We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (960)
Filter reviews
960 results
Traveler rating
891
49
13
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
891
49
13
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bamboo room audubon room treetop suite evening wine afternoon lemonade key lime complimentary wine thought of everything plunge pool quiche other guests the main house beach towels each morning tropical oasis queen room breakfast was delicious
Filter
Updating list...
644 - 649 of 960 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2012

My wife and I enjoy traveling and staying at bed and breakfasts and small boutique hotels. The Mermaid and the Alligator has to be the tops to date. From the tropical garden to the cozy bedrooms to the scrumptious but healthy breakfasts to the innkeepers, Dean and Paul, and their attentive staff, all is right in this piece of paradise in Key West. So right that after spending five days at New Years we decided before leaving to book six nights for next year.

A review of this Inn would not be complete without mentioning Caya and Havana, the resident dogs. They are truly ambassadors for the Inn and their friendliness and antics make you feel like part of the family. They are always willing to share one of their many toys with you.

While a visit is the proof of the pudding, the Inn’s website does an excellent job of accurately presenting what is waiting for you at this marvelous location in the Keys.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AUcouple-on-the-road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

My husband and I are avid world travelers. We have been going to Key West for 6 years This is the best B&B we have ever experienced. Dean and Paul are fabulous hosts as is the staff. The place is beautiful and the food is excellent and homemade. They helped with everything and anything we needed. The M&A was our choice for our 25th wedding anniversay during Fantasy Fest. As dog lovers, it was nice to play with Havana and Caya. Every part of the M&A made our vistit memorable and special.

Room Tip: Look at the web site and pick. All the rooms are great.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank archzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We throw our vote to all the others on Trip Advisor who think this is the best place to stay in Key West. A romantic spot for couples, but the service is outstanding with a concierge that will email you recommendations before you go and then book them for you-priceless! Dean and Paul go the extra mile to make sure every aspect of your stay is flawless. Whether it is jockeying your car in the lot to make sure it is available when you need it, or putting our healthy snacks and drinks for no extra charge practically all day. There is a fully stocked frig in the kitchen with various drinks for the guests and wine and snacks at 5 each day- all at no extra charge. The fact that all these amenities are included in your room rate should be taken into account by prospective customers-they do not nickel and dime you. The hot meal for breakfast is worthy of special mention. We were there for 5 nights and there was a different tasty and nourishing entree each morning. There are two lovely dogs who engage with the guests only when the guests engage them-and they are fabulous animals. The decorations for the holiday season were both over the top and tasteful - a difficult thing to do in my opinion, but they did it - Tourists would be stopping all day and in the evening to take pictures. The rooms have every appointment you would need including a white noise machine and whirlpool baths in the rooms we stayed in. We are going back next year!

Room Tip: You get what you pay for-but all the rooms are comfortable. We stayed in the Caribbean Queen and the Audubon room and both were great!
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BonVivant39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

My wife and I were very fortunate to spend four nights in early December at The Mermaid and the Alligator. We had an exceptional experience and appreciate the dedication and hard work of Dean and Paul, the owners, Rebecca the concierge, the weekend concierge whose name I failed to note (sorry!), and the rest of the staff - without a doubt they are all committed to provide a flawless and exciting stay for each guest.

At the risk of repeating what many other reviewers have stated as well, The Mermaid and the Alligator has it all. It is located in a very convenient location, we parked our car and walked during the four days we were there. All the main restaurants, beaches, and tourist sites are within easy walking distance of the B&B. Be aware this is an adult only B&B and while we have 7 grandchildren, the atmosphere of the inn, the daily wine hour in the afternoon, etc. were all adult oriented.

Rebecca was very helpful with restaurant recommendations and reservations as well as useful information throughout our stay.

Our garden room was just as advertised, beautiful, spotlessly clean and well designed and appointed. We particularly enjoyed the art work collected by Paul and Dean, both in our room and throughout the Inn. Tasteful is the word that comes to mind to describe our overall impression of the Inn.

The tropical nature of the garden and grounds was beautiful and very restful. Breakfast in the garden afforded the opportunity to meet other guests from throughout the US and Canada. This is always a pleasure when staying at a B&B rather than a hotel. The garden is extensive and very nicely done. While we didn't use the pool, it was very attractive and had the weather been warmer would have been a nice respite on a hot day.

The vegetarian breakfasts were delicious with plenty of choices for each guest. To be clear, there was a breakfast of the day accompanied by choices of cereal, juices, coffee, etc. Breakfast was a leisurely meal taken in the garden.

I could go on, but I think my comments fairly capture our impression of the B&B. When in Key West (this was my first visit and it certainly left a positive impression) The Mermaid and the Alligator will certainly be our choice of accommodation.

Thanks again to Dean, Paul, Rebecca and all the staff, you left us with positive memories we will always have of our visit to Key West. Well done!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GreyGhost007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

As we entered The Mermaid & The Alligator thru the gardens, tears came to my eyes. This B&B was as beautiful as all the pictures on Trip Advisor if not more so!! And the beauty continued as Rebecca gave us the grand tour :-) The staff was so helpful and dedicated to our "temporary" home. I wish we could have made it our permanent home :-) Everything was immaculately clean! Geri made breakfast for us every morning, answered all of our questions, and kept our Pepsi addiction supplied :-) We could just sense the love & dedication she had for her job!! Paul & Dean, the Innkeepers, were also very dedicated to the B&B. They were frequently seen decorating the B&B for the holidays. And despite Dean's challenges with the Christmas Tree lights, he persevered late into the evening to finish that tree. The dogs, Caya & Havanah, added to the home-like feeling. What a wonderful time!! If we ever get back to Key West, we will only stay here!! You can't improve on perfection!!

Room Tip: Book early to even get a room!! The rooms were beautiful!! Rebecca gave us a tour of the rooms that were between guest arrivals.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews