We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Ranked #9 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, CA
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“A little piece of paradise!”
Reviewed May 28, 2006

The Ambrosia House in Key West was where we spent the last 4 nights of our wonderful trip to Florida and we feel fortunate that we found this little piece of paradise. The intimate inn is a serene oasis with lovely landscaping giving guests a true taste of old town Key West. It's hard to imagine that accommodations at this peaceful garden setting is only a block and a half from loud 'n lively Duval Street!

The friendly staff was very helpful in providing information. Note: there is an excellent grocery/deli a block up the street. We bought sandwiches there before taking off on a snorkeling trip and they were delicious! Great wine selection, too! Ambrosia House provides glasses and even a cheese plate and knife in your fridge if you'd like to pick up a snack at the store to enjoy at the inn. There is also a laundromat a couple of blocks away (on Elizabeth) if you need one, like we did.

We were given the keys to the Sailfish Room, which is on the ground floor (center) of the Ambrosia House, across the street from the office. Yes, this is an old (albiet charming) house and there were a few spots where it showed it's age (sloping floors and creaky spots). Our room had it's own living room, very comfy bed in the bedroom and ample-sized bathroom. The decor was nice...kind of a mix between 'beachy' and 'tropical jungle'. We had a darling porch with lounge chair - where the resident cat often chose to nap. Around the back of the house was a small jacuzzi pool in a garden setting.

Breakfasts were served each morning in the gazebo across the street, next to the 'lap pool'. There was a very nice variety of fresh fruits, breads and muffins, hard cooked eggs, milk, cereal, juice, yogurt, and coffee or tea. Because we do our workouts in the morning, we took our breakfast back to our room to enjoy later, a very convenient option for us -- but there were also umbrella-shaded tables next to the lap pool if you chose to eat there.

We didn't move our car once in the four days that we were in Key West. No need to...with restaurants and shopping all within walking distance. They also have the Conch Train that you can ride to explore more territory if you are tired of walking or little golf cart-type cars to rent and buzz around in. Keep in mind that not ALL the restaurants are on Duval Street...in fact some of the better ones are tucked away on a quiet side street. (i.e. Mangia Mangia at Southard at Margaret and Kelly's Caribbean Bar & Grill on Whitehead at Caroline Streets)

If you are looking for a comfortable, accommodating, relaxing place to stay in Key West, look no further than the Ambrosia House or the Ambrosia, Too across the street. It's a real treasure...in paradise.


  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MStangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,236
    154
    33
    8
    8
See reviews for
228
783
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2006

We just spent 4 days at the Ambrosia II in Key West and it was the best getaway ever.
We have been vacationing in Key West for over 30 years and came down to
celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary... and have never had a better time.
The suite we stayed in was large, clean, and comfortable, with a huge porch that lead down into a deep lap pool. Every morning we had hot muffins, fruit, coffee etc
in the Gazebo at the end of the pool. All of this was in a Garden setting and only a short
walk from the hustle bustle of Duval street. We never moved our car the entire 4 days
and walked everywhere... The office booked us a trip to the Dry Tortugas which
we had never done before... and it was great. We played tourists on the Conch Train.
Went to the restaurants that were recommended... and hung out.. We were supplied
with wine glasses and a chilled cheese plate in the frig and the best hospitality we've
ever experienced in key west.. Can't wait to return.

Helpful?
2 Thank Lalnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2006

A lot of touristy Key West is loud and a bit tacky, but this place -- within walking distance of Duval -- is peaceful, serene, luxurious and beautiful. Back yard areas of both the Ambrosia and Ambrosia II (across the street) are oases, with small pools and beautiful landscaping, and guests get to use the facilities at both. We stayed in the Jungle Room of the Ambrosia, and the small pool was right outside our door -- it felt like our own place.

These places are very romantic, quiet and relaxing. Staff was great. One small problem -- we did spot a spare key for the room in an outdoor location near the room itself, which was disturbing -- but we genuinely loved the place. In addition, the provided continental breakfast had high-quality fresh fruit, very good pastries, cereal and yogurt -- it was very good. We would come back in a heartbeat. Note that this is a small, intimate inn made out of old houses that have been subdivided, so if your idea of luxury is, say, a Hyatt, this might not be your cup of tea. But it is a beautiful, private inn.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frobozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 21, 2006

I've been all over the world, and stayed in many first class resorts. Ambrosia measures up to all of them. It is a tropical, peaceful, sanctuary nestled in the heart of Key West, easily accesable to all that Key West has to offer, but mainting itself as a refuge of tranquility.
I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruskin, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2006

Where to start?? I celebrated my 40th Birthday at the Ambrosia in Key West. We rented Katies Cottage. I could not have asked for a better place to be at. We had our own kitchen (with blender for drinks by the our own private pool). Ben (at the office) helped my friends to order a cake from a local bakery, and had information for us about where to eat, even made reservations for us!! We were a just over a block from Duval. We walked everywhere!!! It was an awesome time, one that I will remember forever. Thanks to everyone at Ambrosia!!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kena1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2006

I've just returned from a trip to Florida including two nights at the Ambrosia. What a great place to stay! Close to everything, quaint, great service and a chance to get a feel for old Key West. We stayed in the Havana Cabana, which is on the second floor of a house across the street from the Ambrosia office. I agree with remarks made by others about this room--it was tastefully decorated, comfortable, with a large bathroom. Being an old house, there were just a few spots where the room showed it age--a couple of places where the paint was just starting to peel on the ceiling. Overall though I thought the room was well above average, very clean and well-maintained (and I am a tough critic.) There are newer rooms in the building across from the pool, and these looked nice though right in the midst of everything--pools, paths to other rooms, etc. We enjoyed sitting on the front porch overlooking the street (which was very private) and cooling off in the swimming pool. The breakfasts were terrific. All the staff were friendly and helpful, the recommendations were outstanding. I would definitely stay again.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
Thank 7mlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2006

Being from New York City, my wife and I are always ready for something nasty to happen. A week in Ambrosia at the end of April changed all that. It is the only hotel or B&B that we know with FREE water in the fridge. A REAL breakfast with fruits, yogurt, muffins, etc ... is included. Our room was big, had a huge closet, and was always kept very clean. The place is quiet but, at the same time, only a couple of blocks from Duval. Staff (we mostly dealt with Ben) was very helpful and friendly. We stayed at Amrosia Too and the yard (with a pool) was very picturesque. We will definitely be back (and, in fact, have already made a reservation for next year).

Helpful?
Thank AlexanderNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.0 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#5 of 51 in Key West
1,022 reviews
0.4 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,130 reviews
0.7 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging

Property: Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Address: 622 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, Pet Friendly B&B in the heart of Old Town Key West. The perfect getaway - one block from Duval, 2 blocks from the Historic Seaport - this Bed & Breakfast has 3 pools surrounded by lush gardens and is the ideal place for a relaxing retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing