We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its like our home away from home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Ranked #10 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Its like our home away from home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We took the Key West Express from Ft Myers and stayed 2 nights at the Ambrosia House. It was our 6th or 7th stay there. Since we were traveling with another couple to celebrate the guy's 60th birthdays we chose Katies Cottage because it offered two bedrooms each with a private bath plus a full well equipped kitchen. AND, the pool was literally right outside the door. We LOVE the Ambrosia House because it is very quaint, extremely clean, has a nice breakfast, and is 2-1/2 blocks to the heart of Duvall. You can walk everywhere!

The staff is readily available and very helpful. We've always met nice people there too . . . at breakfast, or during a mid-afternoon dip in the pool to cool down before heading out for the evening. We enjoy meeting and chatting with new folks.

I originally found the Ambrosia House several years ago when we were searching for a place we could stay with our two Golden Retrievers. The Ambrosia House is now our go-to place for Key West whether we are traveling with our doggies or not!

Room Tip: Having stayed in both, we prefer the rooms on the "office-side" of the complex as opposed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rubyblooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Hello Julie and Anthony! We are humbled that you continue to choose Ambrosia Key West as your home away from home!! Taking the ferry from Fort Meyers is a great means of transportation to KW. No need for a vehicle when you are in town. As our guest you stayed in Katie’s Kottage. This two bedroom/two bathroom cottage is also equipped with a full kitchen and living room featuring a queen sleeper sofa. I am sure you enjoyed wasting the day away on the hammock that is right outside the first floor bedroom. Tina, Lexi, Jenny, and Marilyn want you to hurry back soon! Best Regards, Tim and the Ambrosia Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,219
    152
    31
    8
    8
See reviews for
225
767
26
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
79 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Delightful stay at Ambrosia. Staff was very helpful with great recommendations for restaurants and sights. Each room has a different "theme". Our room was the Cuban Room in the annex across the street. Nice and I can't say anything was wrong with the room, but when we return--and we will return--we will try to make certain we stay on the main property.

The location is perfect...a couple of blocks to Duvall St and a couple of blocks to the west end harbor. Mallory Square is a 5-6 minute walk.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Greetings! We are pleased to hear you had a delightful stay at Ambrosia! Tina and the gang have great picks for dining and things to do. As our guest you stayed in the private Havana Cabana which features a four poster kind bed and an in room Jacuzzi. I am sure you enjoyed a little r&r on the large outdoor veranda that overlooks Fleming Street. Jimmy, when planning your return trip, please be sure to contact us directly and we will match you with the accommodations that you desire. Whether you are looking for a themed suite, a two story town home, or a pool suite overlooking our lush tropical gardens, we have several to choose from! Thank you again for sharing your Ambrosia Experience with us. Best Regards, Tim and the Ambrosia Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

What I love the most is the pool/courtyard area. The foliage protects you from noise, etc. but when you are ready to rejoin the world, walk a block or two. Loved it. Service is great. They provide little amenities and details that make it special. Wine glasses and opener. Cheese plate and knife. Store just down the street to buy food, wine, etc.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gretacook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thanks for reviewing us! When catching some rays by the lap pool, the surrounding foliage does make it feel like you are worlds away from all of the fun just a block and a half away on Duval Street. Thank you for mentioning the special in-room amenities that we provide. We want you to feel at home while you are at Ambrosia. I am sure you enjoyed sitting on the veranda enjoying a nice glass of wine and cheese from the local grocer Fausto’s. Again, thank you for being our guest and we look forward to your return trip to paradise! Best Regards, Tim and the Ambrosia Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at Ambrosia Key West April 12-14 for a wedding in town. We chose the honeymoon suite in order to take advantage of the in-suite jacuzzi, which was wonderful. The staff was very helpful in every aspect you can imagine, including bike rentals, knowledge of the area including nearby grocers, etc. The amenities were great - pools (2), and hot tubs, water and refrigerator in-room, as well as hair dryers, coffee makers. The pool area provides not just towels, but all sorts of sun products, sunblock, sunscreen, etc. The location is perfect - 2 blocks off Duval Street, so you're close if you want to be but also far enough from the noise so you can have a nice night of sleep. The properties themselves are charming and well-appointed. I highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiseWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for the praises! As our guest you stayed in our Honeymoon Suite. This second floor all white suite is located at our historic Ambrosia House. I am sure you enjoyed a peaceful relaxing evening in the beautifully appointed master bathroom featuring a two person Jacuzzi. We are glad you took advantage of our sun products that we keep in stock near the beach towels. It’s a nice touch, one less item you have to pick up at Fausto’s! Again, thank you for sharing your Ambrosia experience with us, we are excited to greet you on your return trip! Best Regards, Tim and the Ambrosia Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

My husband and I booked our stay one week prior to spring break. Luckily, we were able to get a room. The best part about it, we didn't just get a room for our stay we moved from room to room to room! There were no available rooms for consecutive nights, so we were pleased to be accomodated on such short notice. Now I have an idea of the room to request on our next visit. The glass is half full! Most reviews have covered the tropical ambiance, helpful staff, delcious breakfast and the proximity of being tucked away from the business of Duval. So, I want to mention that this is pet friendly lodging. We traveled with our small dog, Woody and felt he was as welcome as we were! We will definitely return and recommend to others! Thank you, Tina and all staff for making it a great getaway!

Room Tip: Pool rooms on the first level are convenient to the lap pool and breakfast area and provide a full v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanette B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hello Jeanette, Ken, and Woody! We were happy to squeeze you all in! As our guest you had the pleasant opportunity to stay in three different rooms. The first night you stayed in our two story town home Bob’s Place. Bob’s is equipped with a patio overlooking our dip pool, French doors, full kitchen, living room, and a second floor bedroom that opens up to a balcony with a hammock. The next two evenings you stayed in two of our first floor pool rooms. An ideal location that overlooks our tropical courtyard! We are delighted Woody felt welcomed as well; after all he is part of the family! Again, thank you for being our guest, and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit! P.S. Don’t forget Woody! Best Regards, Tim and the Ambrosia Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We spent one night in Key West. The Ambrosia hotel is a wonderful hotel close to town. The location is great. The staff was helpful and the breakfast was nice by the pool. I want to go back to Ambrosia!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moyland123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for reviewing Ambrosia Key West. We are delighted to read you were pleased with our Inn while in Old Town. I am sure you enjoyed being close to all of the action on Duval, Mallory Square, and the Historic Seaport. Our breakfast is the perfect way to jumpstart your morning served poolside daily! Jenny, Tina, Marilyn, and Lexi cannot wait to greet you on your return trip to Ambrosia. Best Regards, Tim and the Ambrosia Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

It was our first visit to Key West and we loved it. Just a walk away from the "Key West Express" that we took from Fort Meyers. Once there, Tina was full of suggestions as to where to go, eat, drink etc. We just followed her ideas and were happy little tourists for three days! Breakfast around the pool was a great start to the busy days! We be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Amelia which was across the street from the Main Inn, which was not a problem. A la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisE-Mtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Christine, we are thrilled you arrived on the Key West Express. Several of our guests that check-in daily, opt to take the ferry from Fort Myers! During registration Tina will offer you a refreshing adult beverage, she then will give you a map of Key West and point out all of the hot spots for dining and things to do. As our guest you stayed at “Ole Girl”, a.k.a. the Historic Ambrosia House. The second floor Amelia Suite is where you called home during your three day visit. This two room suite features a beautifully appointed master bedroom and a massive bathroom. I am sure you enjoyed taking the day in at our private Jacuzzi that is located behind this historic home. Did you know this was the childhood home of our current mayor? Tina cannot wait to greet you on your second trip to paradise! Until next time…Tim and the Ambrosia Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
1.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.7 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
0.5 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#5 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging

Property: Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Address: 622 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6826
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, Pet Friendly B&B in the heart of Old Town Key West. The perfect getaway - one block from Duval, 2 blocks from the Historic Seaport - this Bed & Breakfast has 3 pools surrounded by lush gardens and is the ideal place for a relaxing retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing