We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Mermaid & The Alligator
Nearby Hotels
$266
$233
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Hibiscus Motel(Key West)(Great Value!)
$306
$279
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Key Resort & Spa(Key West)
$430
$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$326
$309
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn(Key West)(Great Value!)
$252
$219
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$285
$270
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$191
$175
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$398
$354
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (931)
Filter reviews
931 results
Traveler rating
864
48
13
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
864
48
13
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbamboo roomb baudubon roomtreetop suiteevening wineafternoon lemonadekey limecomplimentary wineplunge poolquicheother gueststhe main houseeach morningtropical gardenqueen roombreakfast was deliciousbed and breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
510 - 515 of 931 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We absolutely adored this place! My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights during our honeymoon in October 2012. On arrival, we were shown around and given lots of information about the inn and Key West in general, and I have to say the inn captures the essence of the island perfectly! We stayed in the Garden Room, which was incredibly cute and comfortable, and had patio doors opening out into the gardens... which are serene and, whilst still being shared amongst the guests, felt really private and secluded... and included a spa pool, hammocks, actual lovebirds, and all sorts of exotic plants.

The staff were really helpful, booking an excursion in the mangroves for us and having a wealth of information on local restaurants. Our room was clean, well decorated, extremely comfortable, and relaxing. The shower room was particularly interesting (glass brick walls - don't worry, it's covered by exotic plants outside so no one can see), and the amenities were perfect (including free wifi and delicious-smelling soaps etc).

Caya & Havana, the gorgeous flat-coated retrievers, really added to the relaxed environment of the inn; especially for my husband and me who love dogs. Havana's a bit older and is happy to just chill out inside and escape from the heat, but Caya loves to play and will bring sticks to you while you're sat in the spa so you can throw them for her.

There is a general 'welcome to our home' feeling at the inn, where you can wander around at your leisure, there's free juices and snacks during the day, and free wine in the evening. We were so relaxed whilst staying here and really didn't want to leave!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LittlePepperpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I can't say enough about this wonderful B&B. The Key West flavor is evident through and through. We stayed in two different rooms. The first night we were in the Bamboo room, which is in a small cottage behind the main house. It was nestled in the most extraordinary, lush garden. Little brick pathways twist and turn between palms, and other exotic plants, trees and shrubs. The garden area is where you have breakfast along side a covered pergola. It's so serene and peaceful, you can't believe you're in the middle of key West. The next couple of nights we were in the Caribbean Queen room, and it too was delightful, with a balcony that faces the street. Even though the Bamboo room only has a queen bed, I think that it's my favorite. Oh, did I tell you that the breakfasts are spectacular? We have been staying in B&Bs for many years, and this one certainly goes to the top of the list!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BentleyDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We recently completed our second visit to this inn in Key west fl. My reviews were most flattering after our first visit, however times have changed and would not recommend this overpriced noisy inn in the future.
Following our reservations made in April 2012 they informed me , after it as too late to change that they had instituted a non smoking policy anywhere on the grounds, which is fine as that is their right..
I also have a allergy to pet dander and one of their dogs rolled on our bed triggering a allergy attack., as well the dogs frequent the food areas begging from guests.
The staff is hostile and generally give the impression that you are intruding on their privacy, most unpleasant folk.They then claimed falsely that I had smoked in the room and charged 100.00 for cleaning which was not mentioned at checkout , this was totally unauthorized charges so beware giving these folks your credit card, we have informed Visa and will dispute this charge.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jerry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MermaidAlligator, Owner at The Mermaid & The Alligator, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

The truth is the truth so let’s get to the truth. This vindictive rant comes from the fact that this individual choose to smoke inside his room at the Inn and won’t fess up to it. We have had a non-smoking policy inside our inn and rooms for 16 years (in place during his first visit) and recently expanded to include the entire property. We emailed notice of this change to all of our advanced reservation and offered a full refund to any guests that choose to cancel. After notifying our future guests of our non smoking policy only 3 cancellations were received, 1 sarcastic response from this same individual and 57 emails thanking us for making the decision to provide a smoke free environment.
We should have known the game he was up to when he refused housekeeping service. Thus we were not aware of the smoke infiltrated room until after departure. We should have known the game he was up to when he was caught feeding one of the dogs at the breakfast table with one of our famous “muffin monster” signs right there asking not to do so. The dogs are trained not go into the rooms but when enticed by someone that fed them, they can’t resist. Even a helpless dog has been victimized by this individual.
It’s pretty obvious when someone has smoked in a room. As it took an entire day to decontaminate the room and clean the air conditioning system to ready for the next guest, we had no choice but to charge him the recovery fee of $100. (Some hotels now charge up to a $500 fee.) In our 16 years as innkeepers, we have never had this happen where we had to charge a guest for smoking inside their room.
We are blessed with wonderful guests who come to our inn and KW to enjoy themselves. We suggest reading his first review of the M&A and then other reviews, you will see nothing has really changed, at least with us. Fortunately we very rarely experience a guest that is looking for nothing but trouble. We cannot be mad and this individual we can only pity him. The truth is the truth, we know it and he knows it. He is the one that lives with the lie, and sadly this appears easy for him.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is a true example of where the customer is king. Nothing is too much trouble, or left to chance and no detail is overlooked. From the complimentary fridge of cool drinks, to the umbrellas or beach towels to take out. The garden is an oasis of calm with a huge hot tub; the bedrooms focused on comfort with their own mood enhancer! Breakfast is made up of home cooked goodies. I cannot recommend this B&B enough and would not consider staying anywhere else if I am ever lucky enough to return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sun room which was bright and quiet, overlooking the garden. A small balcony enhanced the experience.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YW4YW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This was my first time at a B&B. This place is beyond words. From the Love Birds to the Florida native plants you would have to see to belive.
Where my husband and I stayed you awoke to the song of the birds, what a sound to be awoken to. The staff took care of you like you were their family. Caya and Havanna, the best moscots ever. I booked our room for our next vist before returning to Sarasota. (we have no place like this in Sarasota)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews