We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to celebrate a birthday or anything!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Ranked #10 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Finleyville, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great place to celebrate a birthday or anything!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I just spent 2 nights at the Ambrosia House and had a really great time. Our room was lovely and the breakfasts at the gazaboo were fantastic! The pool area was pretty and very tropical. We were there for his birthday and Lexy in the office was amazing at helping to decide just where to have his birthday dinner. She even called and made the reservations for me. Then I wanted key lime pie for his birthday cake and the resturant didn't have any, so she called around bakeries and found one to deliver one to the resturant! He and I both have dogs at home and there were plenty staying there to help us with our dog withdrawl! When we go back we will for sure be staying there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Happy Birthday! Glad to hear you enjoyed our poolside breakfast buffet. We are delighted to hear Lexi was able to choose an amazing eatery for your boyfriends’ birthday celebration and have key lime pie delivered! Sounds like it was a memorable birthday! Next time don’t forget your pups! Best Regards, Tim and the Ambrosia Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,229
    154
    33
    8
    8
See reviews for
225
780
26
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We just returned from our fourth stay here. If we can't get a room here, we don't go to Key West. That's pretty much it in a nutshell.
But the details: It's elegant without being formal. Casual, but not sloppy. And of course being pet-friendly is crucial.
The grounds and foliage are beautifully maintained, as are the rooms. We've stayed in a different room every time, always in the main compound, and they're all different, but all extremely comfortable and attractive.
They seem to have thought of every amenity, from the glasses, corkscrew, water and minifridges in the rooms to the plush towels and suntan lotion at poolside.
And it's quiet, a perfect break from all the fun of Duval Street and elsewhere, while still in easy walking distance. Fausto's food market is just a short block away for a variety of other consumeables.
The breakfast buffet has hot foods as well as plenty of pastries and the "European" style of breakfast foods, and there's always plenty of everything---no "oops we ran out in 5 minutes" here.
Parking is at a premium, but we've always had a space and even fulltime homeowners often have to park on the street.
The staff is simply terrific. Very friendly and helpful, but not in your face.
It is a bit pricier than many places we stay, but it's also worth it for what they provide.
The owners and staff obviously put a lot of thought and effort into this place, and we definitely reap the benefits!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Betty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed your time at Ambrosia. We feel the extra amenities are important so you do not have to waste time stopping at the store while you are on vacation. Besides without a corkscrew, cutting board and knife, how will you enjoy a nice glass of wine and cheese relaxing poolside in our courtyard surrounded by lush tropical gardens? Parking continues to be a challenge in Old Town, many B&B’s in town do not provide parking, we do our best to assist all guests with parking upon arrival, however, the best advice is, once you have a spot, don’t move your car because we are in an ideal location, within walking distance to all of the must see hot spots. Fausto’s is a great grocery store that is only a block away, they also have a great wine selection! Thank you for sharing your Ambrosia experience and we look forward to greeting your next trip! Best Regards, Tim and the Ambrosia Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madeira Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

If you are looking for a get-away in the midst of downtown this is it. Great staff, clean rooms in a setting that it is quiet, they have thought of everything and it is PET friendly. The pools are perfect. I look no farther for a place to stay. Breakfast is very nice and the coffee hot and tasty. There is a wide variety of room types to choose from. I would post a photo but decided to go into the lap pool with my I-phone. Not suggested...

Room Tip: All rooms are nice. The web site has great descriptions of different availabilities
See more room tips
Green Features: ECO aware and once again very PET friendly. Towels for the pool and recycle trash cans.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank donarnold13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed our pools, as you know we have three to choose from. In our compound we have our lap pool which is kept at a cool 82 degrees, our dip pool with temps at 86 and our Jacuzzi which is located across the street at our Historic Ambrosia House with temps hitting 99 degrees. After a great night on Duval, I am sure you enjoyed our hot breakfast buffet featuring eggs, bacon, sausage and gravy, fresh fruit, yogurt, just to name a few. Sorry to hear about your I-Phone, hopefully I-Cloud was helpful. Tina and Lexi cannot wait to greet you on your return trip. Best Regards, Tim and the Ambrosia Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and I wanted a tropical vacation but didn't want to go out of the country due to me being pregnant so we decided to go back to Key West. I had been a few times during cruises and he also and also while heading to Dry Tortouga. We decided to stay in a B&B for the week and after lots of research we chose Ambrosia and was not disappointed. We knew that we wanted to bring our dog with us and when I book the room Tina recommended Tree Top 2 due to the great balcony that could be closed off.

When we arrived we were greeted and taken around the property and shown to our room. The room did not disappoint. It was very cozy and perfect. Our entire week was perfect. It rained everyday, due to a tropical storm, but we enjoyed the large covered balcony to relax on. The breakfast was a perfect start to the day as well. We only used the pool once but it was nice to relax in.

The location is perfect with just a block or so from Duval street. We were able to walk down to restaurants and all the fun.

We really can't say enough great things about Ambrosia! Our dog even loved it there and was recently featured in their newsletter which we thought was so sweet. We are planning our trip again next year, just with more family and some friends. We have and will continue to recommend this great place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tealh2odreamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thanks for sharing your Ambrosia experience. As our guest, you stayed in our second floor Treetop Two Suite. This suite is very popular, featuring tropical décor, and a large outdoor balcony overlooking our lap pool. I am sure you enjoyed relaxing on the porch swing taking in the views of our courtyard and lush gardens. Even if it rains, KW will not disappoint, because there is so much to do, just check with the girls in the office and they will give you suggestions! It was a hoot, seeing Macy hang out on the balcony and riding around in the electric car you rented. She loved everyone; accept occasionally barking at poor Jim! Glad to hear you liked the newsletter. We look forward to greeting you on your next trip, and congratulations on the baby! Best Regards, Tim and the Ambrosia Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Spent six nights the first part of September at Ambrosia.. The staff is awesome and the setting and location is perfect.. Clean and comfortable.. Everything you could ask for from setting us with local bike rental vendors to great local markets and restaurants. Highly recommend for a genuine Key West Stay!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Judy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thanks for sharing your Ambrosia Experience. Our staff is world-class and they love their profession. Most of our guests rent bikes from a local vendor, the best part is they deliver them right to our driveway. Once you arrive all you need to do is have fun. Let us do all of the planning. Tina and the gang will assist with bike rentals, sunset sails, and dinner reservations. Ambrosia is in the heart of Old Town within walking distance to all of the hot spots. We look forward to greeting you on your return trip! Best Regards, Tim and the Ambrosia Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Hubby and I spending a few days on Key West for 30 yr wedding anniversary. Found in Ambrosia the perfect location for walking to Duval, Mallory square, the waterfront wharf area. The room was so nice with a huge shower, property beautifully maintained and every one working there did it with a smile. Felt so comfortable there entire time. Our room right by pool which in some places would equal noisy but was perfect in this quiet, respectful setting. Great breakfast buffet poolside each morn with both hot food and great, fresh Florida fruit!!! AND we got to park on site and never had to move our car. No complaints and will tell others going to Key West to try it out. Did hear from guy who got into "annex" across street who was not happy so be sure to get into main B&b area. BTW: never dreamed I would get my hubby to any sort of B&b but he really enjoyed this one.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mbm88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Congratulations on your 30th anniversary! What a milestone! Our compound is very quiet and is surrounded by lush tropical gardens; it sure is a perfect retreat. I am sure you enjoyed catching some r&r by one of our three pools. We are delighted that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet featuring eggs, bacon, waffles, fresh fruit, artisan breads, muffins, yogurt, granola, just to name a few. What a hoot to read that you turned your husband on to a Bed and Breakfast! We look forward to greeting you on your return trip to paradise. Best Regards, Tim and the Ambrosia Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souderton
Level Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is the first time we stayed at this location, it was not to far from Duval where all the action is. The rooms were very clean & staff very nice. Breakfast is served pool side and was very good. They do have 2 pools to use & snacks by the pool during the day. The grounds are beautiful! Lots of plants and lizzards and even a cat! At night they lock the gate and you have a key to use to get in after 7:00pm. Overall a great experience!

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have no elevator to get to them if you have a lot of bags.
See more room tips
Green Features: They had recycle bins in the rooms and outside by the ice machine.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at our charming little inn. Great to hear we have another fan of our hot breakfast buffet that is served poolside. Yes, from 11:00 am – 4:00 pm we provide snacks in the gazebo to get you through the afternoon! Glad to hear you liked our tropical foliage! Amy is our mascot and she is part of the family. Tina, Lexi, Jenny, and Marilyn want you to hurry back soon! Best Regards, Tim and the Ambrosia Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.4 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,650 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#6 of 51 in Key West
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,716 reviews
0.7 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging

Property: Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Address: 622 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, Pet Friendly B&B in the heart of Old Town Key West. The perfect getaway - one block from Duval, 2 blocks from the Historic Seaport - this Bed & Breakfast has 3 pools surrounded by lush gardens and is the ideal place for a relaxing retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing