We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home for the Holidays!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mermaid & The Alligator
Ranked #5 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home for the Holidays!”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

My husband, daughter, son in law & I spent the Christmas Holiday 2013 at The Mermaid & The Alligator. The accomodations were wonderful as well as the breakfasts provided. The staff couldn't have been more gracious, even making reservations prior to arrival for restaurants and a show and checking for availability during this popular week in Key West. The location was perfect: within walking distance to fabulous restaurants as well the action on Duval St. The house and grounds were decorated beautifully for the holidays including a huge tree inside. I was hesitant to spend the holiday out of town as this was not our tradition but we were made to feel "at home for the holidays". We were fortunate to get a chance to stay at this superior place. Thank you M&A!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    825
    46
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
30
721
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Matthews, NC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

My husband and I just returned from our second visit to the Mermaid and the Alligator. I just can’t say enough good things about this B&B! We stayed here 5 years ago and couldn’t wait to stay again. We spent 2 days in the Treetop Suite and the rest in the Caribbean Queen. Both rooms were beautiful but we really enjoyed the porch and hammock in the Caribbean Queen! It was just as I remembered it and we look forward to coming back in a couple of years! Breakfast was delicious as always and the cocktail hour was wonderful as well. We loved seeing Caya and Havana, it just felt like coming home! Geri, Rebecca, Dean & Paul are all wonderful help with reservations and suggestions! Already looking ahead to 2016!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatieBnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I stayed at the Mermaid several times in the past and was always very satisfied. The last few years I couldn't get a reservation, so stayed elsewhere and was always disappointed. But I got lucky this year (note, lucky = planned really early).

The place is still first rate. I love the owners' dogs (the so-called muffin monsters). Dean was a great host. The staff and owners will make recommendations that are always spot-on. They put out lemonade and wine and sweets in the afternoon.

This is a romantic place for ADULTS. I have no clue why someone would bring kids there.

We will be returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Howieb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

My husband and I recently spent three nights in the Audubon room. We were very pleased with our stay. The gardens at this B&B are magnificent. We would have happily spent each day just lounging there if it weren't for the fact that Key West has so much to offer! The lemonade and sweets mid afternoon, along with the complimentary wine at 5pm were a nice touch. Service was great and the location fantastic. It's a short walk to Duval Street. There are a number of great restaurants within walking distance. Two of our favourites were Seven Fish and Blue Heaven. The home is beautifully decorated. We were sad that we were only able to spend three nights there. We will definitely be returning to Key West and when we do we will stay at the M&A, or one of the other homes owned by Dean and Paul.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oceanic66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful visit to Key West! The Mermaid & The Alligator was absolutely wonderful! Dean and Gerry were very warm and welcoming. I have never felt so comfortable staying away from home! We stayed in the Audubon Room - it was large and inviting with a great bathroom and jetted tub. The water was always hot and the pressure always strong. Our room was located on the main floor of the house and had a walk-out to the gardens. Despite being close to other activity in the house it never felt overly noisy and intrusive. We could hear laundry across the bathroom wall during the daytime but it was never excessive.
All services and amenities were amazing. Hot breakfast served each morning was different every day but always delicious - french toast was the favorite of the week. Waters and sodas were available and saved quite a bit on drinks that would have otherwise been purchased. Large, soft towels and tote bags were available to take to the beach. Location is within walking distance to the action on Duval St. while being far enough away to still feel peaceful and quiet.
Caya and Havanna, resident Retreivers, were wonderful additions to our stay. We have a Labrador at home and missed him dearly. Playing with and petting these sweet girls helped our home-sickness tremendously. We both look forward to our return to Key West and future stay at The Mermaid & The Alligator.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reed1416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Found The Mermaid & The Alligator on Tripadvisor because of all the positive reviews and booked 4 nights. We never planned a trip without some known recommendations and did not know what to expect. We were more than delighted when we arrived. Dean and Paul were gracious hosts and Geri planned a sailing trip for us that was perfect. The location is accessible to all the attractions with an easy 5 minute walk. The rooms are beautifully appointed with details that that make you feel special. The breakfast was amazing each morning and afternoon wine the perfect touch. We meet other friendly guests and can't wait to book our next visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garden Room on the first floor. It had a lovely French door that opened to a tropi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank framegirlmontclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We really loved our stay here and found it quiet and serene but centrally located in walking distance to restaurants, sightseeing and Duval Street. We had a car but didn't move it the entire stay because it was more fun to walk everywhere. The tropical gardens are gorgeous and the wine served in the evenings is a nice touch. I would have liked a few more options for breakfast but was happy with everything we were served.

Room Tip: We had the Bamboo Room with its own front porch in the garden. The porch was great for relaxing and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,682 reviews
0.3 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,156 reviews
1.6 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
152 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mermaid & The Alligator? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mermaid & The Alligator

Property: The Mermaid & The Alligator
Address: 729 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-6423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the casual elegance and style of a more relaxed age. Our beautiful circa 1904 Victorian Home, located in the heart of Old Town Key West, offers the warm hospitality of a traditional bed & breakfast while providing our guest a place to relax, enjoy the ambiance, and even shut out the rest of the world if you choose. Join us and feel at home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Mermaid & The Alligator Hotel Key West
The Mermaid And The Alligator

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing