We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One experience trumped all that was good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
Ranked #23 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One experience trumped all that was good”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My partner and I with his brother and sister in law stayed two nights at Lighthouse Court. I had been there and knew what to expect regarding room sizes and the layout of the property. I thought all was very nice and clean until the next morning and I had bug bites all around my ankles and calves. I did not think much of it at first, thought it was just from walking around the night before and just one of those things. The morning after the second stay I had had more bug bites around my knees and legs and my partner had them as well. I have never experienced this before and it took me by complete surprise. As one can see by my ratings that I liked the place by what happened to us trumeds all the good. I believe the room was G4 in the middle of the complex. We visited April 9-10 2013.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank runneru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    364
    119
    63
    23
See reviews for
118
562
27
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, AR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed at the Lighthouse Court last weekend and were very disappointed. The website looked nice and the Historic Inns label counted for something, I thought, but our room was terrible....small, dark, chipped furniture, musty damp carpeting, no coffee pot or wifi, cheap towels and linens....just overall a lousy mess. In looking over the reviews on Trip Advisor after our return, it is clear that they have a wide variety of very different rooms...the problem is...you have no idea when you are booking online whether you will be lucky enough to land in a nice room or whether you will land in a dungeon....for the same price. There should be some consistency and a standard of service when you are paying over $200 plus per night. I can't recommend anyone take a chance on this property, unless they know exactly which room they are going to get in advance. It is a shame this property is so run down as the location is great, but we will never go back or recommend it to friends...we felt like we had been taken....big time!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SHLFayetteville_AR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This hotel is made up of several cottages. Some hold only 2 apartments while others hold 6 hotel rooms of varying sizes & quality of furnishings. In the center is a courtyard with a good sized pool, a bar, and cafe. Free continental breakfast is served there each morning. A typical Key West rooster is a resident of the courtyard. I think they said his name was one-eye Joe. The room was impecanly clean as were the grounds. The bed itself could have used an upgrade. The landscaping assured you didn't feel like you were on a busy street. The hotel is located on Whitehead St across from the Hemingway House, next to the lighthouse, 0.2 mi from the furthestmost point marker, and 0.7 mi from Mallory Square.

Room Tip: I wish I'd gotten H 5 or 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueF671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel MD
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here with a group for a wedding. Great common areas including hammock, corn hole, pool area, and breakfast outside. Great location for all that key west has to offer. The building and rooms are a little worn but so much of key west is like this. Front desk was nice and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMMDLaurelMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

From the moment of arrival to our departure, the accomodations were CLEAN, comfortable, and the staff were EXCELLENT!! would totally recommend this hotel and plan on staying again!! The front desk people were incredibly helpful in every aspect imaginable. Location is great!! The only negative thing I can think of is that we had to leave!!!

Room Tip: we stayed in D3. Perfect for two! will ask for same room again when we return.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MechelleB252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The Lighthouse Court was a wonderful place to stay. Directly across from the Hemingway house it is perfectly located to anything and everything you could want to do in Key West. When we arrived the receptionist was extremely nice and was more than willing to offer and advice we needed from tours to dining recommendations. You get a nice little breakfast each morning by the pool. The little café/bar serves great drinks
This property is on the south end of Duval so it is far enough away from all the noise but close enough that you can walk everywhere. My favorite breakfast in the world is right around the corner, Blue Heaven, a must for anyone visiting Key West.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank archie5115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We found the staff to be super friendly and efficient. Location is excellent...just a short walk to all of the activity. Straight down the street one way was the site of the everynight Sunset Party. Straight down the other way was the Southern most point. Across the street from Hemmingway House. We could only travel during Spring Break so we had an expectation that the prices would be higher. We parked our car a couple of blocks away and did not need it again until we were leaving. The room was super clean and had been renovated nicely. It is a Heritage place so we base our opinion on that. Free breakfast and a snack bar. It has a nice pool..unfortunately we did not get to use it because the weather did not cooperate and it was quite chilly. We recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 45383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#20 of 51 in Key West
1,314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
0.6 mi away
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#8 of 51 in Key West
1,722 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha
0.5 mi away
Simonton Court Historic Inn and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West

Property: Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
Address: 902 Whitehead St, Key West, FL 33040-7423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic architecture with updated, modern rooms and amenities are what you will enjoy at our Lighthouse Court Hotel located in the heart of Old Town, Key West Florida. Our stylish, boutique hotel has 40 guest rooms and is located next door to the Key West Lighthouse Museum and across the street from the Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum. Just one block off Duval Street, the location affords instant access to some of our favorite things to do in Key West including the Mallory Square sunset celebration, Sloppy Joe's Bar, Margaritaville, the Conch Train, the Harry Truman Little Whitehouse, and the Southernmost Point marker. Historic Architecture & Modern Rooms. Free Continental Breakfast. Free In-Room Internet. Upscale Eco-friendly Bathroom Amenities. Large Heated Pool. Boutique Hotel. Mojito Bar Poolside. Located In Old Town Key West. Walk To Duval Street, Attractions & Beaches. Excellent Location For Weddings At Hemingway House. Modern style & comfort meets relaxed Key West vibe at the Lighthouse Court Hotel. Self Parking in Hotel Parking Lot For $10 USD/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Court Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing