We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
Ranked #20 of 48 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Smithfield, North Carolina
Level Contributor
130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We spent four nights here last week along with a group of friends in Key West for a wedding at the Ernest Hemingway House. That is just across the street - very handy. Our room - B7 - was modern, clean and well appointed. We were just off the pool area but not bothered at all by noise or such. Each morning, a nice but simple breakfast was provided. The sitting area around the pool was very nice. Best of all, the location! A one-block walk to Duval Street, Old Town Trolley is just down the street also. We enjoyed that. Great staff! Rose at the front desk was just as nice in person as she had been on the phone when I made our reservations. Jeremiah, also from the front desk, helped show us how to work our in-room safe! All in all, if I were going back to Key West I would very probably stay at the Lighthouse Court again.

Room Tip: Some of our group liked their room, some didn't. We liked our room, B7, very much!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim4249541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    330
    105
    63
    22
See reviews for
98
482
26
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and got one of the standard rooms. The room was way too small for two adults and the bathroom was really tiny. The shower was a tiny box and you couldn't sit straight on the toilet without your knee hitting the vanity. (I'm 5'7 and 120lbs so I'm not that big of a person) Our room also had these tiny bugs that are indigenous to the area. We brought dessert back to the room one afternoon in a tightly closed plastic box to eat later and after we woke up from our nap, the box & cupcake were completely infested with the bugs. We didn't bring anymore food back to the room which seemed to help, but there were bugs around the sink daily. Many of the room "front" doors are glass so you have to pull a curtain across to create some privacy.

The positive aspects of the hotel are that it has very nice grounds and the larger rooms looked much nicer and bigger. The pool area is quiet and relaxing while the bar makes great drinks. The location can't be beat and we were always so close to everything, which is ideal. The staff is very friendly and willing to do anything to help. So although our room was a big disappointment, I will be willing to try the hotel again, but in a bigger room.

Room Tip: DO not book a standard room! They are really really small for 2 adults.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank live2travel212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

This was our second trip to Key West and our first stay at Lighthouse Court. The location is great and the pool/bar area is really nice. A few things to note: parking is very limited at the hotel, ditch your car if you can. Since there is a bar and restaurant at the hotel there are signs saying no outside food or drink at the pool. This can get kind of pricey if you just plan on hanging out and drinking by the pool. Another member of our group didn't think that the rule would be enforced that strictly, but I was too chicken to test his theory out. The bartenders (especially Peter) were great. We stayed in room E4 which is right next to the pool. Not very private, but we liked being able to see when our friends and family were up in the morning. The hotel offers free continental breakfast, but is was VERY basic.
Our room was one of the queen suite rooms (or something like that). It was nice to have the extra space, but in the future I don't think I would spend the extra money. The TV is in the sitting room so if you like to watch from bed you may want to reconsider. We had nice hardwood floors, but my sister's room above us had carpet.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank WorkingMachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We picked this hotel based on price and mixed reviews on another site, and I have no idea why the reviews there were mixed. I thought this place was excellent, and we'll absolutely stay there again.

It's a block off the near midpoint of Duval, next to the lighthouse and across the street from the Hemingway house. Despite the location, it's incredibly quiet. There's a small but very nice pool, a cafe/bar with friendly staff, and plenty of tables and chairs around the pool and deck. There's a spot with games set up in the back under the shade of a huge tree and the lighthouse that we enjoyed quite a bit. Breakfast is free (it's the typical small buffet, out on the pool deck), and the staff was incredibly friendly. There's also free parking out back, which was a very welcome surprise. Leave your car there, and you won't need it the whole time you're in Key West.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plinkonet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights. All of the staff were SO friendly! The location is good because it is close enough to Duval but far enough away. Nice and quiet every day that we were there. No rowdy young people by the pool. I will definitely stay somewhere else the next time we go though. I know that for maybe a little more money we can have a way nicer room with a view. There are so many places to choose from, you would think they would at least update their rooms. Remember that you walk a lot in Key West, the last thing you want is a rock hard bed to sleep on every night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in this nice location. Staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating. Pool area is very nice with bar for relaxing. Hemingway House right across the street and the trolley system around town which goes by in front is they way to go. As a last minute trip we booked a lower end standard room and got one of a couple of the few remaining rooms that need a refreshing. Stayed for 2 nights and requested a move to which the staff arranged without fuss even on the busy Saturday night. Would stay again on a return to the great town of Key West.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from another great visit at lighthouse court! Same consistent service and friendly staff. This was a birthday/anniversary trip and my husband and I never skipped a beat when deciding where to stay! I see allot of different reviews but everyone needs to keep in mind this is not a 5 star caviar type hotel. This a down to earth key west property. Its clean, quiet, awesome staff, beautiful property, and awesome location!!! Not to mention fairly priced. I have traveled and stayed in all types of hotels and I can honestly say there has only been one other hotel that I have actually slept this good at. We spend two days and leave feeling like we been there a week. We hated to leave but we will be back! Already planning what we want to do next trip :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VacationLovers1415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#16 of 48 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 1,204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
0.6 mi away
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#7 of 48 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 1,510 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha
0.5 mi away
Simonton Court Historic Inn and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West

Property: Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
Address: 902 Whitehead St, Key West, FL 33040-7423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 48 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lighthouse Court Hotel is a 40 room boutique hotel in the heart of Old Town, Key West, across from the Hemingway House and Lighthouse Museum. You can walk to Margaritaville, Mallory Square, Sloppy Joe's, the beaches and Duval Street's famous bars & nightlife. A variety of guest rooms and suites are located in ten "conch" buildings dating back from 1890 to the 1920's. The architecture is typical for old Key West, featuring one and two story buildings that have tin roofs, wood siding, open porches and french doors. Buildings are separated by brick pathways, tropical landscaping and decked courtyards with many comfortable spots for lounging, sunning, or gazing up at the lighthouse. Guests can relax around the large pool while sipping on tropical drinks from the Mojito Bar. Historic Architecture & Modern Rooms. Free Continental Breakfast. Free In-Room Internet. Upscale Eco-friendly Bathroom Amenities. Large Heated Pool. Boutique Hotel. Mojito Bar Poolside. Located In Old Town Key West. Walk To Duval Street, Attractions & Beaches. Excellent Location For Weddings At Hemingway House. Modern style & comfort meets relaxed Key West vibe at the Lighthouse Court Hotel. Self Parking in Hotel Parking Lot For $10 USD/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Court Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing