We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply exceptional”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mermaid & The Alligator
Ranked #5 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I can't say enough about this wonderful B&B. The Key West flavor is evident through and through. We stayed in two different rooms. The first night we were in the Bamboo room, which is in a small cottage behind the main house. It was nestled in the most extraordinary, lush garden. Little brick pathways twist and turn between palms, and other exotic plants, trees and shrubs. The garden area is where you have breakfast along side a covered pergola. It's so serene and peaceful, you can't believe you're in the middle of key West. The next couple of nights we were in the Caribbean Queen room, and it too was delightful, with a balcony that faces the street. Even though the Bamboo room only has a queen bed, I think that it's my favorite. Oh, did I tell you that the breakfasts are spectacular? We have been staying in B&Bs for many years, and this one certainly goes to the top of the list!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BentleyDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (892)
There are newer reviews for The Mermaid & The Alligator
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 892 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

We recently completed our second visit to this inn in Key west fl. My reviews were most flattering after our first visit, however times have changed and would not recommend this overpriced noisy inn in the future.
Following our reservations made in April 2012 they informed me , after it as too late to change that they had instituted a non smoking policy anywhere on the grounds, which is fine as that is their right..
I also have a allergy to pet dander and one of their dogs rolled on our bed triggering a allergy attack., as well the dogs frequent the food areas begging from guests.
The staff is hostile and generally give the impression that you are intruding on their privacy, most unpleasant folk.They then claimed falsely that I had smoked in the room and charged 100.00 for cleaning which was not mentioned at checkout , this was totally unauthorized charges so beware giving these folks your credit card, we have informed Visa and will dispute this charge.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jerry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MermaidAlligator, Owner at The Mermaid & The Alligator, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

The truth is the truth so let’s get to the truth. This vindictive rant comes from the fact that this individual choose to smoke inside his room at the Inn and won’t fess up to it. We have had a non-smoking policy inside our inn and rooms for 16 years (in place during his first visit) and recently expanded to include the entire property. We emailed notice of this change to all of our advanced reservation and offered a full refund to any guests that choose to cancel. After notifying our future guests of our non smoking policy only 3 cancellations were received, 1 sarcastic response from this same individual and 57 emails thanking us for making the decision to provide a smoke free environment.
We should have known the game he was up to when he refused housekeeping service. Thus we were not aware of the smoke infiltrated room until after departure. We should have known the game he was up to when he was caught feeding one of the dogs at the breakfast table with one of our famous “muffin monster” signs right there asking not to do so. The dogs are trained not go into the rooms but when enticed by someone that fed them, they can’t resist. Even a helpless dog has been victimized by this individual.
It’s pretty obvious when someone has smoked in a room. As it took an entire day to decontaminate the room and clean the air conditioning system to ready for the next guest, we had no choice but to charge him the recovery fee of $100. (Some hotels now charge up to a $500 fee.) In our 16 years as innkeepers, we have never had this happen where we had to charge a guest for smoking inside their room.
We are blessed with wonderful guests who come to our inn and KW to enjoy themselves. We suggest reading his first review of the M&A and then other reviews, you will see nothing has really changed, at least with us. Fortunately we very rarely experience a guest that is looking for nothing but trouble. We cannot be mad and this individual we can only pity him. The truth is the truth, we know it and he knows it. He is the one that lives with the lie, and sadly this appears easy for him.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is a true example of where the customer is king. Nothing is too much trouble, or left to chance and no detail is overlooked. From the complimentary fridge of cool drinks, to the umbrellas or beach towels to take out. The garden is an oasis of calm with a huge hot tub; the bedrooms focused on comfort with their own mood enhancer! Breakfast is made up of home cooked goodies. I cannot recommend this B&B enough and would not consider staying anywhere else if I am ever lucky enough to return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sun room which was bright and quiet, overlooking the garden. A small balcony enhan...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YW4YW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This was my first time at a B&B. This place is beyond words. From the Love Birds to the Florida native plants you would have to see to belive.
Where my husband and I stayed you awoke to the song of the birds, what a sound to be awoken to. The staff took care of you like you were their family. Caya and Havanna, the best moscots ever. I booked our room for our next vist before returning to Sarasota. (we have no place like this in Sarasota)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We had a great 4 night stay in Key West at The Mermaid & The Alligator. We actually stayed in 3 different rooms and enjoyed them all. The home is beautiful and the gardens are lush and so relaxing. The breakfast are good but not fancy. We enjoyed every minute of our stay and hope to come back next year. They know how to run a nice B&B.

Room Tip: I liked the Garden room especially the shower.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FunAggie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This was our first time to a B & B and we were delighted. Our room was very eclectic but also
elegent and homey. The breakfasts were delicious and having them served in the garden was a
big bonus. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The gardens were lovely and there were numerous seating arrangements throughtout the grounds; lounge chairs, hammocks, or table and chairs. Loved the two dogs and the birds. We would definetly recommend this guest house and are looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A delight. Warm welcome. Breakfast cooked specials may not be to everyone's taste if you like cooked style egg and bacon- but the muffins were superb. Garden is fantastic- full of hidden corners. Great plunge pool hammocks and shady areas What a find! Thank youk

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wisewoman68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.3 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,695 reviews
0.3 mi away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#8 of 51 in Key West
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mermaid & The Alligator? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mermaid & The Alligator

Address: 729 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-6423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $148 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the casual elegance and style of a more relaxed age. Our beautiful circa 1904 Victorian Home, located in the heart of Old Town Key West, offers the warm hospitality of a traditional bed & breakfast while providing our guest a place to relax, enjoy the ambiance, and even shut out the rest of the world if you choose. Join us and feel at home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Mermaid & The Alligator Hotel Key West
The Mermaid And The Alligator

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing