good coat of paint. One of the chairs by the pool broke when my 165 lb. husband sat down on it. I am not writing this review to discourage anyone from staying here, but rather to encourage the owners to fix the place back up to its true potential. Even without the fixes that I hope they will make, the place is charming and a very nice find.

Room Tip: If they put a little bit of work into the Owner's Suite, that would be my pick of where to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We were very pleased with this clean, quiet, and comfortable inn, and especially appreciated host Roman's warmth and charm, and endless patience in sharing his knowledge of Key West and providing excellent suggestions and assistance in booking everything from boat tours to restaurants to nightlife. He went above and beyond for every guest every day, and if there is one single reason why we would make a return visit to the Heron House it would be Roman. We didn't mind being off the beaten path and away from Duval. We enjoyed walking everywhere and seeing new and different things along the charming side streets of historic Key West. The only real area where there is room for improvement is the "breakfast" half of bed & breakfast. Choices were limited to mostly breads and cereal, a few cold cuts, and sliced American cheese. We would have loved some fresh fruit, yogurt, eggs, better cheese. Also the pool was a tad disappointing (though we weren't there to hang around the pool), and the room, though perfectly fine, could be improved with a more modern television set, etc. These minor quibbles were all overcome by the value our host Roman added to our experience. He is a treasure!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaaaaalll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Heron House Court on Frances Street, Key West over the Christmas break. It is in an area which has a lot of guest houses and restaurants. The building has a lot of character. The manager, Roman, was an excellent host. Roman provides accurate advice and recommendations about local events. We also appreciated the effort Roman made to ensure that we had reservations for meals at the premier restaurants in town.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back adjacent to the pool which was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AUSSIE4060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Lake, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Heron House Court for three nights over Thanksgiving. It was a great stay. Roman, a member of the staff, was very helpful, helping us out in finding the best activities to do. The location is very walkable to Duval Street and to the waterfront. We rented bikes from Eaton Bikes, just down a couple of blocks from Heron House Court. Heron House has a bike rack on the side of their property to lock up your bikes. Parking is on the street, but we did not have any problems finding a place to park within a block or so. Area felt very safe

It has a nice pool/spa area to relax in. The room we had was on the 2nd level and was very nice, with a large bathroom and an additional sink area. Complimentary breakfast consisted of coffee, tea, juice, cereals and a large variety of breads.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.5 mi away
Heron House
Heron House
#53 of 77 in Key West
455 reviews
0.0 mi away
Albury Court Hotel in Key West
0.1 mi away
Artist House on Fleming
Artist House on Fleming
#12 of 77 in Key West
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Artist House
Artist House
#10 of 77 in Key West
926 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#19 of 77 in Key West
764 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marrero's Guest Mansion
Marrero's Guest Mansion
#18 of 77 in Key West
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heron House Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heron House Court

Property: Heron House Court
Address: 412 Frances St, Key West, FL 33040-6956 (Formerly "Fleur De Key Guesthouse")
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Heron House Court 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heron House Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heron House Court Hotel Key West
Heron Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing