We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly perfect!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mermaid & The Alligator
Ranked #4 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2009

We have stayed in many hotels and a few B&Bs around the world. The M&A is up there with the very best and is also quite personal. By that I mean that you quickly get to know the owners and their help and the dogs. All this is managed without being in the least intrusive. The Christmas decorations went up while we were there. They are spectacular!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDMCentralPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (895)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

763 - 769 of 895 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2009

After spending 4 days at a huge private estate in Islamorada (where we got married), we spent 3 days at the Mermaid and the Alligator for our mini-honeymoon. I have to say we were in complete secluded paradise in Islamorada, so it took a very special place in Key West to not disappoint us. The Mermaid was perfect! The gardens are beautiful, the house is expertly decorated, and Geri is simply a pleasure to be around. The Mermaid and the Alligator is truly a peaceful oasis in bustling Key West and the friendly staff can't be beat. We stayed in the Garden Room which is on the first floor and opens up to the gardens. The Garden Room has a fantastic shower too. The breakfasts were also absolutely amazing - probably the best quiche I've ever had! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kittenkatt79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2009

My husband and I spent 3 nights at The Mermaid & Alligator. It took me forever to decide which B&B I wanted to stay at in KW - there were several that looked interesting. I have to admit one of the reasons I picked the Mermaid & Alligator was the name - I know, dumb reason! We were so pleased that we did though - this place was beautiful! I can't think of any negatives about the place. We stayed in the Royal Poinciana room - the bed was so comfortable. We loved our private bacony off our room. The whole house was decorated so nicely - I need them to come decorate MY house! The garden area and pool was beautiful, the breakfasts were delicious, and the 2 dogs that lived there were fun. If (and I hope we do!) we ever make it back to Key West, I would definately stay at The Mermaid & Alligator again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhwheatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2009

The lady who runs the desk helped us find activities and rentals for bikes. We felt very much at home and I would stay there again. It was also very nice to come "home" and dip in the pool. Oh, the gardens were a paradise.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FtLauderdale-Merlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Mermaid & Alligator for three nights. It's a lovely home in Old Town Key West. Immediately felt comfortable and at home with Geri, Dean & Caroline. Not to mention the beautiful dogs Havana & Caya! Stayed in the Bamboo Room which was just what we wanted for a quiet, relaxing time in Key West. Beautiful patio/backyard area for relaxing with a glass of wine or for a fantastic breakfast each morning. Geri & Caroline were very helpful in arranging for dinner reservations and coming up with some great suggestions for dinner, activities, etc. Would highly recommend staying here to anyone visiting Key West and I would love to stay here again on my next trip to the Keys.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DolphinsNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2009

All the other reviews we read about the Mermaid and The Alligator are right on. Super surroundings - so many nice touches make it feel less like a tourist destination and more like an exotic getaway. The statue of a Mermaid and the Alligator overlooks the pool that is refreshing and perfect for cooling off after day out exploring. The hosts do not hover which we liked. We sat reading in the garden area without interruption and enjoyed the fountains, birds and butterflies. a lovely garden for quiet contemplation.

Other nice touches - canvas bags and beach towels for guests to use when they were off the property. We took a day trip to the Dry Tortugas; the coffee was ready early and we grabbed a couple of the Mermaid and Alligator tote bags and beach towels and headed out the gate. Came home to lounge in the pool and relax before heading out for a night on the town.

The quiche, fresh fruit and choice of juices made for a nice breakfast to start the day. We don't mind paying for staying in nice relaxing surroundings - our stay at the Mermaid and the Alligator was worth every penny. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H20LoverYes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

After much research of every hotel and B & B in Key West my wife and I decided on the M&A and we were not disappointed. It was above our expectations.........We had the Audobon Room and it was great! Very comfortable king size bed, jacuzzi tub, and a 5 ft shower next to it. The gardens outside are extremely beautiful and relaxing with a small pool. Breakfast every morning was delicious and something to look forward to. We met some great people and the staff was great. Geri and Caroline that work there are the best and the most konwledgeable in helping you find an activity or restaurant in town. The owners Dean and Paul could not have done a better job of decorating and running that place. Pretty centrally located from most touristy attractions and only 3 blocks from Duval St so you can even walk to a lot of places. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NaturlProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.3 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,699 reviews
0.3 mi away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.5 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#8 of 51 in Key West
700 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mermaid & The Alligator? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mermaid & The Alligator

Address: 729 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-6423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $189 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the casual elegance and style of a more relaxed age. Our beautiful circa 1904 Victorian Home, located in the heart of Old Town Key West, offers the warm hospitality of a traditional bed & breakfast while providing our guest a place to relax, enjoy the ambiance, and even shut out the rest of the world if you choose. Join us and feel at home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Mermaid & The Alligator Hotel Key West
The Mermaid And The Alligator

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing