We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mini Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Ranked #9 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Orlando, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Mini Vacation”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Very pleased! Staff was friendly and helpful. Loved our room. perfect location... Breakfast was included which was very well done. Grounds were beautiful. A hidden gem. Room was spacious and clean. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherri a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thanks for the review. We are nestled in the heart of Old Town within walking distance to Mallory Square, the Historic Seaport, and Duval Street. We do have a friendly staff who enjoy interacting with our guests in the office and the courtyard. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our complimentary hot breakfast buffet featuring eggs, bacon, sausage and gravy, biscuits, waffles, fresh fruit, yogurt…just to name a few. Lexi, Tina, Marilyn, and Jenny cannot wait to greet you on your return visit. Best Regards, Tim and the Ambrosia Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,235
    154
    33
    8
    8
See reviews for
227
783
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edgewater, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Ambrosia is not only a quaint B&B; they have heart!! Extremely accommodating when plans deviated from original..THANK YOU! The townhouse room was gorgeous and pool was privately tropical and WARM when the weather turned chilly! Within a small walking distance of everything of interest in Key West! Everyone that I worked with had such a pleasant attitude to make our trip better than successful! Excellent choice! Thanks Tina, Tim, Jenny and Marilyn!!

Green Features: I was impressed with the recycling efforts... Besides recycling containers, the water cooler in pool courtyard to refill water bottles was great!
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpflygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Greetings from Key West! Thank you for the awesome review. So happy to hear you enjoyed interacting with our staff. The entire crew at Ambrosia are all class acts! We all enjoy interacting with our guests in the office or mingling in the courtyard. No need to bring a vehicle! We are situated in a prime location, within walking distance to Duval Street, Fort Zachary Taylor State Park, the sunset celebration and countless eateries. As our guest you stayed in our two story town home featuring a full kitchen, living room, and a second floor bedroom that is accessed by a spiral staircase. I am sure you enjoyed a little r&r on your balcony with a glass of wine after a day of exploring Old Town. Tina, Marilyn, Lexi, and Jenny want you to return soon! Best Regards, Tim and the Ambrosia Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had an excellent time in Key West staying at the Ambrosia. The accommodations were great. Thank goodness the pools were heated since we had a little bit of cool weather come through the first 2 days of our stay. Thanks Lexi for all the tips of things to do and places to eat!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nnhoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
So happy to hear you enjoyed our property. All of our accommodations have the comforts of home featuring private entrances and most with private verandas. I am sure you enjoyed a tranquil evening in our tropical courtyard. We offer three swimming options at Ambrosia and all are heated. Our lap pool is at 82 degrees, dip pool is at 86 degrees and our Jacuzzi is at 99! Glad to hear you took Lexi’s advice, she has a wealth of knowledge regarding the island and is truly an asset to Ambrosia. We look forward to your return trip to Key West. Best Regards, Tim and the Ambrosia Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

If you are looking for comfortable, friendly, and local lodging, this is your place. Guesthouses are the way to go on Key West if you like staying in neighborhoods (rather than on one of the huge resort properties), and this is a lovely one, and I will be forever grateful to them for saving our honeymoon.

Long story short, we were stuck in the Atlanta airport due to mechanical problems, unable to make our planned honeymoon in St. Lucia. We opted to head to Key West with very little notice (like 45 minutes) as it was really the only warm place that Delta (grrrrr don't get me started) could get us to that day. Don't get me wrong, I love Key West, but when you are expecting St. Lucia... ANYWAY, I had 45 minutes to find lodging for five nights, and after striking out online, I starting calling the top guest houses on Tripadvisor with no luck until I reached Ambrosia, and with a cheerful, "We can make that work!" they had us booked at a very reasonable (and likely sympathy discounted) rate. We arrive that evening to a wonderful welcome, complete with champagne, that really cheered us up after a terrible (and now luggage-less) day.

The honeymoon suite was booked, but we were very pleased with our Amelia Suite, a lovely two-room spread with a comfortable king bed, great decor, living room and large bathroom. The only minor complaint is that the water pressure was terrible, but I actually think that is a Key West problem, not a lodging problem. We had a couple of chilly days, and the room was thoughtfully provided with two space heaters and robes to keep us cozy. There's also a Keurig in each room with a selection of coffee and tea. I LOVED that. Housekeeping was perfection - the place was *spotless* on check in and very well tidied up every day.

The breakfast and pool areas are nice, as is the hot tub (they are across the street from each other). My only legitimate complaint about anything is that the hot tub (the largest hot tub I have ever seen!) was only barely warm, not at all hot, on the chilly days, when you really need the hot tub! I wonder if it couldn't keep up with how cold it was? That is the *one* thing I wasn't happy with, everything else, from food to staff to location, was great.

One tip - if you are looking for a beach, check out the new beach (it used to be "Bum Beach", now cleaned up and well-managed) at the north end of Simonton Street! It is a quick walk from the Ambrosia and there is a great little beach bar there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WrldTrav-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Congratulations again on your recent nuptials! We are delighted that you both spent your honeymoon with Ambrosia even though it was an emergency honeymoon due to the St. Lucia incident! With all of the obstacles at Atlanta we could see how our rate may have sounded like a "sympathy rate". The fact is Ambrosia is the best value on the island!

We are nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood surrounded by lush tropical gardens featuring a lap pool, dip pool and Jacuzzi. We are truly in an ideal Old Town location. We are just a block and a half away from Duval Street and walking distance to such hot spots as the Historic Seaport and Mallory Square. We offer a hot complimentary breakfast buffet that is served poolside daily that consists of scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage and gravy, biscuits, waffles, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, muffins, fresh fruit, granola, a variety of cereals, artisan breads, bagels, juices, and coffee. Water, iced tea, snacks and complimentary sun block are set out by the pools every day for the enjoyment of our guests. Also, upon arrival we extend a complimentary beverage of your choice! All of our guest rooms have private entrances and most with private verandas.

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay in our Amelia Suite. This luxurious suite a.k.a. the owner's suite is located on the second floor of our Historic Ambrosia House. I am sure you were able to unwind after a day of exploring on the wrap around porch. Please accept our sincerest apologies though regarding the water pressure and warmth of the Jacuzzi. The low water pressure is not common at Ambrosia. During your stay, our Jacuzzi was scheduled for quarterly maintenance which included draining the Jacuzzi. The low water pressure was due to replenishing the water. Unfortunately Mother Nature was not cooperating with us, our Key West evenings were dipping down to the low 60's and it took about 5 days to get the Jacuzzi back to 99 degrees. Again, we thank you for being our guest and we look forward to greeting you both on your return trip. Best Regards, Tim and the Ambrosia Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2014

My family and I booked a cottage at Ambrosia - great breakfast each morning -- welcoming staff! We had a phenomenal time. They were in the process of fixing the hot tub so they pumped up the heat in the pools right outside of our room which was perfect for us! The cottage was clean, well kept, and accommodating for our needs. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
It was a pleasure to host your entire family! Katie's Kottage is perfect for a family of 6 featuring two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a queen sleeper sofa in the living room and a full kitchen. Glad to hear you enjoyed our lap pool and dip pool. During your time with us, it was unseasonably cold and we actually had to do maintenance on our Jacuzzi, however, as you mentioned we did turn up the heat in our two other pools. Thanks for the comments regarding our breakfast. It truly is a great breakfast with eggs, bacon, waffles, granola, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, bagels, breads, and much more. Thank you for being our guest and we look forward to your return trip. Best Regards, Tim and the Ambrosia Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila., PA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I managed to crash their guest computer printer twice. Other than that and the fact that people still smoke, we DID have 5 days of Blue Heaven. Very helpful staff/great and huge bed/good breakfast/very clean/comfortable, low key and authentic. Why did we not stay?

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calmness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Greetings computer crashers! No worries the guest computer is working fine and I am glad you were able to print your crossword puzzles out daily!! As our guest you stayed in our Havana Cabana which is located at our Historic Ambrosia House just across the street from our compound. I am sure you enjoyed the privacy that this suite boasts. Thanks for the kind words regarding our staff and breakfast. The entire Ambrosia Family enjoys their profession and it shows! Jenny, Tina, Lexi, and Marilyn want you to hurry back soon! Best Regards, Tim and the Ambrosia Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My second time at Ambrosia, and it didn't disappoint. Great location - within walking distance of Duval, the wharf, and the great neighborhood places to eat - Seven Fish, Mangia Mangia, Sarabeth and the rest. Though close to the action of Duval, very quiet and restful. Rooms were good, nice breakfast, friendly staff. Two negatives - smoking allowed so close to room entries -hard to escape when you are next to or near smoking neighbor and bathrooms are small. Even with those, I still give it an excellent rating as it is such a relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alec B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
We are thrilled you chose and enjoyed Ambrosia the second time around! Yes, we are within walking distance to all of the hot spots in Key West. Ambrosia is in a prime location surrounded by tropical foliage. So glad you had the pleasure to visit Seven Fish, Manga Manga and Sarabeth’s. They are my three favorite restaurants in all of Key West! All of our accommodations feature private entrances, most with private verandas. So happy to hear you enjoyed a peaceful vacation. We look forward to your return trip. Best Regards, Tim and the Ambrosia Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.0 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#5 of 51 in Key West
1,019 reviews
0.4 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,129 reviews
0.7 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging

Property: Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Address: 622 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, Pet Friendly B&B in the heart of Old Town Key West. The perfect getaway - one block from Duval, 2 blocks from the Historic Seaport - this Bed & Breakfast has 3 pools surrounded by lush gardens and is the ideal place for a relaxing retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing