We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“loved it so much we stayed 8 days”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Ranked #9 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
yorkshire england
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“loved it so much we stayed 8 days”
Reviewed January 16, 2007

we called at the visitor centre 10 miles out of key west and a very helpful guy called H said we would love this place. what a wonderful surprise this bed and breakfast was. a genuine colonial property set in the historic district .
it was only two blocks from duval street but on a quiet tree lined residential street.it had a superb courtyard, where an above average breakfast was served. the rooms were spotlessly clean and each room or suite was themed differently.
ben and tina in the office were very helpful no matter what your request and the rates were very good for the quality of the accommodation.
we will certainly stay here again on our return to key west.
andy and mary crawford .yorkshire .england

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
Thank andy-mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,217
    152
    31
    8
    8
See reviews for
225
765
26
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2007

My wife and I have stayed at this same property at least 5 times now. The rooms are very clean and the staff is very responsive to requests. Also, we just love those heated pools, even though you don't really need one in Key West :)

Ben and Tina are very friendly and helpful when you want to book a special activity or just find a great place to eat. Tip: ask Ben where to get the best pizza on the island. It's very close to the Ambrosia and may be the best pizza I ever had! Also, there's a great sports bar right around the corner where I got to watch the Eagles/Giants game on several huge projection TV's while my wife lounged by the pool.

Save yourself some money and don't bother renting a car while your here. There's plenty to do right in town within walking distance.

When you're down with the Key West night life you can head back just a few blocks to the quiet restfulness of the Ambrosia. Cheers!

  • Liked — Central location
  • Disliked — Wireless internet spotty at times
  • Tips/Secrets — Prefer staying at Ambrosia Too
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Rankinfile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, FL
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2007

In December we stayed at Bob's Place for the 3rd year in a row. What a lovely place!! Tina, Ben and the entire staff are OUTSTANDING!! They're a big part of the reason we keep coming back. We've always found Ambrosia Too to be clean, neat, beautifully landscaped and ideally located. They're also pet friendly, which is a must for us. We're booked again for next year and can't wait! Stay here once and you'll never want to stay anywhere else while in Key West.

  • Liked — Great Room and location for pets
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Tips/Secrets — go and enjoy yourself, feel secure and don't worry about anything
  • Stayed December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LadyandSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2007

This was our first trip to Key West. After much research and reading reviews, we called the Ambrosia. We booked into Ambrosia Too. Ben, Tina, Anna, and all the staff were super. And the facilities? - perfect! After all of our footwork around Key West for a week, I found no place I'd rather stay than Ambrosia Too. If we go back to Key West (likely), we're going back to Ambrosia Too, hopefully to the same room. All the rooms were nice (including at Ambrosia 1); the breakfasts were good; the pools were warm; close walk to Duvall and the Harbor (we didn't rent a car); the service first rate. Totally pleased with the Ambrosia experience. Five stars all the way!

Oh - and we ParaSailed for the first time. Everyone should do it at least once.

M. Daley
Wisconsin

  • Liked — Location, Service, Privacy.
  • Disliked — No negatives
  • Tips/Secrets — No real need for car rental, unless travelling awat from Duval and Harbor areas
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank M&MWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2006

Read the reviews then go there and expect to br amazed.

One of the few times we found the reality was better than the expectation.

Book any room - thery're all superb. Try the pools. Heated and available anytime you want (we swam three times a day over four days).

Breakfast - plentiful and eat in your room, outside your room, around the pool - if we'd had an extra day we were going to try outside in the street - and it would still have been superb!

Yes, we'll be back.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank RetiredandhappyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fayetteville, ar
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2006

We just returned from our 25th anniversay trip to Key West where we stayed at Ambrosia for an entire week. We considered several properites for our vacation before we settled on Ambrosia. We could not have made a better choice.

Ambrosia is very convenient to Duval, museums and restaurants, but is amazingly quiet and private. (you can bike anywhere you want to go) The setting is outstanding and lush. The staff is friendly and exceptionally helpful. We know we will make a return trip to Key West and I feel confident we will stay at Ambrosia again.

Thanks so much. Our trip was wonderful and memorable.

Earl and Kim
Fayetteville, AR

  • Liked — relaxed, unhurried plus gorgeous setting
  • Disliked — I can't think of one thing that I disliked
  • Tips/Secrets — tell Ambrosia the reason for your visit.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank earl&kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Forge, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2006

We stayed two nights in the Treehouse Two room and it was great. The room and bath are very large and the private 2nd floor porch is even bigger. The grounds are very lush and there was no street noise. Breakfast was excellent with hot biscuits, sausage and eggs as well as danish, juices, coffee, yogurt, etc. There are three pools (we had one to ourselves both days) and great service from the staff. It well deserves it high rating on TripAdvisor. We will be back for sure !

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
Thank JRservices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
1,613 reviews
1.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.7 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,679 reviews
0.5 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,070 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging

Property: Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Address: 622 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, Pet Friendly B&B in the heart of Old Town Key West. The perfect getaway - one block from Duval, 2 blocks from the Historic Seaport - this Bed & Breakfast has 3 pools surrounded by lush gardens and is the ideal place for a relaxing retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing