We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Silver Palms Inn(Key West)(Great Value!)
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$383
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$205
$197
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$399
$237
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $295/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Southernmost Beach Resort(Key West)(Great Value!)
$296
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Havana Cabana at Key West(Key West)(Great Value!)
$233
$171
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$324
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$273
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$273
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ocean Key Resort & Spa(Key West)
$625
$609
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (955)
Filter reviews
955 results
Traveler rating
886
49
13
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
886
49
13
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbamboo roomaudubon roomtreetop suiteevening wineafternoon lemonadekey limecomplimentary winethought of everythingplunge poolquicheother gueststhe main housebeach towelseach morningtropical oasisbreakfast was deliciousqueen room
Filter
Updating list...
489 - 494 of 955 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

This was our second time at the Mermaid
and the Alligator . This time we stayed in the bamboo room. The bamboo room is a free standing bungalow with a charming front porch for your exclusive use. I can tell you we made full use of the porch.At the end of the day with a glass of wine we would enjoy the lush gardens and the sounds of the birds.it was so inviting we would invite the lovely people we met to join us on "our porch". We were so comfortable with this room we re-booked before we left.
The quality remains constant. The breakfasts excellent ,high standards maintained, dogs well trained and lovable.I miss my dogs when I travel and I think Caya and Havana sense this.
I highly recommend this B+B.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ozzydog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of being guests at the mermaid and the alligator last year for our anniversary. From the moment we walked in we felt welcomed. The home is absolutely beautiful and the rooms graciously appointed. The owners were extremely helpful with restaurant and sight seeing information. They booked all of our excursions and even ordered our bicycles for the week. We didn't even have to call a cab to take us to the airport. They took care of all of it. Breakfasts out in the garden were a special treat. My husband and I rarely visit a destination more than once, but are considering revisiting the mermaid and alligator.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trish K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We were looking for something special to celebrate our anniversary and The Mermaid and the Alligator fit the bill. They contacted us before our visit to help with restaurant and excursion reservations which helped immeasurably. Then, from the start, we felt at home. Each room at this B&B has it's own personality - we had the opportunity to stay in two different rooms, the Sun Room and the Treetop Suite. Both were fantastic!
Everyone associated with this friendly home was phenomenal, friendly, helpful, and did everything they could to make us comfortable.
We will be going back to Key West and we will do our best to stay at The Mermaid and the Alligator - it's just so popular, they seem to always be full

Room Tip: We loved the Sun Room because of the private terrace.... the Treetop Suite was spacious and beautiful - you have to be careful that you don't hit your head on the sloping ceilings (tall guys especially), and the garden tub would be great but we're not tub people.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The treetop suite was quiet, private and overlooked Paradise! It took a little adjustment due to the eaves that created an awesome ceiling. The staff was very attentive - available for any need. Rebecca and Geri provided incredible concierge service making suggestions and reservations when we were overwhelmed by our wedding. The gardens are truly paradise. Dean provided us with plenty of tips for our own secret garden. We enjoyed the pool in the afternoons before going out on the streets. We can't wait to return! P&R

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank SweetDreamsPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is by far one of the best B&B's I have ever stayed in. We stayed for 4 nights last October and loved it. The owners were very helpful and courteous. The breakfast is amazing with a different main dish every day coupled with yogurt, fruit, etc. The grounds were gorgeous with a pool, deck and garden area. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DM1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews