We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Marquesa Hotel(Key West)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Eden House(Key West)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,501)
Filter reviews
1,501 results
Traveler rating
1,288
161
34
9
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,288
161
34
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjungle roomb bhavana cabanabob's placekatie's cottagefleming streethoneymoon suiteevery morningpoolside roomfresh fruittwo blockshot tubprivate porchquiet streetparking spotthe location is perfectbagels
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,266 - 1,271 of 1,501 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2006

We just stayed at the Ambrosia House in Key West Florida for a week. Words that describe the property OUTSTANDING, BEAUTIFUL, FRIENDLY & ACCOMADATING!

First off we were traveling with my 24-year-old son that has Muscular Dystrophy. They went out of their way to help make his stay comfortable. The rooms are spotless, the gardens not the largest in Key West but well kept and beautiful. The morning breakfast very well done!

Located in the center of town close enough to shopping, sight seeing and nightlife. Yet just fare enough to be quite, peaceful and comfortable.

I’ve been to Key West a number of times and have stayed at a number of places and would go back to the Ambrosia without question!

1  Thank MarkandAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2006

My husband and I recently stayed at Ambrosia in the Havana Cabana room for five nights. We really like to stay at nicer hotels and independent hotels when we have the opportunity. We were a little concerned about the room we had booked because there weren't many pictures of it on the web. Nonetheless, while the room wasn't the most posh that we have ever stayed in, it was really great. The king size bed, while really too big for the room, was beautiful and not something that you can get in a Marriott. The room, while a little small for our standards (and luggage), was still great and the bathroom was quite spacious. What really sets this place apart is the location and service. Ben is really great (read the other reviews and you will realize what a great commodity he is) and the breakfast is a nice touch. They recently added a hot breakfast (eggs, bacon, biscuits) which we enjoyed, especially given we were there during a bit of a 'cold snap' . That being said, we still spent some time in the pool which was heated and perfect.

As for dining, I highly recommend Cafe Marquesa, which is less than a block away. Great food, service and fantastic desserts.

I would not hesitate to stay at Ambrosia again, and I recommend it highly. The service is really what makes this place unique and worth the visit.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emilyrushing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2006

The Ambrosia Hotel in Key West is a Gem. We stayed for 3 nights in the Jungle Room and cannot fault anything. The entire hotel is equipped to a very high standard and spotless. Breakfast is excellent, loads of choice and served outside by the pool. Attention to the little things is obvious - they will even post postcards (and pay the postage for you!).

You will not be disappointed if you stay here. Its only a 5 minute walk to Duvall street and about the same to the marine. The hotel is in a very safe area and you can roam around at ease.

We went on a dolphin watching trip with the company that runs the catamarran sunset trip and this was also excellent, the staff went that extra yard to make sure that you saw as many dolphins as you could. - Well worth the $45 cost.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Chris_Halford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2006

This was our second stay at Ambrosia Key West. The first time was 5 years ago across the street in the Jungle Room at Ambrosia House. This trip we stayed in Bob's Place, a two story townhouse right next to the dip pool at Ambrosia Too with our own hammock on the second floor deck. I would heartily recommend both. Ambrosia is situated only 2 short blocks off Duval Street and a short walk to Mallory Square where most of the night time action is, but in a quiet, secluded area. The poolside breakfast features hot scrambled eggs, bacon and biscuits. There are fresh juices, cold cereal, bagels, sliced fresh fruit, yogurt, and coffee cake. Everything was delicious!
The 40' lap pool and smaller dip pool are both heated. We could walk outside our room and in just a few steps be in the dip pool.
The staff couldn't have been more friendly and accommodating. Complimentary bottles of water were placed in our refrigerator daily. There is also an iced bowl of complimentary water bottles poolside. Our townhouse was spotless. The bath towels were luxuriously thick and soft.
We consider Ambrosia Key West our own little bit of Eden. We will definitely be back.

Stayed: November 2006
Thank travelbug51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2006

My wife and I stayed at Ambrosia for 4 nights in mid-Nov. and have nothing but positives for this quaint inn. We were one of the first to experience the expanded menu for breakfast and we were very impressed (they added scrambled eggs and bacon to their sumptious array of carbohydrate heavy rolls, fruit, and other baked goodies).

Ben at the front desk was a big help on lining up excursions and making dining suggestions. The room (pool room at Ambrosia Too) was spacious and immaculate with a very comfortable bed and pillows. The grounds were beautiful and well maintained and really let you know that you are in the tropics. The location, a block and a half off of Duval was perfect. We did not move our rental car once during our stay.

Quick hits on activities/restaurants:

Snorkel excursion to Rock Key with Sebago lasted 3 hrs+ and icluded equipment and beer/wine on way back. This was a tremendous experience for only $38. Ben lined it up. A+

Lunch at Louie's backyard-pricey but quality and superlative view. B+

Dinner at Hot Tin Roof (Ocean Key Resort) recommended by Ben. Fabulous view and food. (I had grouper, wife snapper) Grade-A

Lunch at Blue Heaven-in all the guide books and it is well worth the trip. Reasonable prices and cool vibe. Grade A

Sloppy Joes and Hogsbreath-buy your t-shirts and leave-Grade C

Dinner at Fogarty's- outdoors right on Duval near Mallory Square- great location to people watch and solid food/price-Grade B+

Dinner at Antonio's on Duval- excellent Italian food-Grade A-

Salsa Loco- Mexican restaurant on Duval-Okay but I wish I would have tried something else-C+

Conch Train Tour-Seems hokey but you learn and see a lot-Grade- A

Hemingway House-Grade B+

Truman House- Grade A

Mel Fisher Maritime Museum A+

Pirate Soul-Grade D (go back to Mel Fisher again instead)

Fort Zachary Beach-Nice place to go swimming and lovely view just remember that you didn't come here for the beach-Grade B-

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank yannarelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews