We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Guesthouse full of soul”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mermaid & The Alligator
Ranked #2 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Guesthouse full of soul”
Reviewed April 19, 2007

We were on vacation in Key West on 4th of April to 13th of April. We stayed at the Mermaid and the Alligator. The guesthouse was fantastic! We had the sun room and it is exactly like the picture in their netpages, perfect! The M&A is not far from the Duval and still far enough to have quiet and relaxed atmosphere. The staff was magnificent, especially Dean, who cordially took care of us. I recommend this guesthouse for everyone staying at Key West, especially for couples. Romantic get away place!

Helpful?
Thank Shentune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    802
    45
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
30
697
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2007

The Mermaid and the Alligator is a quintissential Key West Inn. The owners manage to think of every detail to make your stay perfect without being intrusive or over-attentive. There are great breakfasts in the garden every morning, with fresh fruit, yogurt, muffins, and a hot entree. They have beach towels, a lunch cooler to bring to the beach, and free internet for those of us who need to check email once in awhile. The main house is amazing-- great art surrounds you, and the interior of the place is stunning. We stayed in the Key Lime room for three nights. It is small, but cozy and perfectly suited for us. It was quiet and tastefully decorated. The only bummer was they had an air conditioner in the only workable window, which forced you to use the AC instead of using the natural cooling effect of the beautiful breezes we had all week. I imagine the AC comes in handy, though on really hot days. The gardens are a great way to relax, and we took advantage of the hammock to read in the afternoon. A great location, great service, and we would DEFINITELY recommend this place to anyone. If you are on a budget (we broke ours, but still) try the key lime or papaya rooms--a great deal with the breakfast included for pricey key west! We had to move to a different inn as they were booked for the rest of the week, and we were sad to leave!

  • Liked — The relaxing vibe
  • Disliked — The mandatory AC
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Moonmom21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2007

My boyfriend & I stayed at The M&A for a few nights this past summer after doing TONS of research on places to stay in Key West. We had both been there on college spring break & knew that we wanted to have a very different experience now that we were out of college. I knew from all of the amazing reviews of this B&B that it was going to be the place for us. The point that I want to get across from this review is that The M&A isn't just a place for older travelers. We were by far the youngest guests in the house, but it was one of the best trips that we have ever been on together. If you are looking for a quiet & cozy place to enjoy the person that you are traveling with, then this is the place. We stayed in the Caribbean Queen room. A memory that I will have for the rest of my life is sitting on the huge balcony with him,that overlooked the front of the house, and enjoying the cool summer night in Key West. Definitely one of the most romantic & beautiful places that I have ever stayed!

  • Liked — The landscaping and decor of the house
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Sarah231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2007

My wife and I spent 6 nights at the Mermaid and Alligator in the Key Lime Room. For us , it was perfect. The beautiful tropical grounds, delicious breakfasts and friendly wine gatherings were a great way to meet other people who like to stay at bed and breakfasts. If you are looking for the McDonald's sameness of national hotel chains, no matter how "glitzy" or "upscale" they may be, this would not be for you. That's what we like about bed and breakfast lodgings. They are all different. The Mermaid and Alligator stands out among the best b &bs at which we have stayed, if not the best. An elegant yet laid-back place to stay. Highly recommended. Can't wait to go back again!

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Euge F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2007

The review titled: "Paradise on Earth!!!" (Jan 2, 2007 Mellie&Porgie, Colquitt, Ga.) perfectly sums up this incredible Bed & Breakfast.

To add to it, we stayed in both the Papaya and Key Lime rooms (switched half-way through the week) and both are exquisite. You can walk or ride your bike anywhere in KW from this perfect location. Word of advice: if driving from Miami, drop the car off at the local rental car agency b/c you won't need it - pick it up on the day you leave. If good weather and not too much traffic, drive from Miami is nice. If short on time, fly directly into KW.

  • Liked — Personal service
  • Disliked — Bed in Papaya room but that's the only thing
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank phillysteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2007

My husband and I have stayed at the Mermaid & Alligator at least 12 times (I've lost count) and will continue to return at least once a year for the foreseeable future (we live in the D.C. area). The innkeepers have become more than hosts, but friends. They are wonderful people and run a first-class, gorgeous establishment.

I've read some of the bad reviews, and understand why many of them exist. As a frequent guest, let me help clarify a bit:

The oft-complained-about assistant, Maggie, is no longer with the property - and she was the root of 90 percent of the problems. The assistants there now are courteous and professional.

The house can be a tad noisy - but it's more than 100-years-old! I live in a 70-year-old house, and the creaks add to the character of the place. A B&B like the Mermaid is for courteous adults - we're all sharing a house - so respect the other residents and all will have a nice time.

The beds are great, the evening wine a lovely touch, the soaking tub refreshing, and the service fantastic. The house is beautiful, the rooms all great in their own special way, and the M&A is a wonderful getaway for adults wanting to relax. Come visit!!!

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank SkierMomArlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colquitt, Ga.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2007

Our only Xmas gift to each other was a 5 night stay at The Mermaid and The Alligator (ages 53, married couple)--which we first discovered on the Internet. Trusting internet photos to be what it claims when booking a vacation can sometimes be a risky venture! After flying into Miami and renting a car for the 4 1/2 hour drive ( extra hour due to terrible, terrential rains), we were tired, a little cranky and just hoping that we hadn't made a bad choice in B & B's. Dean, one of the owners, had called us as we drove, to confirm that we were indeed on our way, and was kind enough to explain how to check ourselves in at 10pm. Words can NOT describe our utter shock as we entered into the back door. We were entering paradise on earth!!! The entire property was an oasis! Dean, we later learned, was also a horticulturist, and had literally turned his lot into a tropical garden! He and the other owner, Paul, had obviously done a great amount of research on how to make their guests feel so "at home!" Every amenity you could imagine was at our fingertips--complimentary wine each afternoon; delicious frittatas/ quiche, muffins, fruit, beverages served each morning outside in the "paradise" garden. Meeting and getting to know the other guests was such a delightful experience as we all seemed to gather about the same time each morning to be catered to by the staff! The 3 storied B&B had been converted into the most amazing and relaxing home, with the owners even having wonderfully soothing music playing throughout the home, candles burning, free internet access, any reading material "known to God" available, beach towels, mats, and even back packs to borrow for a day at the beach! One of our very favorite employees was Dana, who just--- plain and simple--"made things happen!" She quickly set us on our paths as tourists, what to see, where to eat, etc. After many, many miles of walking each day, it was heaven to crawl into the heated jacuzzi/ small pool to soothe those aching joints!! Guests ranged from newly-weds to retirees--all seeming to bond, regardless of age differences,too! This is a MUST STAY PLACE!!! Lastly, we learned that the next time, we will fly straight to Key West rather than rent a car for the 350 mile round trip(to/from) Miami--we never drove it while at KW--we rented a moped one day, then bikes---MUCH easier to navigate by these modes than a car!! And MUCH MORE FUN!!! I can honestly say that The Mermaid and The Alligator was truly a piece of paradise.
Melanie and George Williams
"Georgia Peaches"

  • Liked — Beautiful oasis type grounds,food, staff, tranquility
  • Disliked — absolutely nothing!!!
  • Tips/Secrets — Book early; be prepared to be spoiled rotten by the staff
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank Mellie&Porgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
1,612 reviews
1.6 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.3 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,070 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
2,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mermaid & The Alligator? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mermaid & The Alligator

Property: The Mermaid & The Alligator
Address: 729 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-6423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the casual elegance and style of a more relaxed age. Our beautiful circa 1904 Victorian Home, located in the heart of Old Town Key West, offers the warm hospitality of a traditional bed & breakfast while providing our guest a place to relax, enjoy the ambiance, and even shut out the rest of the world if you choose. Join us and feel at home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Mermaid And The Alligator
The Mermaid & The Alligator Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing