We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanks for a great stay at the Jasmine House”
Review of Jasmine House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jasmine House
Ranked #56 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thanks for a great stay at the Jasmine House”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We recently just stayed at the Jasmine House (3/27/13 - 4/1/2013). After a little mix up while trying to check in, Dave immediately fixed the problem. We had a slight mix up with our reservation. Once Dave made it all right and got us setup we had a great time in Key West. Yes the room is small (we stayed in the wicker room), we knew this coming into it. However the location couldn’t be better. We walked everywhere. One additional note, we were divers and had all our own gear. Once we got done after a full day of diving on the Vanderburg Dave provide a fresh water hose outside for us to rinse gear and didn’t mind us laying our gear out to dry on the porch. Thanks Dave for doing the right thing! Gareth & Amber

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarethD816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosietoo, Director of Sales at Jasmine House, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
So glad Dave was able to resolve the problem quickley and to your liking! Happy to hear you loved our location and had a good diving vacation.

Thank you so much for writing the review!

Carolyn (and Dave)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    16
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
106
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

My huband and I stayed in the Garden Suite from March 17-27, and our son stayed in the Wicker Room until March 21.
We have stayed at the Jasmine House for many years - in fact, the first time about 10 years ago, we rented the entire downstairs.
As usual, everything was wonderful - clean, very comfortable beds with great linens, and towels. The kitchen is outfitted very well, although we only needed it for breakfasts - didn't do any cooking at night.

The first night we were there, something was wrong with the A/C window unit in the Wicker Room, it was making a lot of noise and not cooling properly.
I told Dave about it the next morning - he checked it out, and before I knew it, he had driven over to Ace Hardware and purchased another unit - which worked perfectly.

The only thing I would suggest trying to do something about is the A/C. It works perfectly in the bedroom - a good vent, but the vent in the livingroom does not allow much cool air to come through. But, honestly, that is the only thing that could be improved upon, because everything else is great!!

We are going back in mid-May to see some friends, and for my husband to fish, and we are really happy to be returning so soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosietoo, Director of Sales at Jasmine House, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
....and it's always a treat to have you at the Jasmine House. It's been a really fun journey. Thank you so much for writing the review!

I know Dave will be delighted!

Carolyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, Michigan
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed in the Hibiscus Porchside Bedroom in Jasmine House from March 1-5, 2013. We arrived to find a parking space open right in front of the house and that was just the start of a wonderful four days in Key West and at the Jasmine House. When we arrived there was a greeting on the front door directing us to the room and with the innkeeper, Dave's phone number. It is a beautiful house and the room was the same. The Hibiscus Bedroom is not large but it does contain a queen size bed, nightstands, a small dresser, a small refrigerator, and a large vanity. The attached bathroom is pretty small with sink, stool, and shower. The room was stocked with towels, tissues, paper towels, and toilet paper as well as bar soup and coffee and filters. There was a large cabinet in the hallway outside the bedroom which contained additional towels and supplies. No housekeeping services are provided. This was not a problem for us as we just got up....made coffee...made up our bed...and away we went for another fun-filled day in Key West!! As we are northerners, we found that the room got a bit warm at night but we just utilized the room air conditioner and ceiling fan. That worked just fine for us. The bed was very comfortable. We found in the time we stayed at Jasmine House (which included a Friday and Saturday night) that the house was very quiet as well as the street in front. Even though Duval Street is only 1/2 block away, we weren't bothered by any noises. We probably would not have even known there were others in the house except for the tiny squeak from the front screened door as people entered and left. (That sound reminded me of my childhood!!)

Key West is such a wonderful town and we had so much fun. If we ever have an opportunity to return to Key West, I would certainly try to stay at Jasmine House....it was perfect for us.

Thanks to Dave....he was very pleasant and helpful!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbatMSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosietoo, Director of Sales at Jasmine House, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review. We're so pleased you enjoyed our little part of Key West.

We'll look forward to your return!

Carolyn and Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Well, we just got back to New Hampshire after our second trip to the keys! We stayed at Jasmine House both trips and will on our next trip too! Located half a block away from Duval Street is a blessing at night after a long day of sight seeing. But still just a half a block away from all the night life. Dave is a great host, he knows the island well and suggests the perfect places to go. The rooms are perfect for romantic getaways. Have a seat on the porch in the afternoon and check out Dave's flowers and plantings. Every night spent there is relaxing, charming and just plain cozy!
See you soon Dave, we will be back!

Bob and Sue Russell.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosietoo, Director of Sales at Jasmine House, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
We're so happy and lucky to have you as return guests who enjoy your stay with us so much.

Thank you for taking the time to write.

Carolyn and Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the garden suite for our honeymoon and had one o the best times of our lives. The jasmine house has everything. Close to Duvall but quite. The house was so nice and clean. The hot tub and back garden porch was amazing to Han out in. Dave the inn keeper was so much fun to meet. We really really enjoyed our stay and would recommend staying at the jasmine house for an awesome getaway and key west experience. 5 stars!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1keys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosietoo, Director of Sales at Jasmine House, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
We love you back! Please return for your anniversaries, all of them.

Thank you so much for the enthusiastic reveiw.

Carolyn and Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands), Canada
Level Contributor
199 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at the Jasmine tree top suite during the early part of December for 1 week.
We arrived and followed the instructions layed out for us, grabbed the key and entered into a cozy little suite amongst the trees...kinda of,lol.
We loved the suite, it was just the right size for a couples retreat from their children,hahaha. It has a queen bed,with two closets and the main bath off of the bedroom. It's a full bath.
The kitchen and livingroom are open and small, but that's what makes it so cozy. The a/c is a through the wall unit located in the bedroom and with the two ceiling fans located in the suite it keeps the place very nice and cool if needed.
When you decide to leave your pad for an evening of adventure, your just down your steps and hang a right and a quick left and two minutes later your on Duval st. Even though your close to everything, the location of your suite is very quiet even with the other suites below yours....quiet.
I myself have been to key West about 5 times and will be back again,just because of the variety of stuff there is to do...from party life to history life. The other good thing is that I'm glad too see less of those t shirt tourist trap shop and now there's more gallieries....awesome!! Key West has something for everyone. We had scooters the whole time we were their and had a blast!
There is only one downside, and has nothing to do with the Jasmine House, for being in such a distant area where Key West is located, we were quite disappointed with the lack of recycling over all. It's a shame that it's so bad that way, but the upside is it can change. I was excited that I was able to find a great idea though.... seeing a bumper sticker ( one Human ) awesome.
All that being said if you want a nice little suite with easy walking distance to anywhere fast and priced right for what you get, then book your stay at their tree top.
Cheers!

Room Tip: The Tree Top suite is the only suite on top, the rest of the suites are located on the main. The bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigcahoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosietoo, Director of Sales at Jasmine House, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for the amazing comprehensive review and excellent photos. As you have pointed outl, the Treetop Suite is in a world of its own but still so close to everything.

Hope you come back!

Carolyn, Dave, and Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed four nights in early December. The room was small but perfectly formed and had a quirky style which we liked. Our room was one of the smaller ones downstairs. The facilities were basic - in a good way. There were coffee and tea making facilities and a store cupboard where we could replenish supplies. We did not use the AC much - it was too noisy at night but we are from the UK and not used to it anyway. We could use the seating in the porch area and since there were no visitors in the room next to ours, we had it to ourselves. It was a lovely place to sit and read or watch the world go by.
The location was fantastic - in a small quiet side street but close to Duval St with its shops, bars and restaurants.
We did not get to meet elusive Dave but our email contact with Lisa was very easy. Nice relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annam58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosietoo, Director of Sales at Jasmine House, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and took the time to write this sweet review!

Cheers,

Carolyn and Lisa
Jasmine House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
The Duval House
The Duval House
#46 of 77 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seascape Tropical Inn
Seascape Tropical Inn
#61 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casablanca at Bogart's
Casablanca at Bogart's
#42 of 77 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tropical Inn
Tropical Inn
#13 of 77 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merlin Guest House Key West
0.5 mi away
The Weatherstation Inn
The Weatherstation Inn
#49 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jasmine House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jasmine House

Property: Jasmine House
Address: 817 Center St, Key West, FL 33040-7434
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jasmine House may be enjoyed as a 4 bedroom/4 bath home or rent one of the 1 bedroom/1 bath suites. Economical rooms with private baths may be available. The location is on a quiet street in the center of Old Town Key West, only 1/2 block to Duval St., and walking distance to most attractions. Free parking and internet service along with many other amenities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jasmine House Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing