We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location makes up for lackluster room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed here one night with my wife and in-laws. The location (across from Hemingway house and more importantly one block from duval street) is perfect. We were a little concerned when we found complementary earplugs in our room with Duval street so close but noise wasn't an issue whatsoever.

Our room was small. Our in-laws had a mini fridge in their room but ours didn't despite booking two identical rooms. These types of inconsistencies typify this hotel but also give it some degree of charm. It was clean, the bathroom was dingy with grey grout lines, and the carpet in the room felt a little dirty, but that may be due to the humidity.

Nice pool area, but avoid the specialty cocktails. All four of us had a different one and we all agreed that they were terrible in their own individual way.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Mungry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricKeyWestInns, Public Relations Manager at Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

The Lighthouse Court's location is perfect, isn't it? Directly across from the Hemingway Home and next to the Lighthouse Museum, you can't get any better for a central Old Town base during your time in Key West. You're 100% correct that due to the historic nature of this property, no two guestrooms are identical with regards to their floor plan and decor, etc. It's part of our character and charm, but we're sure it can be surprising if you're expecting everything to be the same. Humidity is certainly a factor down here in the tropics, especially during the warmest months of the year.

Our on-site Mojito Cafe and Bar in the courtyard is a great place for refreshments while relaxing by the pool. So sorry to hear that Scott's specialty cocktails weren't to your liking. My favorite one is the Key Lime Margarita, closely followed by the signature Mojito. We'll have to work on some new recipes for you to sample on your next visit. Thank you again for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (992)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

520 - 526 of 992 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

At first glance, Lighthouse Court looks like a slice of paradise with charming bungalows set against a leafy courtyard and a white picket fence. Hemingway's House is a across the street and rowdy Duval Street is close enough to walk, but far enough to escape. The folks at the front desk are lovely and helpful. And then you find your room. We had a king size bed jammed into a tiny room with a postage stamp size TV hung from a corner of the room. The bathrooms, despite new pedestal sinks, are grungy and institutional with gray grout and grayer tile. Our shower leaked so badly that the bathroom floor was perpetually wet. The beds are extremely soft and uncomfortable. Ours was so worn that it dipped on one side. My husband remarked that he felt like he had to hold onto the side to keep from falling out. The property does have wifi, but it did not adequately reach my room. That was fine since there's an extremely pleasant court yard with a little backyard pool and a cafe that serves excellent mojitos. Breakfast is a bust. While it's served in the pretty courtyard, the offerings are pedestrian: dry, frozen bagels, yogurt, cold cereal and croissants filled with some sort of meat (and no labeling, so vegetarians be warned). Luckily, the court is a block from the great breakfast at Blue Heaven. Were it not for the exorbitant price ($180 in July), we might have found the place more tolerable. But at that price point, my expectations are higher. Note: I've seen reports about poor housekeeping. We did not experience this. Our room was very clean.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Green, cozy, clean, tranquil, very good location, easy access to many attractions, one block off Duval St which is the main drag in Key West, across Hemingway's House, closer to the Southernmost point than Mallory Square. BUT very small bathroom and very noisy AC and fan. We tolerated these problems thinking that we are having a historic experience but the second night sleep was very uncomfortable, it felt like sleeping in a factory. Breakfast with the chickens and roosters made up for it though.

Room Tip: Avoid cheaper rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adatasci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricKeyWestInns, Public Relations Manager at Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Thank you for staying at our historic Key West Inn! We're sorry the A/C and fan in your room were noisy. We could have one of our engineering staff come to the room to take a look at it if happens during your stay again. We're glad you are a fan of the Key West Chickens! They love to make an appearance at breakfast time to mingle with the guests. Hope you got some pictures!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I love this place. The staff was very friendly.Its far enough off Duval Street (1 block) that you have peace and quit except for the roosters((?):) ..... more on that later)) but close enough that you can walk to Mallory Square for the sunset.The hotel is diectly across the street from the Hemmingway House.The rooms are clean, the A/C works great.There is a small but nice swimming pool and there is a very nice / basic continental breakfast included daily.The only drawback to the hotel is the parking.There are only a few parking places the hotel offers(but that is more than most).If not, you have to park on the street which can be quite challenging as it is anywhere in Key West.Now back to the roosters. For all you newbies who are coming to KW for the first time know upfront that the entire area around Duval Street is populated by feral roosters.They begin to crow very early (like 1 or 2) in the morning....(yes, really).The first time you hear it its cute, after that, its not so cute. Earplugs work and will let you sleep soundly. Again, they are all over and you cant escape them if you want to stay near Duval.

Room Tip: King beds were big and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BGarbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed in the Hemingway suite and in one of the other suites April 2011.
The Hemingway suite is fantastic ! Full kitchen, Chesterfield sofas, washer/dryer , loft bedroom and a " front porch " facing the Hemingway House ! Even it's own sun deck !
Loved sitting on the porch watching other tourists having their photos taken in front of the Hemingway House.
The other suite was OK, no more.
Staff was very nice and helpful.
Planning to go again ASAP!

Room Tip: Try to get the Hemingway Suite, it's absolutely worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doublejStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This small attractive hotel is in picket fence area across the street from the Ernest Hemingway home in Key West. Parking is a major problem and the hotel is not much help. The rooms have NO coffee, tea, or even hot water for insant beverages. The TV noise from adjoing room bleeds in. The location is the major assest if you are a Hemingway fan. But overall the disadvantages outweigh the advantages.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kreykenbohm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Got a good deal on expedia drove down easy check in good location a 5 min bkie ride to southern most point.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#18 of 51 in Key West
1,369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
0.7 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#9 of 51 in Key West
1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
0.2 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,716 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#5 of 51 in Key West
1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West

Address: 902 Whitehead St, Key West, FL 33040-7423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range: $196 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic architecture with updated, modern rooms and amenities are what you will enjoy at our Lighthouse Court Hotel located in the heart of Old Town, Key West Florida. Our stylish, boutique hotel has 40 guest rooms and is located next door to the Key West Lighthouse Museum and across the street from the Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum. Just one block off Duval Street, the location affords instant access to some of our favorite things to do in Key West including the Mallory Square sunset celebration, Sloppy Joe's Bar, Margaritaville, the Conch Train, the Harry Truman Little Whitehouse, and the Southernmost Point marker. Historic Architecture & Modern Rooms. Free Continental Breakfast. Free In-Room Internet. Upscale Eco-friendly Bathroom Amenities. Large Heated Pool. Boutique Hotel. Mojito Bar Poolside. Located In Old Town Key West. Walk To Duval Street, Attractions & Beaches. Excellent Location For Weddings At Hemingway House. Modern style & comfort meets relaxed Key West vibe at the Lighthouse Court Hotel. Self Parking in Hotel Parking Lot For $10 USD/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Court Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing