We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Amazing stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Ranked #9 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Your own part of paradise just a step away from the night life!!! Wow, we had a fab stay again. Our check in was fast, we were walked to our room & had such a peaceful time!! Recommend to everyone!!! The heated pools are the best also...

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslee78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you for choosing Ambrosia Key West again and again! I believe you may have stayed in all of our rooms!! Also, thank you for allowing us to be a part of your birthday celebration. I am sure mommy and daddy were able to get a little r&r poolside, while the kiddos were back home, even if it was just for one evening. You both deserved it! We look forward to greeting you on your next trip to KW. Until next time….Best Regards, Tim and the Ambrosia Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,448)
There are newer reviews for Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

508 - 514 of 1,448 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

From looking at the pictures and not really knowing where the place was, my boyfriend and I were pleasantly surprised. We were welcomed immediately when we arrived and taken for a tour of the property. The pool area was very nice with an option between two pools and a large hot tub. Bottles of water were restocked daily and wonderful house keeping service.

The room, which is referred to as the owner suite was absolutely grogeous. Very spacious with a large bathroom and a very large stand up shower. The style of the room was very soft and not over powering in color as many places can be.Flatscreen TVs in both the living room and bedroom; with the most comfortable bed which made it hard to get out of.

A good hot breakfast is available every morning by the pool area with an array of coffee and juices with buscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs, and bacon. Yum-O!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Greetings from Paradise! Thank you for taking time and sharing your Ambrosia Key West Experience with our readers. As our guest you stayed in our Amelia’s Suite, AKA the owner’s suite. When he is in town, this is the suite he calls home. Did you know it was named after his mother? We are delighted that you were pleased with guest services and housekeeping. The Ambrosia Family is a world class group of hospitality professionals, best on the island! I am sure you enjoyed our hot breakfast buffet that is served pool side daily. However you did forget to mention, freshly baked muffins, artisan breads, bagels, cereals, fresh fruit, yogurt, hard boiled eggs and granola! Thank you for sharing your Ambrosia experience with our readers and thank you for being our guest! Best Regards, Tim and the Ambrosia Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We came here for our 10th anniversary, so we were looking for peace and quiet. The room was comfortable and had a nice view over the pool area. Bed was comfy and everything was clean. Breakfast was good too - fresh fruit, bacon and eggs, biscuits, and the standard breakfast fare that you would expect at a hotel. Lexi was amazingly helpful, and every recommendation she gave us was spot on which added immeasurable fun to our trip. Location was ideal. For our tastes, we preferred that it was close to the harbor. It's only a block and a half from Duval street too, if that's your thing.

My only gripe, and frankly, it would be a gripe no matter where I stayed on Key West I think, is that the room was expensive. We will certainly look to stay here again next time we come to Key West.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Congratulations on your 10th wedding anniversary. We are humbled that you allowed us to be a part of your special day! As our guest you stayed in our second floor pool room equipped with all tile floors and French doors that overlook our tropical lush gardens. I am sure you enjoyed some r&r near our 3 pools. Thank you for your comments regarding Lexi’s performance. She is a jem! You are correct; we are in an ideal Old Town location, just a few blocks from all of the must see attractions in Key West. Thank you for taking time out of our schedule to share your Ambrosia Key West Experience…Until next time…Best Regards, Tim and the Ambrosia Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

It's not a bed and breakfast but it's not a hotel. It's the best of both worlds. You get the quaintness of a B and B with a great room. When you stay here you are really getting the Key West treatment. You are also really close to the action of Duval st. Pool area is also really relaxing and the breakfast in the morning is a nice touch.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dabbadessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for sharing your Ambrosia Key West experience! “Best of both worlds”, I like the ring to that! We are nestled in a quiet old town neighborhood surrounded by beautiful tropical foliage. I am sure you enjoyed our hot breakfast buffet that is served poolside daily. It is the perfect way to jump start your Key West adventure! Again thank you for taking time to share your experience, and we look forward to greeting you on your next trip! Best Regards, Tim and the Ambrosia Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The Ambrosia was great. It was my birthday weekend and my fiancé and I booked Zeke’s Cottage. The room and property were clean, the staff was friendly and accommodating, but the most memorable things were the small touches: Complimentary water bottles in the fridge, courtesy sun-block and mosquito repellant at the pools, nice quality bath products in the rooms and very nice breakfast on one of the pool decks. We got there well before check-in time and the nice lady at the reception desk (I’m embarrassed that I don’t know her name) had housekeeping turn our room over within an hour of the previous guests’ departure. Like others have said its close enough to the “action” but also far enough away.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

We are humbled that you allowed us to be part of your birthday celebration. As our guest you stayed in our private two story town-home Zeke’s Retreat. Zeke’s features a full kitchen, living room with a queen sleeper sofa, and a spiral staircase leading to the second floor bedroom. As soon as you arrive we want you to be able to start your vacation ASAP, so the quicker you could drop your bags and get into flip flops the better! Thank you for noticing our bonus amenities, providing beach towels, sub block, mosquito repellant is just one less item you have to pick up at Fausto’s! Tina and the gang thank you for the kind words and we look forward to greeting you on your next trip. Best Regards, Tim and the Ambrosia Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

If you're looking for a relaxing Key West stay, this is not the place. I was disappointed by the amount of kids that were there that treated the property like a playground. Ambrosia caters to this, and it is definitely not a place to go for a relaxing vacation, which is what I think most people look for when staying at a bed and breakfast. Good luck finding time to enjoy the pool/jacuzzi or porch (if you have one) without shrieking kids or babies in diapers in it. The pool area was occupied by loud, shrieking kids the entire time I was there. This is not the type of atmosphere one would expect for the amount of $ they charge. Also, the walls and floors are VERY thin, you can hear everything, and decor cheap. The temp would not go below 76 degrees in our room. The staff seemed disingenuous. If you are looking for a family friendly place where you can let your kids run amuck, this is a good place. Otherwise for a relaxing and comfortable stay, do yourself the favor and stay at one of the many other nicer options in Old Town.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
12  Thank TampaRowing79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

We sincerely apologize that you were not able to get some quiet time near our lap pool that is located in our tropical courtyard. As our guest you stayed during the Easter Holiday which tends to attract families to our beautiful island. We do not want any of our guests to feel disturbed. Our established “quiet time” begins at 10:00 pm and ends at 10:00 am. We want all our guests to enjoy their stay at Ambrosia! We provide three pools knowing that a range of people visit us, a better choice might have been to rejuvenate near our dip pool or you could have relaxed in our secluded Jacuzzi that is located at our Ambrosia House. Our staff is available daily until 8:00 pm and after hours a manager is available just a phone call away. All guests receive this information during their introductory tour of our property at registration. It would be our pleasure to adjust your air conditioner below 76 degrees! The Ambrosia Family is dedicated, sincere, and passionate about serving our guests and I am sure you will see comments from hundreds of previous reviews that will attest to this. We at Ambrosia Key West welcome all guests. In Key West the town motto is One Human Family. Sorry to hear that you felt your stay was not enjoyable and we hope that you will give us another chance the next time you are in Key West. Best Regards, Tim and the Ambrosia Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We've stayed here before, but not in a few years. It is still as wonderful as always. The Honeymoon Suite (we were not on our honeymoon) has a very nice hot tub that is a great way to end a day doing Key West. Another thing we liked was the expanded breakfast offerings - not just a continental breakfast, but it also had bacon, scrambled eaggs, biscuits and cream gravy. What a nice surprise. Otherwise, it is just a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed “another great stay in paradise”. As our guest you stayed at our Historic Ambrosia House in our Honeymoon Suite. This second floor all white suite features a king 4 poster bed with netting and a beautifully appointed master bathroom with a two person Jacuzzi. I am sure you enjoyed our convenient old town location; steps away from the grocery store, Duval Street, Mallory Square, Historic Seaport, and many other must see attractions. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our hot breakfast buffet, featuring eggs, bacon, sausage and biscuits, granola, hard boiled eggs, cereals, waffles, artisan breads, bagels, juices, fresh fruit and don’t forget the coffee! Jenny, Tina, Marilyn, and Lexi can’t wait to greet you on your return trip to Paradise. Best Regards, Tim and the Ambrosia Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#5 of 51 in Key West
1,033 reviews
0.5 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,162 reviews
0.4 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.3 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging

Address: 622 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: $194 - $457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, Pet Friendly B&B in the heart of Old Town Key West. The perfect getaway - one block from Duval, 2 blocks from the Historic Seaport - this Bed & Breakfast has 3 pools surrounded by lush gardens and is the ideal place for a relaxing retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Expedia so you can book your Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing