We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place has it all!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mermaid & The Alligator
Ranked #2 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This place has it all!”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Although we stayed a year ago, I remember our experience so well I have to review! From the minute we arrived we felt a warm welcome. The room was comfortable, intimate, private, and very accessible on the ground floor. From there, to the fabulous breakfast in the garden, to the wine and snacks in the afternoon to the little pool, it deserves all of the reviews it receives.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    802
    45
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
30
697
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The attention to detail combined with the comfort and service of this B&B made it one of the best we hav stayed in. The cleanliness of the rooms and the fresh smell of clean luben when you wlm into your room everyday is one if the many things that mke this a very classy and special place to stay. Better thsn a 5 star resort. The owners are very accomodating and the staff were always pleasant and helpful. The breakfast which was served every morning in the garden was delcious and portions were very generous. Breakfast easily kept yoh oing for most of the day. I would higly reommend this property and ill definately stay again. Thank you Dean and Paul.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Level Contributor
305 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Best Bed & Breakfast experience ever. We have stayed in Bed & Breakfast in the US and Europe - nothing compares to The Mermaid & The Alligator.

Even before you arrive they are sincerely interested in your having a perfect vacation. From emails advising of events while we were going to be in town, offers to make reservations, and welcoming us ... to a warm personal welcome, lovely rooms, perfectly charming breakfast, afternoon snacks, early evening wine - everything was perfect.

I truly cannot imagine what they could do to make the stay at this bed & breakfast any better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I recently had the pleasure of staying at The Mermaid & The Alligator. We were traveling to the Keys the same day hurricane Isaac was scheduled to arrive. We called to see if we could check in a day early and Rebecca was instantly able to accommodate us. Our room was beautiful, we stayed in the Royal Poinciana and had a private lanai to enjoy each morning and evening. Because of the storm we spent most of Sunday indoors and were made to feel right at home by Paul and Dean. The muffin monsters, Caya and Havana (the inns adorable dogs) being there just add to the warmth of the beautiful B&B. Great recommendations were made for food, fun and nightlife. The other guests were really enjoyable and being "stuck" indoors really didn't seem to damper anyone's day. Key West is a fun and a tropical paradise but what made our trip so memorable was our stay at The Mermaid & The Alligator. Breakfast was always delicious and happy hour was a nice way to start the evening. Geri, Dean, Rebecca and Paul made us feel more like friends than guests, it's just a wonderful place to stay. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoDee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My husband and I live in Naples, FL, and rarely get away on a "vacation." We decided to go to Key West for 2 nights over labor day weekend. It was a fantastic getaway for us - we actually wish we would have had a 3rd night. Geri was awesome. She booked our restaurant reservations, our activity reservations (including one of the best massages we have ever had), and was just full of knowledge. Dean and Paul are great, and we loved Havana and Kaya. We stayed in the "tree top" room - which was very romantic. Loved the blue green combo and the tub. We will definitely stay here again as it is an easy escape for us. We would both highly recommend The Mermaid and The Alligator.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne4778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My husband and I spent 3 wonderful days at the Mermaid and the Alligator. We arrived shortly before Tropical storm Isaac, and were greeted with warm friendly faces (Dean and Paul) and wagging tails (Havana and Kaya). We received a tour of the house and the wonderful gardens. We stayed in the "Tree Top" room, which was beautiful. It had exposed wood, all kinds of angles and a great jacuzzi tub.The room also has a great shower. The breakfast was wonderful, something different each day. We really enjoyed the plunge pool and spa, since Isaac made getting in the ocean not so appealing. They have several cages of birds which was really relaxing to listen to as was the music. Paul, Dean and Geri were very helpful with suggestions of things to do and places to eat. They really made the trip a great experience.

Room Tip: Take the virtual tour and see all the rooms each one is unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Mermaid and Alligator for 2 nights and really liked the experience. We stayed in the Audubon Room which was very nice with the highlight being a large bathroom with a "wet" room shower.
The two dogs were great, very well behaved and fun to play with. Nice touches included the coffee machine and sodas in the kitchen, afternoon cakes, lemonade and wine and the large jacuzzi was very nice.
I'd definitely stay here again if I was in Key West.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seraph101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
1,613 reviews
1.6 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.3 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,072 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
2,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mermaid & The Alligator? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mermaid & The Alligator

Property: The Mermaid & The Alligator
Address: 729 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-6423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the casual elegance and style of a more relaxed age. Our beautiful circa 1904 Victorian Home, located in the heart of Old Town Key West, offers the warm hospitality of a traditional bed & breakfast while providing our guest a place to relax, enjoy the ambiance, and even shut out the rest of the world if you choose. Join us and feel at home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Mermaid And The Alligator
The Mermaid & The Alligator Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing