We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at the Equator”
Review of Equator Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Equator Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We just want to say what a great time we had at the Equator Resort. The staff is fantastic and knowledgable about the area. We were so pleased with the accommodations. The resort was clean; the pool and hot tub were wonderful; nice choices of the continental breakfast. The happy hour was a great way for us to meet the other guests. Jay and Billy, our hosts, were very personable and made sure we always had everything we needed.

Thanks guys for a wonderful vacation

Room Tip: Afraid to say, cause we will always want the room we had when we visit again ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 297 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

Our group of 4 has been staying at the Equator every August for the last several years. We like August because (except for Tropical Heat Weekend) it tends to be fairly quiet -- off season. (So long as no tropical storms or hurricanes interrupt your stay!) We also like that the place is small enough to have an intimate feel and large enough to support a decent crowd on the weekends. The guests that we have encountered over the years tend to be less pretentious or wild than some other places. As long as they keep updating/maintaining, this place should be good to go for years. Rocco (on Sunday and Monday) is a reliable source of good info on where to go and what to do in Key West.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Curtis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Equator Resort

We stayed at the Equator Resort from August 15 - 21, 2012 for Tropical Heat Weekend.

They say that first impressions are everything, so when we first drove up to the front door and was buzzed inside, my initial thought was "What did we get ourselves into?" The Equator Resort has a very unassuming entrance, an entrance with a green awning with the name on it stuck between two yellow buildings and as soon as you step through the front door you are hit with a wall of heat and a dark passage way leading to the office and pool area. Unlike most of the other guest houses in Key West the Equator has no street appeal, the building comes right up to the sidewalk, there is no inviting porch, landscaping or anything else to welcome you to your "home" for the next week. Again, first impressions are everything, but we kept moving forward.

We arrived about 6pm, during the nightly cocktail hour, Jay was the host on duty and buzzed us into the front door. Because it was happy hour, jay asked if it was OK if he gave us our keys, showed us to our room, and finished the checkin process after happy hour, this was fine with us.

We were in room 15 and we had a friend staying in room 16. Room 15 opens directly onto the pool patio, has a small sitting area with a sofa and chair, wet bar, microwave and sink. The bedroom is slightly separated and in the next room and contains a king size bed. The bathroom is off the bedroom and has a large shower stall with a three quarter glass brick wall. The small problem here is the opening to the shower is directly in-front of the shower head, but the shower head is on an extended arm so water is not going everywhere, it's a little backwards, but not a big issue. Room 16 is located behind the hot tub area and has a small outdoor semi private siting area, unfortunately this is located next to the hot tub's electrical/plumbing system so it is not a place you would want to sit and have your morning coffee especially in August. Room 16 also has a king size bed and the same bathroom setup with a shower stall. Both of these rooms are a little dated and in need of a refresh. We happened to look into a bother room, located next to the breakfast area, the room number escapes me, but this room is newer and has updated features and fixtures and the shower stall is nicely tiled and has a sliding glass door so water stays in the shower.

During happy hour Jay went over house info, like the property is not manned 24 hours and provided after hours contact info. He also went over happy hour and breakfast details. Because the property does not have a liquor license, they don't have a bar, but do have a daily happy hour where they provide to the guests, free of charge, beer, wine, and a frozen rum drink. A continental breakfast is also served each morning which consists of coffee, apple and orange juice, cereals, yogurt and yes canned fruit, as so many have commented on before… It is simple and basic.

Overall the property is nice and fairly well maintained with mature plantings. The layout of the property creates an inner courtyard which shields you from the outside world, though like some of the dated rooms the property could use some updates. Additionally the upper sun deck is still out of service, but we thought there was ample space around the pool and we did not miss this aspect.

The night before we checked out, we received a note from the staff thanking us for choosing the Equator and reminded us about tipping and suggested a 10% tip based on the room charge before taxes. While we were expecting this, from reading past reviews, we did find this to be a little excessive. We travel regularly and have stayed at many fine resorts and on cruise ships where we have been waited on hand and foot 24 hours a day and our room was serviced several times a day. This is not the case at the Equator, our room was services once each morning, when we came out for breakfast usually about 8am before showering or getting ready for the day. On two occasions when I was asked if they could service the room, I told them no because my partner was still sleeping and I received a disappointed look from the staff. It almost felt as if, they wanted to clean the rooms as quickly as possible, so they could get onto other jobs… In my estimation in order for them to warrant a 10% tip based on room rate they would truly have to kick up the service several notches. We did leave a tip that we felt was representative to the level of service the property provides.

Sleeping was peaceful, we did not encounter any noise from other guests, this could be because room 15 does not share a common wall with another room. Additionally, we did not hear any pool noise during the night and the property was full. All and all we enjoyed our time at the Equator and would stay there again. Thanks for reading.

The property is men only, clothing optional.

Room Tip: Room 15 does not share a common wall with other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robbie_and_Dennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We had a great room overlooking the pool and stay for 12 wonderful and relaxing days.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richard r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed at Equator for the first time in almost 20 years of visiting Key West after a horrible experience at Oasis/Coconut Grove last year. Equator was outstanding in every way. The property is immaculate - there is obvious pride in the property from ownership and management. The entire staff, from the manager to the hosts to the cleaning/maintenance staff could not have been nicer or more accommodating. Because of the nature of Equator and the environment, the other guests were also a delight - the place obviously attracts a friendly, quality clientele. We are already looking forward to our next visit! After last year, Equator has rekindled out love for Key West. Bravo!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank ajeffw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

My partner and I returned to the Equator for the Memorial Day weekend. We were pleased to meet up with old friends since like us, most of the guests were repeat cunsomers.
They have added a new frozen drink machine which makes wonderful drinks which are free during happy hour. They have also added happy hour on Sunday hosted by Rocco. Rocco was the perfect host and bar tender making sure that all of the guests were served. He even served the drinks to the guests in the pool. That is A1 service.
Happy hour is the perfect time to meet the other guests and exchange information about their Key West travel experiences. Many new friendships have resulted from the happy hour experience.

The staff is always friendly and willing to help with reservations at local events or provide information on the new additions to Key West. We were told to try a new restaurant called Paseo just a few blocks from the guest house. We went on their advise and it was excellent.

We have already booked several return trips to the Equator. The guest house fills up quickly for holidays and special events. Gary, Rocco, Billy, Jay and Helen( the cat) always make us feel welcome.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank starman543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed here over the weekend to get away from it all. The staff is very friendly when spoken to and the pool area is very tropical and relaxing. The pool was always nice and warm along with the hot tub and the guest house was one of the better places to stay in our opinion. We met some really nice guys staying here and some not so friendly, but that's the case anywhere you go.

We think a few minor improvements would really make the guest house top rated including upgrading the bed linens and comforter, bath amenities/towels and for breakfast in the morning in addition to the other selections, is to have fresh fruit cut up instead of canned, yuck. We didn't see one person take any of the canned fruit and I have never seen this in any guest house where we have stayed.

The cocktail hour was red and white wine with assorted beers. They also had some pretzels and popcorn in bowls to take. I had the Merlot and it was actually pretty good and I enjoyed it. John who was the staff that day acted like the bartender and served your drinks, but the only disappointing factor was Sundays they don't offer the cocktail hour.

As others have posted, there was a sign on our side table next to our bed suggesting a 10% tip at the end of your stay, and we also received a letter the last night of our stay reminding us of this. It doesn't bother me, they don't force you to tip and if it's not your thing, then don't as they personally don't pressure you to do it other than the sign/letter. The only other place to suggest this was in SF when we stayed there.

Overall we thought this resort was really nice and relaxing and we will be back since they also allow small dogs and we were able to bring ours with us.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jmraggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#9 of 51 in Key West
1,809 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
0.5 mi away
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Albury Court Hotel in Key West
0.3 mi away
Alexander's Gay and Lesbian Guesthouse
2.9 mi away
Sunrise Suites Resort
Sunrise Suites Resort
#2 of 22 in Key West
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Equator Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Equator Resort

Address: 822 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Key West
Price Range: $149 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all male - clothing optional Equator Resort in Key West meets all your needs and expectations to experience a relaxed and private escape. Beautifully designed and landscaped this high end post modern Caribbean resort invites our guest to enjoy a secure and exclusive all male experience. Offering numerous accommodations options ranging from island views, pool views with private balconies or our private owners suite all our rooms provide private baths. Included in each night stay are: Complimentary Continental Breakfast daily with fresh locally baked savory pastries, Complimentary Happy Hour daily with selections of frozen drinks, beer, wine and liquor options, Complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the property and 9 complimentary adult male channels in each room. Only 3 blocks from Duval St and nestled in the heart of Historic Old Town Equator is the only choice for location, comfort and privacy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Equator Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing