We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Notch Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Ranked #9 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Top Notch Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2006

My wife and I celebrated our 25th anniversary by staying a week at Ambrosia House . I ... well... I snore. And so we need two separate bedrooms. Ambrosia House easily arranged that with a lovely two story, two bedroom house on the hotel grounds. But we soon discovered another personal problem. I wanted the air conditioning on, and my wife did not. So she went to see the manager Ben. Ben took out his booking schedule and figured a way to hopscotch my wife from one quiet not-necessarily-air-conditioned room to another, leaving me alone in the two story house. She was happy, and I was happy.

Clearly, Ben did not have to do what he did. It created more work for the house staff maids, for one thing. And messed up his booking sheets for another for potential guests who wanted to book.. But he was happy to help and never even teased me about the snoring.

I went to Ben myself at one point and asked his assistance in having a bouguet of anniversary flowers delivered to my wife. He took care of that, too, and the flowers were so gorgeous that she brought them back to Chicago on the plane.

We could not have asked for more accomodating or nicer staff at Ambrosia House. I would recommend the place in a heartbeat.

Helpful?
Thank nugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,208
    152
    31
    8
    8
See reviews for
224
758
26
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2006

We just stayed at the Ambrosia this month (June, 2006). It was a perfect choice. Quiet and relaxed, the inn is a short walk to Duval and the Harbor area. It is also near some of the charming restaurants tucked away in the residential streets (Cafe Sole, Seven Fish, Cafe Marquesa, etc.). Fausto's, the small gourmet grocery, is two minutes away if you want some nice wine and cheese.

In the mornings, we enjoyed relaxing at the lap pool as we had our coffee and breakfast. We stayed in one of the upstairs poolside rooms overlooking the lap pool. The room was very clean with well-appointed Florida decor and a very comfortable firm bed. The end unit afforded us a very bright room since we had sidewall windows. With the french doors, I think all the upstairs poolside rooms would be very bright.

The reception office is exceptionally sharp and organized. All of the staff was very knowledgeable and helpful in setting us on our way to the sights and sounds (and delicious seafood) of Old Key West!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcoPolo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
463 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2006

We stayed for three nights at the beginning of June 06. We booked after reading Trip Advisor and certainly did not regret it. Ambrosia consists of two locations, Ambrosia itself on the north side of the street and Ambrosia Too on the south side. we were in Ambrosia which is a more traditional house whereas Ambrosia Too is a bigger complex centring on the pool. We prefered the quieter location of Ambrosia, and just loved our Salifish room complete with cat. The four poster bed was the best we have ever slept in away from home. Luxurious soft down and feather covering over a firmer main mattress. There was a good lounge and a tiny but adequate kitchen area in the bathroom. Just two blocks away from Duval it was an easy walk to all main locations in Key West and, like many other guests, we did not move our car all the time we were there. The staff were great, Claude gave us an excellent overview of where to go in Key West when we arrived and nothing was too much trouble.

Helpful?
Thank Bobbio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2006

As usual the Ambrosia house and it's staff were wonderful. I have stayed here many times and had the oppurtunity to bring my friends and family down for my wedding. We had a great time.

The staff goes out of it's way to make every trip a memoriable one and I was happy to have the chance to share this with everyone.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2006

We stayed at the Ambrosia House from June 5 to the 9th. It was not near long enough! This was our first time to Key West and we were there to celebrate with friends who were getting married at Fort Zachory Taylor Beach. Since the bride to be had stayed at the Ambrosia many times, this is where she booked all of us. It is a great place to stay. We had a pool side room which was very nice. It was cleaned daily, had a refrigerator, TV, very nice bed, etc. They have a continental breakfast every morning in the gazebo by the pool (cereal, pastries, muffins, bagels, fresh fruit, coffee, tea, juice). The Ambrosia is only a few blocks from the main part of town which is Duval Street. This is where all the great shops are. We could walk just about everywhere we went. Tina, in the office, was very informative on any questions we had and had suggestions for places to eat or to visit. The gate into the pool area is locked at night and they give you a number to open it, so all in all the place is very safe. We could not have asked for a better place to stay and we hope to return. So if you are looking for a great, safe, close to town, place to stay - then make your reservations at the Ambrosia.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2006

The Ambrosia truly made our experience in Key West perfect! Great location, quaint tropical surroundings with a very clean Bed & Breakfast feel. The breakfast spread in the morning in the cabana was wonderful!!! We stayed in one of the Pool Side Rooms. Very nice and clean accomodations and each room had a unique feel to it. We had a large group rent out much of the Ambrosia. It was great for a group destination yet still kept a private feel ... the exta perks were shopping strip a block away and the lap pool to lounge in. They always seemed to have plenty of beach towels available. The managers were always there to help w/ reservations and or find a great day/night adventure to enjoy. They even mail out your post cards for free. I would go back and stay there many times over. We had friends staying at the Hyatt...but the Ambrosia...had a much more unique Key WEst feel to it w/ all the local shopiing/entertaining conveniences. Ambrosia is two thumbs up!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2006

Larry and I had a great time in Key West and were extremely happy with Ambrosia! The room was beautiful, everyone was so friendly and helpful, and I fell in love with Lucky the dog and the bird that lives there! Ben and Tina were really nice, and answered all of our questions and had great recommendations of places to eat and visit. We were on our Honeymoon, and were just far enough from Duval to have a private quiet place to stay, but still close enough to all of the action. We would absolutely stay here again when we come back to Key West!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hudsongrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.7 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#2 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.5 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging

Property: Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Address: 622 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, Pet Friendly B&B in the heart of Old Town Key West. The perfect getaway - one block from Duval, 2 blocks from the Historic Seaport - this Bed & Breakfast has 3 pools surrounded by lush gardens and is the ideal place for a relaxing retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing