We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved this place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mermaid & The Alligator
Ranked #4 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The property is beautiful...house is historic and extremely well decorated. The grounds are landscaped like a park. I liked that the owners lived next door and not in the house, so you never feel like an intruder. It's a big walk to the historic area, but cabs are plentiful. Breakfast was nice. We stayed in one of the smaller buildings outside the main house and it was lovely. This is a very tastefully done B & B.

Room Tip: They're all nice. We stayed in the bamboo room and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peggy55Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (895)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

496 - 502 of 895 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stay in some hotels and some bed and breakfasts, we like a good mix.
For those who like bed and breakfast this is one of the best. There is attention to detail in every way. We stayed in the garden room and loved the convince to the pool and grounds, it has it's own door leading out. The glass block shower is amazing. The staff has excellent information on everything Key West and their restaurant listings, if you like good food, are on the money. The grounds deserve another mention, after a night out it is an incredibly relaxing place for a cigar or to just enjoy the late evening, many quiet areas to sit. The staff also deserve another mention one of the best we have had the pleasure to meet.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rickywork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We had never stayed at a B&B before so after looking @ the reviews we decided to stay here and if you have never stayed at a B&B you do not know what you are missing. From the time we arrived our hostess gave us a warm welcome and told us if there was anything they could do to assist us during our stay to please feel free to ask. In the mornings we were served a delicious breakfast in the garden area and in the evening we were served wine and snacks. The rooms were very cozy and super clean. We could not have asked for a better place to stay. Also, I can't forget to mention the two dogs (Caya & Havana) that owned the house, they were the most sweetest things I have known. Just a pair of the most friendly and lovable dogs you have ever met, and their humans, Dean & Paul were also very gracious hosts. Definitely would return.

Room Tip: Can't get a bad room here, just choose what suits your style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SCSunkist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This was our first time to stay at The Mermaid & The Alligator and it was wonderful! From the time I booked the room, their great service started by way of emails keeping us up to date with services offered. Anytime that I thought of a question regarding our stay, I received a prompt answer via email. During our stay, we received personalized attention and they think of every little detail to make your vacation one to truly enjoy. We were so impressed that we have already booked a room for our next visit to Key West. Thank you to Paul, Dean, Geri, Caroline and the great housekeeping staff for making our vacation wonderful!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tracy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Although we stayed a year ago, I remember our experience so well I have to review! From the minute we arrived we felt a warm welcome. The room was comfortable, intimate, private, and very accessible on the ground floor. From there, to the fabulous breakfast in the garden, to the wine and snacks in the afternoon to the little pool, it deserves all of the reviews it receives.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The attention to detail combined with the comfort and service of this B&B made it one of the best we hav stayed in. The cleanliness of the rooms and the fresh smell of clean luben when you wlm into your room everyday is one if the many things that mke this a very classy and special place to stay. Better thsn a 5 star resort. The owners are very accomodating and the staff were always pleasant and helpful. The breakfast which was served every morning in the garden was delcious and portions were very generous. Breakfast easily kept yoh oing for most of the day. I would higly reommend this property and ill definately stay again. Thank you Dean and Paul.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Best Bed & Breakfast experience ever. We have stayed in Bed & Breakfast in the US and Europe - nothing compares to The Mermaid & The Alligator.

Even before you arrive they are sincerely interested in your having a perfect vacation. From emails advising of events while we were going to be in town, offers to make reservations, and welcoming us ... to a warm personal welcome, lovely rooms, perfectly charming breakfast, afternoon snacks, early evening wine - everything was perfect.

I truly cannot imagine what they could do to make the stay at this bed & breakfast any better.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.3 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,700 reviews
0.3 mi away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.5 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#8 of 51 in Key West
701 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mermaid & The Alligator? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mermaid & The Alligator

Address: 729 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-6423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $184 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the casual elegance and style of a more relaxed age. Our beautiful circa 1904 Victorian Home, located in the heart of Old Town Key West, offers the warm hospitality of a traditional bed & breakfast while providing our guest a place to relax, enjoy the ambiance, and even shut out the rest of the world if you choose. Join us and feel at home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Mermaid & The Alligator Hotel Key West
The Mermaid And The Alligator

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing