We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a cop in sight”
Review of Glazed Donuts

Glazed Donuts
Ranked #1 of 9 Coffee & Tea in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $6
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: One of USA Today's ten best places, Glazed donuts is the southernmost donut shop in The Continental United States. Located in Key West Florida we practice the arts of mixing, fermenting, frying, and glazing dough in order to make some pretty incredible donuts.
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not a cop in sight”
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

You're probably wondering, how could a donut shop in a foodie place like KW be so highly rated on a review driven sight like Trip Advisor. I did to when I first read about the Glazed Donut on here. After visiting the place a couple of times I know why.
This place is not a Dunkin Donut wannabe. The place is not on Duval where most of the cruise ship traffic goes, it's small, very clean and the husband and wife owners are formally trained chiefs and bakers who had that entrepreneur gene in them and decided to open up a place of their own. Wow, a real treat. Some might think they are to morning sweets what Better Than Sex is to night time sweets, both places are in a class of their own. Please also note. If you're a law enforcement member i in now way was being disrespectful by my headline. I was trying to use an old cliche to get attention. It might be hard to imagine a donut could this good but theirs are.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    584
    129
    39
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Thought I Died and Went to Heaven”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I stumbled on Glazed by chance and thought I had died and gone to heaven, The best donuts I have ever eaten. Expensive but worth every delicious bite. A must if downtown, a must if across town. I live on the other side of the island from Glazed but don't mind the drive because the result is heaven.

Cassandra Toppino

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ctoppino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Donuts.....Yum”
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

If you like fresh homemade donuts, then this is the place for you. You can watch as the very friendly staff makes the donuts.

Several flavors of donuts are offered (my favorites are cinnamon sugar and glazed).

The coffee is also quite good. There are a few tables inside. Very informal and friendly. In addition, they sell newspapers - The Key West Citizen, the NY Times, the Wall Street Journal, among others.

Helpful?
Thank Ben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
65 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Their menu is limited to about eight varieties of made-on-site donuts and a few other items. There are a couple of tables, but this is really a take-out place open from 7-3. The donuts seem to vary a bit from day to day, but they have a classic glazed, special jelly, chocolate covered, and a couple of specialty ones and if you get there early they are still warm and, well, a bit greasy just as they should be. Let them sit a few minutes and the oil disappears. If you are counting calories don't go hear, but if you want great donuts like me, you won't find better ones. After trying these you'll never want Dunkin again. Amazing how Dunkin made us think they know how to make donuts.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NJBeachCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Amazing doughnuts”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

BIG, and soft... BUT with more oomph than Krispy Kreme.

The maple bacon was a big hit. Sugary bacon pieces (not crumbs) arranged around the donut accented with a yummy brown sugar something. The plum bullseye as also to die for. I'm not fond of the too sweet filling in a typical jelly donut. The plum filling is sweet and tasted like fruit, not just sugar.

We stopped here three times for breakfast while in Key West for a week! It is a little sparse on atmosphere, but so yummy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glazed Donuts also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Glazed Donuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing